We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find ...”
Review of Casa Cook

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Cook
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a great value place to stay - we only booked for 2 nights ... big mistake so we'll definitely go back for longer next time we're in Costa Rica. I was slightly concerned that we would find Tama'gringo' a bit too hectic but it was great and Casa Cook is just far enough away from the centre to be peaceful. Also we went to quite a few beaches in Nicoya Peninsular and Tamarindo was probably our favourite - slightly less 'elemental' than some further south, a great, wide, sandy beach good for swimming, running and sunsets, plus of course surfing. The Casa Cook location is fantastic - right on a great bit of beach, just the right distance from town (a few hundred metres to the centre). The casitas have all the facilities you could need and are really safe and secure. They are also excellent value. As others have mentioned, Marie and the rest of the staff are superb ... we can't recommend Casa Cook highly enough ... make sure you stay for long enough :)

Room Tip: Get one of the two casitas right on the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RiyadhAlfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Love the place, the people, the community the view and the lodging of course. Safe and secure with all the amenities you could ask for. A well visioned and well kept facility and great staff. A nice pool and open access to the beach. Well located for visits to the activities of the town and just far enough away too!

Room Tip: Get the cabinas on the water side! Make a Reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1royhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Cook while on a trip to Tamarindo back in April. I cannot say enough great things about this place. The staff was excellent. Marie and everyone else made sure we were well taken care of and made us feel right at home. The condos are great. The beach is literally 10 feet away from your door. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, laying in the hammocks and relaxing. The great part is it is very secluded and it is almost as if you have the entire place to yourself. It is gated and very secure. There is a staff member that makes rounds during the night to make sure that everyone is safe. If you are looking for a relaxing trip, this is the place you want to stay. It is also a short walk from the city, which was great. We walked down to the local store and bought groceries to eat on during our trip. At night we would walk down the beach to the city and have dinner at local restaurants. I would highly recommend Casa Cook to anyone going to Tamarindo. Thanks again to the staff that did an amazing job during our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robh310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our first trip to Tamarindo was just the two of us, this year we brought our 12 and 14 year old boys. Casa Cook was great for our family. We had a bungalow (the one on the right as you look from the beach). The bungalow, while not huge, was spacious enough for us especially considering we spent most of our time outside. Privacy may be a bit of an issue for some as there are no walls between the bedroom area and living area but it wasnt a big deal. There are only four units in the complex so it was always quiet...our kids were the noisest people there as all of the other guests were couples while we were there. The bungalows have kitchenettes although no oven for baking. We made our breakfasts and some lunches but went out at night. You could easily make dinner but being on vacation we dont like to mess with clean up. Sleeping arrangements were fine, there is a futon and pull out mattress for the boys and our bed was plenty comfy. The staff were all very attentive and Marie was great scheduling day trips and suggestions for dinner. There are plenty of boogie boards to use in the surf and town is a 5-10 minute walk down the beach depending on how slow you walk. Security was never a problem, whenever we returned late at night the guard was always there waiting. Never turned on the TV but there is WI-fi around the pool. Its hard to find a place right on the beach like Casa Cook. We definitely recommend and would return. Oh, almost forgot to mention the monkey show that rolled through almost every day, fun to watch thjem eating mangos.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a bungalow right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiscUsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for a week, and could have stayed for a month. The place is perfectly situated on the beach, and just out of town. There's an excellent coffee place Cafe Tico, or something similiar to this which was fantastic too. Maria was a great help.Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Get a cabina on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is our third stay here in 2 1/2 years. I would not come back to a place again if I did not like it. The accommodation is wonderful. The staff are friendly. The hotel is right on the sand. Restaurants and a grocery store are within easy walking distance. Marie w ill help you setup activities. We went to Arenal for 2 days and while it is a 4 hour drive, it is really worth it. We were here for 2 weeks. Each trip is getting longer.

Room Tip: Walk on the beach, rent a surfboard and enjoy the stars at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceV419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at Casa Cook for seven nights, and our stay was quite enjoyable. Casa Cook's location, on the south edge of town, is perfect: an easy walk to the shops and restaurants in town, but far enough away that the busier sections of the beach don't intrude. The beach itself is free of the large lava rock formations that dot most of the surrounding shoreline. The ocean is warm, and the waves gentle, and the bottom is virtually all sand.

I would rate our cabina as adequate. We were able to cook several meals in the kitchen, and a gas grill is available, although we didn't use it. The kitchen and dinette front on the ocean side, the bedroom is in the back, and there is a small seating area in between. There is a small TV, oddly placed high on the wall in the dinette area, but we weren't there for that so it didn't bother us. The bed was comfortable, although the pillows are hard and flat, in definite need of upgrading. There is a safe in the bedroom closet. The small seating area has a futon and chair, neither of which are particularly well suited to comfortable sitting. The air conditioning in our unit was not adequate for the 90 degree plus outside temperatures we experienced. I'm guessing the temperature inside the cabina never got below the low 80's.

The pool area, behind the cabina, is very nice. The pool is not large, but plenty big enough for the small capacity of the property, with enough furniture to accommodate all guests. The surrounding grounds are well kept, and the pool itself is clean and refreshing. There is a land line available in the pool area to call anywhere in Costa Rica. The management requests that users of the phone leave a dollar for each call made. While hanging out at the pool we saw howler monkeys and iguanas, as well as lots of birds.

Marie and the grounds staff were extremely helpful and responsive, arranging taxi's and transfers, assisting us with our luggage and groceries from our shopping trips, pointing out wildlife, and moving pool furniture out to the beach if we so desired. As far as I could tell, the grounds/security people were on duty 24/7, and because the property is small they were never far away. The property is gated at both the street and the beach, and gates are locked after dark. When we returned to our cabina after dark, we rarely had time to get our keys in the lock before the staff would beat us to it and unlock the gates. Maid service is provided each day, and towels are replaced every couple of days, or more frequently on request.

Sharon and I prefer small properties such as this when we travel. The few shortcomings I have noted above aren't a big deal for us, as we don't spend much time in the room, and the personal touch of the staff is of great value to us. We would be happy to stay here any time we visit Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chasin_Tales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 24 in Tamarindo
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cook

Address: | 100 metros Norte del Hotel Capitan Suizo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: £90 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Casa Cook enjoy lounging on the white sand beach, swimming in the warm ocean water, observing the howler monkeys or feeding friendly iguanas. Swim in the sparkling pool and BBQ some fresh fish. Casa Cook is a small personal beach front hotel. Guests are very special to us at Casa Cook and we will make every effort to ensure that your stay is a truly special one. Our staff is available 24 hours a day to ensure you are comfortable and secure. Casa Cook is the perfect place for honeymoon couples or family reunions. The beach in front of Casa Cook offers safe swimming, fun boogie boarding and even great surf. There are plenty of boogie boards for everyone! The staff are happy to help you down to the beach with the lounge chairs so you can enjoy your day by the water. A short walk down the beach will take you to the town of Tamarindo where you may wish to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at one of the many outstanding restaurants. Each unit at Casa Cook is within a few steps of the beautiful beach, the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean. The units offers a fully-equipped kitchen with stove, refrigerator and microwave oven. All the units have air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, and a safe. A telephone is available for guests. We provide secure parking on-site and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cook Tamarindo
Casa Cook Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing