We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Anthony, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, fabulous staff”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the capitan suizo. Here is a quick rundown..

Rooms- We stayed in the Oceanside bungalow which is literally 50 yards from the beach. The rooms were on par with what u would expect for the price...great beds but shower hot water could have been better.
Bar/pool - 5 steps from pool to bar with monkeys overhead the entire time...could not have been more ideal
Beach - gray sand and long shallow beach perfect for kids. Also great for surfing
Entertainment - evening dinner, BBQ and various activities throughout the week
Internet - wireless is new and speed could be improved
Staff - rosa in activities and all the ladies at the bar/restaurant were so fun and hospitable.
Safety - always felt safe even with doors open at night next to the beach but travel at night in groups

Great place would return...one of the best in tamarindo

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    222
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
347
642
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It is not if, but when we return to Costa Rica, the Capitan Suizo is where we will stay. My wife and I loved the location with its lush landscaping, gorgeous sandy beach, a little off the beaten track yet only a short lovely walk along the beach to the center of town. The hotel was very comfortable, relaxing, had excellent service and the staff friendly and accommodating. We had a beach front bungalow with a beautiful view, excellent A/C, and a sooo comfortable bed. If you like to surf and kayak as we do, it is a great location. We really enjoyed the casual beach life with the beautiful mornings and evenings. The food at the hotel, the outdoor restaurant , was amazingly good, both breakfast and dinner. We had a great time and it was a great trip. We thank everyone at the Capitan Suizo for making our stay a wonderful experience .

Room Tip: Beach bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place is the best. We arrived to Capitan Suizo towing a boat (from the states). The hotel happily secured parking for the boat. Accommodations were top notch-stayed 10 years previously and had the same experience. I had to print out many papers at the front desk-they also did happily. To top it off, I left my iPod and headphones in the safe when I checked out. Employees immediately contacted me on the road-I was too far away to return. Raul asked what hotels I would be staying at and arranged to send my belongings ahead to a hotel. Raul also let me know who was bringing the iPod and headphones (a tour company that would be going to that area) and then who AT&T he hotel my belongings were left with. The belongings were at the hotel I arrived at just as he said. Talk about wonderful service. Back to the hotel-the complementary breakfast was good. You can get coffee beginning at 6 a.m.-very welcome for his coffee addict. The location of this hotel is great-right on the beach. Howler monkeys and iguanas on the roof. Beautiful manicured grounds. Ping pong table on grounds. Lots of chairs and tables for sitting around. It is an easy walk into town from here. A/C works great in the room. Can only say positive things. When we travel back to Costa Rica we will return to Capitan Suizo. A big thanks to Raul and all the front desk people-they were all wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled here with our 2 teenagers. The hotel is amazing, the surroundings are green and lush. The monkeys were a daily highlight for us. The pool area was very tranquil and peaceful.

We had interconnecting rooms, 23, 24, they were perfect for us, lovely big bed with quality linen. The bathroom was adequate with plenty of storage for clothes and luggage.

We are animal lovers, so along with the monkeys we enjoyed seeing the raccoons, lizards and beautiful birds.

The hotel is off the beaten track and away from the bustle of the town, but close enough to walk into Tamarindo if you please.

My husband and son surf, so the location was perfect, we hired a car to enable us to visit other surf spots in the area.

The staff at the hotel are really friendly particularly Max, Eddie & Ivan. Whilst we were there my son had a cold, so Eddie made an amazing concoction for him which soothed the symptoms.

The evening meal in the hotel was of amazing quality and variety.

We will be returning!!'

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank leenile03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband, teenage son and I stayed at Capitan Suizo for a 1 week fishing vacation. This hotel was paradise surrounding us! The tropical landscape was lush and well maintained. The staff was prompt, friendly, and always available. Even the Howler monkeys, the iguanas and blue birds were delightful. We had an air conditioned, beachfront bungalow with direct views of the white, sandy beach just yards from our room! We could walk along the beach to get into the town of Tamarindo in 10 mins. The architecture of the rooms was stunning with artfully designed wood layering throughout. Very neat and clean. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic! We ate several meals at the beautiful, poolside, outdoor restaurant which opened right onto the beach. We personally thanked the chief for treating us to delicious meals always cooked with fresh foods and ingredients that were scrumptious! We even had an unfortunate episode when our son got sick. The manager at Capitan Suizo contacted a doctor, and within 20 mins. a local doctor was at our room effectively treating our son. We were so grateful. This wasn't a case of "Montezuma's revenge," and we were drinking the hotel filtered water with ice cubes no problem. We would highly recommend staying at Capitan Suizo where the rates are every bit worth the positive experience of staying in paradise in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: I would suggest staying in the A/C beachfront bungalows. Although they are a bit pricey, they are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for 5 days. We had been here 10 years before and finally got a chance to return and we are glad we did. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms, by Costa Rica standards, are spacious and clean. What we came back for was the setting: right on a gorgeous beach, with gentle rolling waves which are great for boogie boards (free to borrow) or surfing ($10 to rent, with lessons available). The beach stretches for about a mile or so to the right, which takes you past the town and ends at an inlet that is passable at low tide. It is a wide, flat beach, good for walking, shelling, running, or ball playing. The hotel grounds are lush with plantings, flowers, a pool, and trees along the beach, which provide shade, as well as food and shelter for the families of howler monkeys, who pass by a few times a day. The town of Tamarindo has gotten much more crowded over the years, but it is still small enough to enjoy walking the streets to explore the many shops and restaurants. We had dinner and some lunches in town, which is a 10 minute walk along the beach from the hotel. We were very happy to have that separation, because the hotel is a tranquil haven. You can enjoy a peaceful afternoon in the comfortable beach lounge chairs (no charge, no tip needed) listening to the waves, the birds, and the monkeys without any crowds at all. When you are ready, stop by the hotel bar, right next to the pool, for a drink, or stay on the beach where a second bar opens in the late afternoon. Dinner at the hotel is adequate, but we enjoyed exploring the town and trying other places, knowing we could walk or take a 5 minute cab ride back to the sanctuary of Capitan Suizo. We hope another 10 years does not pass before we return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA CLARA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here a week with friends. Overall, very nice, clean and professional. I wish there was a 1//2 star because I would probably rate it between 3 to 4. Great access to the beach and the grounds were well maintained. Drinks were expensive and happy hour does help but it's at the beach not the hotel which was a bit odd. Yes, I would consider staying there again if I went.

Word of caution, about 1/4 of our group got Montezuma's revenge. This is not necessarily the hotel's fault but if you go, be on your guard for water, ice cubes, etc. I was told the water and so forth were not an issue. I'm here to tell you it IS!

Room Tip: The bungalows on the ground floor are very nice, but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing