We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot for Honeymoon Relaxation and Fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Perfect Spot for Honeymoon Relaxation and Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

When our travel consultant Theresa from Costa Rica Vacations sent me the initial itinerary for our honeymoon trip, I came right here to Trip Advisor to take a peek at the reviews, and am happy to be able to write a glowing one of my own now that we're home! We stayed four nights at Capitan Suizo and found it to be a perfect spot to round out our honeymoon adventure.

Highlights:
-Best sunsets I've ever witnessed from the lounge chairs on the beach just steps away from the hotel
-Delicious food and friendly staff at the open-air restaurant
-Multiple visits from a family of howler monkeys and several iguanas (my husband's fave part!)
-Kayaking out to the little island (and finding an octopus in the shallows!)
-Easy walk to town for dinner or shopping, but located in a quiet, private spot towards the end of the beach
-Lounging with a book - at the bar, in the room, in the pool, on the beach... so relaxing!

My tips include: ample sunscreen application, sign up for a catamaran tour, and watch out for the breakfast-thieving birds, they're cute when they hop on the back of your chair or your shoulder, but you'll be missing that fried cheese they snatched right off of your plate!

Overall a wonderful experience - we've been home less than a month and my hubby is already asking when we can go back!

Room Tip: We were glad we chose a room with A/C - it was quite toasty outside and was refreshing to go back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    217
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
333
625
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here 7 years ago and have been eager to go back ever since. This time we stayed four nights - and swore to each other that we'll spend more time when we return to lovely Costa Rica.

This hotel has an incredibly nice atmosphere with friendly, attentive and very competent staff. The garden, one of its main attractions, is big and full of old trees that were there before the hotel. It is maintained without chemicals and the animals are well cared for - which is why you'll most likely see more animals from your poolside recliner than anywhere else in Costa Rica.

The rooms are really nice with all amenities. Most rooms don't have AC (for environmental reasons) but are built with natural airing and efficient fans. We were quite happy without it.

The breakfast buffet has everything a person can wish for - even banana milkshake in a jar. Our son couldn't get over that!

Tamarindo is a dirty and overrun place (however, it does have a certain charm), but Capitan Suizo is just far enough away so that you're not bothered by it, yet close enough so that you can reach it by foot along the beach. The hotel concierge is competent and friendly and will book any activity you wish for. Surfboards and boogieboards can be rented at a very fair price.

The only downside I can think of is that the lunch- and dinner menus are rather dull, but that will never keep me away from this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our first time going to Costa Rica, and traveled from Arenal to Tamarindo. We wanted to relax and do some excursions, but mostly just lay around on the beach and surf. Capitan Suizo is in an amazing location, away from the craziness of town so you can relax but close enough to walk. The grounds were beautiful and animal friendly, with 4 resident cats living there and greeting guests. Howler monkeys also hang around the trees, you are pretty much guaranteed to see them and to definitely hear them (they are loud!!!). You will also see many, very large iguanas that are surprisingly great swimmers.

The staff at Capitan Suizo are amazing, most particularly Juan Carlos, Max, Eddie and Katherine (there was one other woman who worked at the restaurant that was amazing too, but I didn't catch her name). They couldn't do enough for us, they even helped us learn some Spanish! The hotel was clean, but also very wildlife and eco friendly. This means you will see bugs. You are on the beach, in a somewhat remote, tropical area; bugs thrive in this environment, so you will encounter them. Also, watch out for the birds that steal your breakfast (White-throated Magpie Jays). They are beautiful, but don't leave your dish unattended.

As far as excursions go, if you do nothing else make sure to do the Blue Dolphin Catamaran; one of the highlights of our trip! As far as food goes, the hotel restaurant was excellent. We ate their quite often since we were there for 7 days, but we also wandered into town and had many great meals there. We walked back on the beach at night with a flashlight (no later than 11pm), we never felt that we weren't safe.

Lastly, the sunsets are AMAZING.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Like a few others said, we wish we would have stayed a little longer. We stayed here on our last night of our Costa Rica trip. We loved playing out in the surf. It was nice to be able to take a long walk down the beach and then to see the beautiful sunset.

The staff was pleasant and even though we arrived at noon, they tried to make sure we enjoyed the facilities while we waited on our room. We really enjoyed staying in the bungalow. At first we were a little disappointed because there was no tv but after a while, we knew we had no need for it. There were lounge chairs on our small private balcony and an oil lamp. It was really peaceful.

You can tell that the hotel is green. There are recycle trash cans that are easily accessible. The exercise equipment is outdoors in a really serene and beautiful area. The rainwater showerhead was awesome! It was great.

We did have some food at the bar that was delicious. Watch out for the kid's chicken meal. The portion was huge!

Only complaint is I was not able to do any laundry before we left. They have laundry service but since we were leaving early the next morning, we could not make use of it.

I would highly recommend the hotel for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisar522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was actually my second visit to El Capitan Suizo. This is a boutique hotel with pleasant, courteous staff. Food is probably the best I've had in any hotel I've stayed at in CR. Pool is walking distance. This is a more quiet and peaceful place but still has plenty to do if you bring kids. This hotel is situated on the beach yet the resort is nestled amongst a large, beautiful shaded garden. Howler monkeys are regulars there!

On the beach there is ping pong, pool, free kayaking and boogie boards. My two children took surf lessons for an extra charge and loved it. We also walked down the beach and found jet skis to rent. Rosa at the tour desk was fantastic. She arranged a great turtle tour that we went on at night time. Our guide was great and we watched a green sea turtle make a nest and lay her eggs with a sky of stars above us...so beautiful!

I'd recommend this hotel as a honeymoon destination or a family place with kids over 10. Plenty of family games to borrow or just relax in on the beach hammocks. Take a walk into town and experience various shops or restaurants as they are minutes away.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I spent 2 of the days of our honeymoon here back in 2012. It was a well kept hotel and all the employees were nice. The beach is a couple of steps away from the hotel and there was plenty of room to spread out. The breakfast wasn't the best but it was good! There are other restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. The rooms were bungalow style and they were large and beautiful. The bathrooms were very spacious too! Lots of small animals were also around the hotel which was fun to spot. We also paid for a massage on the beach which was mediocre to me. The hotel also put on a show at night on the beach that includes dinner but I believe that comes at an extra cost. Overall, we loved our stay here, very relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shia027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were so happy with our stay at Capitan Suizo. The location on the beach is perfect, the grounds are spectacular with lots of interesting animals to entertain you while in the pool, our ocean front room was idyllic, and the staff was really professional and extremely friendly. Make sure you ask their concierge Rosa to help you with any plans for surfing, dining, and excursions- she's been there more than ten years and is super helpful.

Room Tip: We upgraded to beachfront and were so happy that we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#1 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 22-50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing