We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot in Tamarindo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed at Capitan Suizo on two separate occasions. Both times the experience has been phenomenal. The staff are all fantastic, the location in Tamarindo cannot be beat, the property is gorgeous and includes regular visits from the local wildlife (howler monkeys, iguana, many species of birds, etc). The room is huge - more space then 2 people really ever get on vacation. The included breakfast is so yummy with fresh baked breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, rice and beans, eggs, sausage, plantains, and much more. You can easily skip lunch every day. The only reason it doesn't get five stars from me is that the lunch and dinner quality is only average. However, you should leave the property every once in awhile and this gives you a good excuse. The property is removed from the heart of Tamarindo but easily walkable along the beach if you want to see more people - however, the quiet of the beach at Suizo is perfection. I don't think there is a better place to stay in Tamarindo (and we've stayed at five different places) -especially if you want to be right on the beach but still accessible to town by foot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena R, Owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Matisham
Thank you for your review!
We are really glad that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay.
You will be happy to hear that we are working on a new lunch and dinner menu, which will be ready in November.
Thank you for having stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Milena Re - Owner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Capitan Suizo is a boutique sized hotel located just outside the town of Tamarindo. This was, BY FAR, the most strategically located hotel in Tamarindo. I will leave it to the other reviews to describe the property, but believe me it is absolutely beautiful. Instead I will focus on the good and bad points of our stay, compared to what we experienced from our 4 other locations during our trip to Costa Rica.

The good.

Location, Location, Location. This property is sitting on the beach and a VERY nice beach to boot. At high tide the waves come right up to the edge of the property. At every other point there is plenty of sand for sunbathing. The hotel is close enough to town to walk up the beach for a night out but still far enough away for property to remain quiet and tranquil.

The customer service in the hotel was top notch. From the folks working the front counter, to the maids, and even the grounds keepers were friendly and always had a smile. The hotel provided all the toys (ie, surf boards, boogie boards, kayak, etc) for the active mind set at very reasonable rates. They were also very lenient on the check out and check in procedures which was very appreciated. In my case, I needed a surf board at 6:00 am to get some surfing in before my flight home and was able to check out the board through the front desk.

There were plenty of animals running around for those interested in that sort of thing. The first morning we were awakened by a howler monkey screaming. With the windows being opened, it sounded like it was at the foot of my bed. Sure beats an alarm clock!! We saw large groups of monkeys on 3 of our 4 days at this hotel. In addition, we saw a few iguanas while we were resting by the pool and one evening bumped into 2 raccoons near the pool as we made our way back from a night on the town.

The bad.

There are two things that I questioned about this hotel. Neither are deal breakers, but are worth noting.

AC in the rooms. The hotel advertises Air Conditioning and so it is "assumed" that the AC is actually working in the room. You will find out quickly that this is not the case. As stated in many reviews, the rooms are huge with many windows to pass the air adequately through the room. The windows are left open by default and requires a staff member to close the windows if you elect to go with AC. Of course there is a considerable "extra charge" iF you elect to have the AC turned on during your stay. We elected to rough it since we are used to heat and humidity anyway (being from Houston), but again it would have been nice to know this ahead of time especially considering the cost of the room to start with. Those who do not appreciate the heat and humidity surely need to keep this in mind when booking your stay!

The "included" breakfast was a big disappointment for me, for many reasons. To start, I was disappointed with the level of service provided during the meal. They always had plenty of folks working but they always seemed to be gathered together chatting instead of working. I can't tell you how many times I had to get up and interrupt their little gathering to get some service. The fruit selection was also very limiting. This is the FIRST hotel in Costa Rica that did not serve pineapple for breakfast. Instead, it appears they save their pineapples for the mixed drinks in the bar. I also had to ask about rambutans, which they did have in the back and appear to put out for consumption only when a guest asks. These are only minor things that tweaked me during my stay. Normally they would not have bothered me but since this hotel boasts of being part of an elite group of boutique hotels you kind of expect a little more.

Neither items are real deal breakers. This is a beautiful and well maintained property and the positives far outweigh any negatives. I would definitely consider this hotel again on any future trips to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena R, Owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Dave L
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad you liked our location, the service and that you enjoyed the wildlife and the activities that the Hotel offers!
Regarding A/C - all our accommodations are equipped with an air conditioner and some with the option of natural air circulation to leave the choice to the customer. We can offer rooms without A/C at a lower rate, since the energy consumption is much lower; furthermore, it reduces the environmental impact, which is important to us. Our reservation department team tries to be very clear in describing if the room is offered with A/C or without but it seems that in your case we were not clear enough, we apologize for the misunderstanding.
For breakfast we offer as many different fruits as we can, pineapple is usually among the offer and I am sorry that during your stay it was not available at the buffet. Regarding the level of service in the restaurant during your stay, we will analyze what was going, since of course the full attention should be given to you, our customer.
We are glad that, despite these inconveniences, you could enjoy your vacations and we hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Milena Re - Owner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Room was spacious and provided a great view of the ocean and grounds. It is set back from the ocean but the view is still there and much more private. Outdoor shower was an added bonus. Walk to town is about 10 to 15 minutes along the beach and an easier walk than the dusty road. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beach was clean but an occasional dog would pass through. Enjoyed watching monkeys frolic in the trees by the lobby. Location is good for rest and relaxation and a short walk or $4.00 cab ride to town.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this resort hotel for the second time in August 2014. It was nothing less than outstanding. The staff is friendly and warm, but not overbearing. Large clean pool and sandy beach. Outdoor restaurant with bar. Full hearty buffet breakfasts. Close to other restaurants and town. Good for children but quiet enough for relaxing. You cannot do better in Tamarindo.
Pura Vida !

Room Tip: There is a wonderful 4 bedroom suite (#60) if you have a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was the second visit for some of us but the first for most. There were 15 in our party with ages from 2-62. We came back to capitan suizo because our first experience was so special and they did not disappoint. This place is a gem. The grounds are beautiful and lush, the pool is a good size, the beach is steps away, the restaurant is great, the rooms are all beautiful (air conditioning is a good idea), the monkeys and iguanas are a plus, but the staff is what makes this place so special. They knew us by name on the second day and made us feel like part of the family. They were very accommodating and I would name names but they all deserve to be mentioned including the maintenance staff. We stayed for a week and had plenty to do, even the two year old. Rosa will help find activities for your group with some going in one direction and others in another. The town of Tamarindo is a short walk away and has some wonderful dining options for lunch and dinner so explore. Everyone in the family wants to come back!

Room Tip: Strongly suggest air conditioning. We stayed in the four bedroom suite and found it perfect for gath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If your plans include a visit to the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica (and they should!), then this is the place to stay. Capitan Suizo is right on the beach in a beautiful setting - and just about a 10 minute walk along the beach to the wonderful beach town of Tamarindo. The beach is tranquil, not crowded - a great retreat from the3 fast pace of life. A short walk along the beach towards town offers all sorts of ocean activities if that is what you are looking for. There are several choices for accommodations on the property, all wonderful! Our room with its king canopy bed was beachfront, with our own private patio overlooking the ocean. The al fresco restaurant overlooking the beach was delightful for an excellent breakfast buffet and lunch and the service was top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank flowerlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first time going to Costa Rica and we could have not stayed in a better hotel in Tamarindo than Capitan Suizo.
Location: our favorite, away from the craziness of town so you can relax but close enough to walk. An added benefit for surfers is that it was a short distance from some good surf breaks.
Accommodations: clean, beautiful and comfortable room. No TV was a nice surprise! BTW, I didn't realize we didn't have one until my boyfriend pointed it out sometime during our stay. We stayed in room # 22 but I would suggest one of the second-story rooms as they have private balconies and better view or the bungalows with private outdoor showers and Jacuzzi.
The staff: very attentive, friendly and helpful. From the people at the front desk, to the restaurant staff, to the owner, Ursula, who we met and had a nice conversation with on our last day.
The grounds were beautiful and animal friendly, with 4 resident cats greeting guests. Howler monkeys also hang out in the trees, you are pretty much guaranteed to see them and hear them from time to time. You will also see many, very large iguanas that are surprisingly great swimmers and furry squirrels coming down huge trees. The hotel was clean, but also very wildlife and Eco-friendly. This means you will see bugs. You are on the beach, in a somewhat remote, tropical area; bugs thrive in this environment, so you will encounter them. Also, watch out for the birds that steal your breakfast (called: urracas). They are beautiful but ready to steal anything on your plate. If something is missing from your plate, please don't blame your significant other :), it was the bird! So remember not to leave your dish unattended.

Restaurant/Food: You can enjoy romantic candle light dinners on the beach while having the most delicious dishes at Capitan Suizo. Our favorite "special of the night" dish was the seafood pasta. We liked it so much that the next night we asked the same although it wasn't on the menu. Our waiter, Max, was always attentive and professional. For lunch we usually had the hearts of palm salad with chicken, very yummy.
Overall a wonderful hotel that makes you feel you are in the rain forest but right next to the ocean.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better views and private balconies. Bungalows have Jacuzzi and outdoor pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniela-Jorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 24 in Tamarindo
143 reviews
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Capitan Suizo)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: £165 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing