We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel with a Great Restaurant”
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Joe Rahm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with a Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed two nights. The rooms are big, clean and completely new. Don't miss the restaurant of the hotel, you will find such excellent food only at the French Riviera, and the owner Richard is very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoRahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    119
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
278
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This was an absolute gem... Pulling up, it looks small and secluded, but once inside this is the spot. Rooms were huge, and the bathrooms were updated. Very clean inside and out, and just about a 10 min. walk to the beach. The staff was great, and the owner Richard will take care of anything you need with personal attention. ( take the boat tour he can get you, it was great)... The breakfast was not huge like some hotels, granola, fruit, juice coffee and toast, but is perfect for a hot morning in tamarindo. I would tell you to skip the bigger guys and come here as i would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2010

My boyfriend and I were headed to Costa Rica for a week-long vacation, and this hotel was perfect for our needs. Our room was nice and came with TV (with stations in English) and WiFi, and I think the air conditioners were sufficient on 100-degree days. The rooms were clean (a major plus) and while I was warned that we may see bugs in our hotel room (since, you know, it is Costa Rica), we were lucky enough not to ahve that experience at the Arco Iris.

A great breakfast was included in the morning (granola, toast and fresh fruit with coffee and O.J.) right out by the pool area.

The owner, Richard, took great care of us. I had a minor medical emergency, and he helped us out by calling a doctor in the evening (after everything else was closed) who made a special visit to the hotel. Richard was also able to hook us up with day trips and give us info to get around Tamarindo.

For the price, it was definitely a good value. One downside is that while the hotel is close to the beach, it's definitely not on the beach. The 7-minute walk to get to the strip of hotels and shops on the water certainly isn't far, but something to consider.

Overall, we had a good experience at the hotel and I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orefield, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Wow this hotel is absolutely what we were looking for. My husband and I typically stay in 5 star luxurious hotels and on this trip we wanted the local feel and stay in a more private jungle-like non-commercial hotel/bungalow. Arco Iris far exceeded our expectations.The owner Richard was very hospitable and truley assisted us with everything from excursions, private local beaches and restaurants and transportation to and from the airport. The rooms are perfet. They are extremely clean and modern. Coco the maid was excellent and cleaned our room around our beach & relaxation time. It was everything we wanted in a hotel. We were soo close to the beach in Tamarindo. It was only a short walk through town to the beach.

If you are looking for a nice relaxing hotel with privacy and beautiful scenery, this is your hotel!! Tamarindo was an amazing town & Arco Iris completed our vacation!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfenstermacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Stayed there 3 nights..The hotel is a really great place.. Rooms are big and completely new.. The restaurant of the hotel is awsome.. and the owner Richard is so helpful and charming.. the best place in Tamarindo !!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenevaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

You'll enjoy every minute of staying here. We were a family of 5 and got a very sapcious room which was well equipped (our only comment - get better WI FI and maybe biger TVs).

Breakfast was included and was a very good start for the day.

Richard, the ownwer, took personal care of us and was a fountain of knowledge not to mention one of the nicest people around!

we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Richard was the best host! He made you feel like family and tried to accommodate you any way he could. The mangrove tour he recommended was excellent and very affordable! We saw a variety of wildlife, especially a lot of howler monkeys. We actually got a chance to get out of the boat to go check them out. We stayed in a bungalow and deluxe room. Both rooms were very nice, but the deluxe room was more spacious. We traveled to four different parts of the country, and this was by far one of the most comfortable of all our stays. It was extremely difficult to leave this vacation site. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJEW7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
5.7 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Property: Hotel Arco Iris
Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing