We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!!”
Review of El Mono Loco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Mono Loco
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Very nice hostel in Tamarindo. Just 200 meters from the beach on the way to playa Langosta, close to supermarkets and main attractions. The rooms was clean and confortable, with air-con. The place is quiet and not too busy. The breakfast was delicious, Sylvia cooks very good meals. For sure a great deal for the price. Muchas gracias Mauricio and Sylvia!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
39
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a fantastic vacation at El Mono Loco in Costa Rica! The rooms were clean, the people running the hotel were friendly, and the food was delicious! There are comfortable hammocks and rocking chairs to lounge in if you just want to hang out by the pool or the beach is just across the street. The town is easily accessible by foot and offers plenty of activities for all. Definitely worth a visit!!!

Room Tip: Only 12 rooms...can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We likewise enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely review. Your group was a lot of fun for us. You definitely mention all the qualities that make our hotel so special. Please visit us again soon. Remember we welcome groups and families and will do our best to make your stay memorable. Check out our Facebook page to see some great pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This husband and wife duo were amazing! We were expecting to arrive at the hotel around 4:00pm, however, with flight delays we did not end up arriving until 10pm. They were more than understanding and were there to meet our needs even at that late hour. The first room we arrived at had a lot of ants. We brought this to the attention of the staff and they were more than happy to move us to another room. After the first night we explored Tamarindo. This hotel was out of the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, but close enough to the various restaurants and beaches. The staff was always available to offer suggestions of the "must sees" and best restaurants. The pool area at the hotel was small, but is definitely an experience in its self. Both days of our stay were accompanied by several monkeys on the surrounding trees! Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at this location. I would stay at this hotel again, due to its perfect location and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23O_H_I_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

With it's proximity to beach and downtown, without being overrun with traffic, This hotel is perfect. Quiet, private and comfortable. The owners were super helpful. Nothing extravagant, but I don't particularly care for, nor need extravagant. For the price it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidaverdecompleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

we had only planned two nights (jan 6-12) but ended up staying 6 nights. the hotel is charming, great location, a terrific family runs the hotel and we had a yummy breakfast everyday which was not included, but our rate was so reasonable. there are fancier places to stay but we felt so comfortable and the beach is so close and we were 5 min from the center. Just a note the road to the center was very dusty but, that does not reflect my opinion of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandrtravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We spend 6 night at El Mono Loco and we cannot wait to be back.
The hotel is beautiful and the room are always clean.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful , and the kitchen offer good food for breakfast lunch and dinner.
The price are very honest , it is a very good option in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancypric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garybenton@gmail.com
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Less expensive than most places in Tamarindo. It was quiet and clean. A bit of a walk to town, probably 5 minutes. Nice pool, and a few birds in cages that make beautiful sounds.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garybenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.6 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mono Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Loco

Property: El Mono Loco
Address: Calle Cardinal | 450m South of Pacific Park, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 12 room hotel located across the street from the beach and a short walk from town. Our basic, clean rooms can accommodate solo travelers, couples, families, and small groups. All rooms have private bathrooms with hot water, quiet A/C, ceiling fan. Community area offers a TV, free wi-fi, shared refrigerator, hammocks, and rocking chairs. We have a refreshing plunge pool and outdoor shower. Our on-site cafe offers breakfast daily for purchase. Free secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Mono Loco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mono Loco Hotel Tamarindo
El Mono Loco Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing