We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach front Terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach front Terrace.
Water just 30ft from hedges Beach Directly in front of House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Beach front Terrace.
Water just 30ft from hedges
Beach Directly in front of House
From the terrace looking at the Big
From the terrace to the beach
Beach Front Location of Casa del
Living Room Kitchen
Open Large Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bathroom
Master Bedroom Shower
Bedroom #2
Bedroom #2 Bathroom
Bedroom #2 Shower
Bedroom #3 Loft
Bedroom #3 Loft
Bedroom #3 Loft going down steps
Bedroom #3 Loft Bathroom
View from Big Rock to our Homes
Surf 100 yards to left of house
Surf 100 yards to right of house
Sunset from House to Big Rock
Sunset from House to Big Rock
Howler monkeys across the street
Letherback Turtles nest directly in
babies -leatherback-turtles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandramD2...
2 reviews
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our family of four enjoyed this beautiful oceanfront home. The house is very clean, and looks just like the pictures on VRBO. We enjoyed meals and relaxing on the outdoor terrace overlooking the ocean. It is the best beach I have ever been on. Sand bottom , great for our many hours of boogie boarding fun. Amazing sunsets. Greg and Gabriella, Nicho and Miriam very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend this place!

Date of arrival

January 3, 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having breakfast in the beach front terrace
Liked least: When our vacation end
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surfocrac...
Outer Banks, NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location on Perfect Beach”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the second time we've stayed in this house and the third trip to this beach. I think this is one of the best values in the area. First of all its right on the beach. We spent a lot of time on the patio, sipping coffee in the morning, eating dinner at night, etc. since the patio was practically on the beach. The living areas of the house are open and airy but to be honest other than cooking we didn't spend much time inside. There's plenty of palms and a couple of big leafy trees right outside the gate on the beach. So much of the day was spent lounging n the shade. We bought a couple of Hammocks for about $15 each and strung them up between the palms. Perfect.

There were 5 adults staying in the house and there was plenty of room. The kitchen had enough cookware to handle probably 8 people.

The staff was attentive without getting in the way. On different days of the week, local fruit/veggie, bread, seafood, etc. vendors came by the house and Miriam or Nicco(sp?) would track us down and let us know they were there. Nicco also hooked us up with the best Tuna I've ever eaten and that's saying something since we live on an island and eat lots of fresh tuna. The staff also kept an eye on us from a security standpoint and would give us a heads up if someone in the area looked suspicious! There's also a laundry hamper and if you put your dirty clothes in it they would magically reappear later in the day clean and folded.

The house is located on the beach in the Las Baulas National Marine Park so it's not overdeveloped. While we were there an Olive Ridley turtle came up and nested right in front of the house one morning! If you're a nature lover this is a good place to spend some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Patio
Liked least: Having to go Home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P
1 review
“Perfect for family”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Thank you so much Greg y Gabriela ... Miriam y Nicho y todos quienes nos hicieron comodos! Please convey our thanks to your staff quienes nos hicieron sentir muy en casa! Fue una vacacion que no nos vamos a olvidar! Thank you so much. Our family celebrated Dads retirement together ... This was a relaxing family vacation we won't soon forget! The staff were tireless in helping make our vacation comfortable. It was safe, clean, relaxing, & relaxing & breathtakingly beautiful! .. right on a quiet beach full of waves, sand, & scenic walks! We would all come back in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location on the beach in Playa Grande
Liked least: Best spot on the beach was also popular for the locals.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your review.

You made our day,

We truly love the vacation rental business and nothing feels better than hearing back from our clients that everything lived up to their expectations.
It is very gratifying to know that something we created and are very involved with brings joy and special memories to so many people.
We are extremely grateful to our staff who play such a big part in delivering to our clients a quality stay and memorable vacation at Casa del Mar.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Greg & Gabriela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rokubanlu
chicago, il
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing house on the most amazing beach in one of the most amazing countries!”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was our 4th trip to Costa Rica, and our 2nd trip to Playa Grande. As a group of 3 adult couples, we all agree that we were thrilled with Casa Del Mar from the moment we walked into this lovely, tropical beach house. Each couple had their own room with their own private bathroom. The house had a complete kitchen and lovely living space. But the best part was the huge covered porch space facing the ocean. We already knew that we loved this beach, and to stay right on it in this very affordable, beautiful house was truly a treat for all.

The staff of Miriam and Nicho made sure that we had everything we needed. Our dishes were done daily, and laundry was done for us too. Chairs were put in front of the house, on the beach, under palm trees, daily. We rented buggie boards for the week, and used them daily, as the surf was perfect. Clear water, huge sandy beach and great weather made for perfection.

In our three previous visits to Costa Rica, we had not yet repeated our locations, until this trip, coming back to Playa Grande. But this was our first time at Casa Del Mar, and we hope it won't be our last!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and house.
Liked least: The alarm system was a little tricky - but we got it.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn D
Springfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect vacation home”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We actually rented the Main house next door to Casa Del Mar and it was the most magnificent house. The home had everything you could ask for. Greg and Gabriella have thought of everything to make our vacation stress free. We had safes in every room and a 24 hour security guard,we also had our own security alarm system. The maid and laundry service were excellent. ( it was so nice to not come home with dirty clothes). The house is so well built we never heard anyone else in the house or outside.
Top notch boogie boards were provided for our use for $5.00 a day by the owners, and surf boards were also available if we wanted. Gabriella set up massages for us to be done right on the privacy of our own porch. They masseuse was excellent .
A local fish truck and bakery truck would come several times a week, and we could pick out fresh items if we wanted. (Fish was awesome )& ( Pastries were very tasty ).
The house was stocked with paper goods,hand and bar soap. Grocery stores were a short 15 minute drive away. Grills are available to use and our kitchen had. Everything needed for cooking. The beds were very comfortable and linens were a very good quality . Beach towels were also provided by the owners.
Greg and Gabriella also arranged our rental car for us, which was a hassle free check in.
One of our friends didn't arrive until the day after us, and they arranged for a private driver to pick her up at the airport. ( which is an hour away).
Overall Greg and Gabriella made us at home in their vacation home and made our vacation perfect.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing