We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Costa Rica!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband, teenage son and I stayed at Capitan Suizo for a 1 week fishing vacation. This hotel was paradise surrounding us! The tropical landscape was lush and well maintained. The staff was prompt, friendly, and always available. Even the Howler monkeys, the iguanas and blue birds were delightful. We had an air conditioned, beachfront bungalow with direct views of the white, sandy beach just yards from our room! We could walk along the beach to get into the town of Tamarindo in 10 mins. The architecture of the rooms was stunning with artfully designed wood layering throughout. Very neat and clean. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic! We ate several meals at the beautiful, poolside, outdoor restaurant which opened right onto the beach. We personally thanked the chief for treating us to delicious meals always cooked with fresh foods and ingredients that were scrumptious! We even had an unfortunate episode when our son got sick. The manager at Capitan Suizo contacted a doctor, and within 20 mins. a local doctor was at our room effectively treating our son. We were so grateful. This wasn't a case of "Montezuma's revenge," and we were drinking the hotel filtered water with ice cubes no problem. We would highly recommend staying at Capitan Suizo where the rates are every bit worth the positive experience of staying in paradise in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: I would suggest staying in the A/C beachfront bungalows. Although they are a bit pricey, they are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for 5 days. We had been here 10 years before and finally got a chance to return and we are glad we did. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms, by Costa Rica standards, are spacious and clean. What we came back for was the setting: right on a gorgeous beach, with gentle rolling waves which are great for boogie boards (free to borrow) or surfing ($10 to rent, with lessons available). The beach stretches for about a mile or so to the right, which takes you past the town and ends at an inlet that is passable at low tide. It is a wide, flat beach, good for walking, shelling, running, or ball playing. The hotel grounds are lush with plantings, flowers, a pool, and trees along the beach, which provide shade, as well as food and shelter for the families of howler monkeys, who pass by a few times a day. The town of Tamarindo has gotten much more crowded over the years, but it is still small enough to enjoy walking the streets to explore the many shops and restaurants. We had dinner and some lunches in town, which is a 10 minute walk along the beach from the hotel. We were very happy to have that separation, because the hotel is a tranquil haven. You can enjoy a peaceful afternoon in the comfortable beach lounge chairs (no charge, no tip needed) listening to the waves, the birds, and the monkeys without any crowds at all. When you are ready, stop by the hotel bar, right next to the pool, for a drink, or stay on the beach where a second bar opens in the late afternoon. Dinner at the hotel is adequate, but we enjoyed exploring the town and trying other places, knowing we could walk or take a 5 minute cab ride back to the sanctuary of Capitan Suizo. We hope another 10 years does not pass before we return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here a week with friends. Overall, very nice, clean and professional. I wish there was a 1//2 star because I would probably rate it between 3 to 4. Great access to the beach and the grounds were well maintained. Drinks were expensive and happy hour does help but it's at the beach not the hotel which was a bit odd. Yes, I would consider staying there again if I went.

Word of caution, about 1/4 of our group got Montezuma's revenge. This is not necessarily the hotel's fault but if you go, be on your guard for water, ice cubes, etc. I was told the water and so forth were not an issue. I'm here to tell you it IS!

Room Tip: The bungalows on the ground floor are very nice, but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinbad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

very nice place...spent 3 days at peace lodge in rainforest then here for beach. wanted small, local feel. hotel is very nice. grounds very beautiful, small. howler monkeys everywhere along with iguanas, raccoons and lots of ants. some staff where friendly but not everyone. very quiet. bartenders were not very friendly. good food. rooms where a bummer as the bathroom was very 'tired' looking and shower was a little too basic. we also had tons and tons of ants. location was good. walking distance to town and we always felt safe walking anywhere. Eat at Noogies in town and make sure to order the pineapple pie!!! Had surf lessons which were great. Make sure to where long sleeve rash guards. Great town. Very casual. Everyone in town was very friendly. Snorkeling was NOT a good idea...too cloudy...cold water. great beach. amazing sunsets!!!

Room Tip: Maybe don't be on the end and downstairs...maybe the ants won't get you. You have to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abiggs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This boutique hotel was exactly what I had hoped for... Close to town but not in the craziness- lush grounds, wonderful staff and a beautiful beach. You can walk around the corner and see a perfect- and I mean perfect- sunset. This is a shell beach too and great for morning runs as it goes for 3/4 mile or so. Our room was spacious and I liked the bed with the canopy- there is a sitting area too and outside, private porch (due to all of the plants, trees) with a lantern and comfy chairs. The room was super clean and the linens were white cotton and also comfy. They give you free drinks upon arrival and the bar is by the pool and open air restaurant. The bar tender made me the best Costa Rican drink- guaro sour- which was exactly what I didn't know I wanted :) the included breakfast buffet was good- with tons of fruit, bread and other hot items. For dinner- you can easily walk along the beach (wide and flat) and there are tons of great restaurants- we liked la baula- roman pizza - and Patagonia- Argentinian food. We ended up not doing a lot of activities here as we didn't want to leave the pool area. The staff are constantly working on the grounds and the howler monkeys were out every day. The owner's message in the book was nice and it seems as though they really care for the environment and animals (this was the only place in cr that we did not see stray dogs). Safe parking for our car. Overall- I just loved this hotel and will dream about returning soon. It seems good for families and couples both. Met lots of great guests too. Was a very tranquil spot as much of the guanacoste region is so dry and arid - and not green- right now.

Room Tip: Room 27 was nice- air conditioning and end, ground unit. View of ocean was not needed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monument101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We didn't stay in this hotel but we did go there for drinks and lunch as they were right next to the property we were staying in, Casa Sueca. Right from the time that the Geayline bus dropped us off there, the staff was very helpful. They pointed us in the right direction to our hotel just down the road. They let us use the beach chairs and I had the best piña coladas at the bar. We also had lunch there and it was quite good. I would love to book there as the property is right on the beach and looks like they have great service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank seema60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one week March 17-24. We were treated like royalty.
Our patio room was large, lovely. Sat outside every morning having coffee looking up watching the monkeys, birds, in the trees outside our door. Our room was a short walk to the pool which was also surrounded by lush gardens and trees. Pool was large, lots of beach chairs in private little coves. Never crowded. This is a small, quiet hotel, Eco-friendly.

The beautiful beach is not far from the pool. Beach is great for swimming and surfing. Just a short walk along the beach to the little town of Tamarindo. The beach has many chairs, some on a shady hill where you can stay cool with the great ocean breeze!

Dinning room was near the pool with an outside bar. The breakfast buffet was very nice , lots of fresh fruit, breads, rolls eggs. cheese. Etc. You can have dinner on the beach if you request it. Actually you can have breakfast on beach too.

The trees supply many howler monkeys , iguanas, a variety of birds so you can get a close look at them. The concierge was very helpful arranging our day trips and transfers to airport. All the staff were wonderful , friendly and we began to feel like family.
We really hated to leave and would definitely return. We highly recommend this hotel.


Patty and John

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TangFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#8 of 24 in Tamarindo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Capitan Suizo)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: £190 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing