We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun! Fun! Fun!”

Sailing Hibiscus Catamaran Sail Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hibiscus is the premier sailing catamaran in Tamarindo! She is a beautiful 48' world cruising catamaran ideally suited for diving, snorkeling and sunset dinner cruises in Tamarindo and Playa Flamingo. Whether it's just you and your special someone, or a large gathering of friends and family, Sailing on Hibiscus will make your Costa Rican vacation memorable.​ Hibiscus Services: Tamarindo and Playa Flamingo. Our cruises include, but are not limited to:​ snorkeling, sunset cruises, private parties customized for your every need (wedding, family reunions, etc.). All of the snorkeling and sunset cruises include gourmet food specially prepared and cooked aboard Hibiscus. Enjoy fresh cooked fajitas, an abundance of local fresh fruit and complimentary adult beverages. All of our cruises are All Inclusive. Want to arrange a private adventure cruise? We can do it and with First Class Service. Sailing Hibiscus is strictly first class service and we guarantee you will not be disappointed.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had the best time on our sail! Many thanks to the crew............ Captain John thanks for the great sail across the beautiful sea and giving us many awesome sights. Potosky, you are the best!! So funny, entertaining, informative and taking extremely good care of us, Diego, Antony and the remainder of the staff (sorry, I didn't get all your names) you also were very attentive and saw to our every need. The food was amazing and it's already been said, but I'll say it again, everything is freshly made and was absolutely delicious! One of our best trips of our stay. Spoke with others at the resort after our sail and as we compared notes from others who went on different sails we all agreed that ours was the best. It is a smaller group and much more intimate than the bigger groups which I think, makes for a better experience. You do get individualized attention and feel like friends of the crew! Thanks again for an awesome experience!!!
PS while I tagged this as a couples visit, we had two families on board with us who also had a great time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank katscox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    21
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great afternoon sailing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The crew of the Hibiscus is amazing! We went on a sunset cruise and the crew Jose, Areal,and Henry,and two others were so helpful and attentive. Never an empty glass while cruising, pointing out fish and sea life while snorkeling,and making some amazing fajitas for dinner, the crew is friendly and top notch. Our group of 12 had a blast! Highly recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best trip we booked from the Riu Palace.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We just spent a wonderful afternoon with the crew of Sailing Hibiscus in Tamarindo, Costa Rica that we booked while staying at the Riu Palace.. Departed around 1:30 pm and headed for a private beach to snorkel in the pacific. We saw lots of fish and other marine life. If snorkeling isn't your thing, you could explore the private beach scene. The crew fed us a fantastic meal after snorkeling. This meal was not pre made, they cooked it on the boat and it was awesome. Fresh guacamole, chicken fajitas, home made salsa, and authentic tortilla chips topped off with fresh pumpkin bread. Couldn't have been happier about our service aboard the Hibiscus. They were there for whatever you needed. Bathrooms aboard the vessel for public use, adult and kids beverages, and salsa dancing! That's right, salsa dancing on the boat on our cruise back to the Riu Palace. We caught a beautiful sunset over the islands on our ride home, perfect for the best vacation pics. We had a blast and made it back to Riu Palace around 6:00 pm. Special thanks to the crew and other people aboard the ship. It's vacation and we are all here for the same reasons, making memories that will last a lifetime.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ctm1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like sailing with old friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The captain and crew if the Hibiscus is top notch! We did the sunset cruise and couldn't be happier with the experience.
Only down side is that it had to end. Given my time again, I would have done this tour twice.
The crew were extremely friendly, the food was great, and the rum wasn't too shabby either. Too bad I can't give higher than a 5 star rating.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faderdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This tour is amazing - the crew is full of warm smiles and very attentive. Always a fresh drink and a delicious beach spread. Music, sun and wind......we even made a music request for the Rolling Stones and they had it! The only negative is the beach destination is shared by several tour groups and the crew is forced to police who is with the group and who isn't..... the other tours did not appear to have food or drink on the beach so there were several stragglers attempting to "party crash". Would definitely do this cruise again! Thx guys!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julievargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailing Hibiscus Catamaran Sail Tours also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Sailing Hibiscus Catamaran Sail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing