We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A different experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A different experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Like a few others said, we wish we would have stayed a little longer. We stayed here on our last night of our Costa Rica trip. We loved playing out in the surf. It was nice to be able to take a long walk down the beach and then to see the beautiful sunset.

The staff was pleasant and even though we arrived at noon, they tried to make sure we enjoyed the facilities while we waited on our room. We really enjoyed staying in the bungalow. At first we were a little disappointed because there was no tv but after a while, we knew we had no need for it. There were lounge chairs on our small private balcony and an oil lamp. It was really peaceful.

You can tell that the hotel is green. There are recycle trash cans that are easily accessible. The exercise equipment is outdoors in a really serene and beautiful area. The rainwater showerhead was awesome! It was great.

We did have some food at the bar that was delicious. Watch out for the kid's chicken meal. The portion was huge!

Only complaint is I was not able to do any laundry before we left. They have laundry service but since we were leaving early the next morning, we could not make use of it.

I would highly recommend the hotel for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisar522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    217
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
332
624
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was actually my second visit to El Capitan Suizo. This is a boutique hotel with pleasant, courteous staff. Food is probably the best I've had in any hotel I've stayed at in CR. Pool is walking distance. This is a more quiet and peaceful place but still has plenty to do if you bring kids. This hotel is situated on the beach yet the resort is nestled amongst a large, beautiful shaded garden. Howler monkeys are regulars there!

On the beach there is ping pong, pool, free kayaking and boogie boards. My two children took surf lessons for an extra charge and loved it. We also walked down the beach and found jet skis to rent. Rosa at the tour desk was fantastic. She arranged a great turtle tour that we went on at night time. Our guide was great and we watched a green sea turtle make a nest and lay her eggs with a sky of stars above us...so beautiful!

I'd recommend this hotel as a honeymoon destination or a family place with kids over 10. Plenty of family games to borrow or just relax in on the beach hammocks. Take a walk into town and experience various shops or restaurants as they are minutes away.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I spent 2 of the days of our honeymoon here back in 2012. It was a well kept hotel and all the employees were nice. The beach is a couple of steps away from the hotel and there was plenty of room to spread out. The breakfast wasn't the best but it was good! There are other restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms were bungalow style and they were large and beautiful. The bathrooms were very spacious too! Lots of small animals were also around the hotel which was fun to spot. We also paid for a massage on the beach which was mediocre to me. The hotel also put on a show at night on the beach that includes dinner but I believe that comes at an extra cost. Overall, we loved our stay here, very relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shia027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were so happy with our stay at Capitan Suizo. The location on the beach is perfect, the grounds are spectacular with lots of interesting animals to entertain you while in the pool, our ocean front room was idyllic, and the staff was really professional and extremely friendly. Make sure you ask their concierge Rosa to help you with any plans for surfing, dining, and excursions- she's been there more than ten years and is super helpful.

Room Tip: We upgraded to beachfront and were so happy that we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My dear friend, her teenage daughter and her friend stayed here for FIVE blissful days and nights. We had a cabina at the far edge of the property, right by the beach -- and the restaurant and pool beyond. Talk about convenient! Every detail at Capitan Suizo is well thought out. The staff is beyond friendly -- Rosa helped us with bikes and other staff carried them up the stairs if needed. The food was really good, the cocktails even better. The room was always immaculate after service and if more towels were needed, more towels appeared without having to ask. The beds are like sunset clouds (oh, did I mention the SUNSETS?). Perhaps most of all, the hotel grounds are like a dream island of plant and animal life, both wild and domesticated (i.e., monkeys, iguanas and a quartet of lovely property cats). We had the best time ever.

Room Tip: Our cabina on the south end was quiet and beautiful, and a glass wall between the room and the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Everything was fantastic! Very low key,laid back but all in a very nice and comfortable way. The staff were all great and helpful and friendly. The place was clean and well cared for. Amazing comfy beach chairs, lots of towels, and extras. Loved that it was stocked with boogie boards, surf boards, and sand toys. We used all of them! Nice out of town location - you can walk 10 minutes to join the frenzy when you want to. Love the monkeys, iguanas, and crazy robber birds at breakfast. If you don't like bugs this is probably not the best place for you. Not enough to make you crazy, but to realize that this is a tropical paradise. Great for kids , but sometimes we had to shush them as it is so quiet and peaceful here.

Room Tip: I doubt at there is a bad room in the place - book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just returned from Costa Rica and a 4 night stay at this lovely boutique hotel. Upon arrival, we were met my a wonderful young man who treated us like royalty. Let me add...we had just come back from white water rafting Class 3 & 4 waters and were quite a mess! He made reservations for us at the on-site restaurant and got us to our room with plenty of time to relax before dinner.

The room (number 23) was simply gorgeous. Not over the top fancy but very nice and comfy. We had two chairs on our patio; there was a sitting area with a chair and sofa (which made into a bed) and then up two steps was our beautiful canopy bed with a very comfortable mattress. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and was pristine clean! Lots of storage space and daily room service. The entire room was squeaky clean; we also had a small fridge, stocked with a large bottle of water. Coffee pot with plenty of coffee and cream/sugar. GOOD coffee.

The restaurant served some excellent food at great prices. In fact, when we checked out, I thought our bill was wrong. We then realized my husband was converting wrong. We had several NICE bottles of wine (Italy and Spain) with some very good food (sea bass, steak, etc). We also had a good many drinks at the bar and pool side. Definitely impressed with their prices.

There is a really nice pool and you are only steps away from the beach, which is very well maintained. Covers are put over pool side cushions at night and the beach cushions are picked up....thus, you have fresh, dry cushions each day.

I had a hot stone massage which was better than any I ever had in the USA. Only wish I'd tried the deep tissue, also. $90 for 80 minutes was well worth the price.

The property is within walking distance of Tambarino, where there are some great restaurants and nice shops. A pharmacy, also and English is easily understood. (although I got to practice my Spanish with lots of willing teachers!).

One thing that really showed the true character of this property:
My husband left some very expensive slippers at our prior lodging, 4 hours away. They called the hotel, who had found the slippers. The hotel staff member (sure wish I could remember his name) told us he'd take care of it. The next morning, he called around and found a transportation company who was going to LaFortuna to drop off some clients; he asked them to pick up the slippers (which they did) and my husband had them that evening...at NO CHARGE. Now that is customer service to brag about.

Only one shortcoming and that's breakfast and the flies....although I know they are working to fix this problem.

Without a doubt or hesitation...we would stay here again and actually plan to go back soon! The property, service, staff, location...everything is perfect. And Max....what a great wait staff guy!

Room Tip: We stayed garden view....these rooms have A/C. The beach view rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haaland0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 22-50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing