We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Decision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This is an awesome place. Before I say anything else I would give one big warning, if your not an animal person or hate bugs like huge ants, you might want to reconsider C.R. even. It might have been our room, but it was crawling with ants. That put aside, it is a great place to relax, No TV's, but surprisingly to me since I have a big flatscreen with Direct TV and TiVo, I did not even need it.

The hotel is right on the beach and at the end of Tamarindo so you are about a 15 min walk from the town. We only went to the town a few times becuase we found the food at the hotel to be great. Even their breakfast which was included in our package was great. The Honeymoon Bungalow is definitly the way to go, the only draw back was we found the upstairs bed to be a slight wobbly, but we were jsut fine with it. You have an in ground bath tub and an outdoor shower. I saw a review about that, it wasn't so bad, If someone really tried I guess they can see you showering, but it's not like your just out there and everyone can see you.

For you romantics out there, I reccommend reserving a table for dinner on the beach. It was pretty private for us becuase no one else had made that request so we were the only ones on the sand having diner. It made for a really romantic evening. I reserved it without my wife knowing and it made for a great surprise.

We also had our lunches there and the food was just fine, really, theres no need to go the town if you don't want to.

One more thing, we also did one of the adventres, we did a catamaran trip with Snorkeling through the hotel. It was pricey, but it was pretty cool. In case you want to shop around, try to get Marlin Del Rey. The people are super awesome and attentive, it included Snorkel, Food, Booze and music. The snorkle was okay, waves were a little harsh and couldn't see very well through the water.

If you compare this to Diria, Diria looks great becuase it is right in the middle of town and has a swim up bar and everything, however, I think sometimes your not allowed to swim on their beach and it looks like most of the hotel is actually across the road even from their pools. So if your looking to party it up sick Diria might be more of the place for you unless you don't mind a cab ride away or a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Team_PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2009

I have stayed at the Capitan Suizo so many times in the past 7 years, i know the staff by name and often head out with them to festivals and rodeos.

The rooms are great, I prefer a non AC room, (upstairs) as the fan and tall beamed ceilings have a great feel, and the balcony is more private with the Chez lounges.

The pool is great, the beach and surf more calm at this end of the beach, and you just walk into town or grab a bike at the hotel.

This IS the only nice hotel in Tamarindo, and its away from the riff raff in town. I do like the El Jardin Tropical above town, but its not nearly as luxurious at the Cap.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We just returned from our third family vacation in Costa Rica, and once again, it was awesome.

The Capitan had been recommended to us by a number of sources, including a local travel agent who said it was her number one choice for all of Costa Rica. It was excellent in every way. The rooms are great - large, airy, and a great view overlooking the lush gardens (and wildlife) around the pool. The property is maybe 50 feet from the high tide line on the beach - you can sit in the open air restaurant and have a beautiful view of the ocean, including the rocky island from which the Capitan derives its name. The hotel is an excellent combination of Swiss efficiency and the great Tica hospitality. There are no TVs in any of the rooms, and only a few rooms are air conditioned. You really do not need AC as there is always a good breeze and the nights are cool. The hotel has two computers for guest use and wireless broadband on the property. The ocean is very gentle near the hotel, very suitable for small children. For surfing you need to walk about a 1/2 mile for the bigger waves.

The restaurant at the hotel is pretty good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is included. However, there are some better restaurants in town for the same price - all in all, unless you are too tired to go anywhere, I would recommend eating in town for dinner. Town, such as it is, is a ten minute walk or a $5 cab ride. I highly recommend the Half Orange (Median Naranja) as one of the best meals I have had anywhere.

There is plenty to do in Tamarindo, and our children were never bored. We swam, surfed, boogie boarded, rode horses, used the pool, met people, lounged, explored the town, and walked the beaches for many miles in both directions.

Two caveats:

1. It is hard to get reservations at the hotel, especially at Christmas and New Years. You should start working on this 6 to 12 months in advance. I made our two room booking via many emails with a helpful employee named Diego over a period of months.

2. The hotel requires full prepayment and not by credit card - you must use check or wire transfer. Due to Costa Ricas very slow banking system, getting your payment verified by the hotel requires time and patience - even a wire transfer directly to the local bank can take a week to verify, and it is not the hotels fault.

There are plenty of ATM machines in Tamarindo, so you should have no problems with money. Most, but not all, places in town accept Visa. There are many good restaurants. There are many surf schools - I can recommend Witches Rock, which is what we used. There are 2 and 1/2 little grocery stores - the 2001 is a good one in town and like most places it takes local and US currency, and has everything you could possibly want. While the resort is very quiet, there is a good night life in town that goes on until about 4am. Your best bet is to fly to the Liberia airport and hire one of the vans to take you to the hotel - they charged us $70 each way for five people, and the trip takes about 75 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank UberXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

We stayed for a week (Thanksgiving week) in a bungalow. It was perfect. Everything you've read about this place is true. Right on the beach, which we loved since we're big beach walkers. The staff is a huge plus for this hotel. They obviously treat them well since many employees have worked there for several years. The grounds are beautiful. Restaurant serves a great breakfast and the dinners we had were delicious. We also attended the Beach BBQ on Friday night, which was fun also.

We walked all around Tamarindo and didn't see any place that would come close to this one. If and when we return to Tamarindo, this definitely would be where we would stay.

Only negative is the dusty road in front of the hotel, but that's not their fault. SUPPOSEDLY it will be paved soon. Let's hope so. Although you can walk to town on the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

We had a wonderful time at Captain Suizos. The rooms very comfortable, sparkling clean and steps from the beach. The hotel on a quiet stretch of beach a few minutes walk from town. They currently are raising 2 baby orphan monkeys, Sophie and Alice. It was so much fun to watch them play in the trees with the wild monkeys. We are already planning our return trip for Dec. 2009.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We loved this hotel. The bungalows were very nice, the people were extremely helpful, the food at the restaurant was very good and the hotel grounds were beautiful. The hotel area is like staying in your own private jungle. You will see monkeys, birds, etc. every day.

I don't know what I can add that hasn't been said in past postings. I can say that I would definitely stay in this hotel again when I go back to Tamarindo. I wouldn't want to stay in any other one.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CarrieO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

We did a lot of homework on our trip on TripAdvisor and settled on the Capitan Suizo because of the good reviews and the fact that it was smaller and less "touristy" then some other places. We could not have been happier with our decision!

The private cabana looking out on the beach was beautiful. The staff was as friendly as they could be. We were there for a week and were sad to leave because we liked our "staff friends" so much. The pool is great and the poolside bar is small but perfect. We usually chose to end our nights there because it was so nice and close to home.

This is the one trip that we could do exactly over again (Groundhog Day style) and have just as much fun. Capitan Suizo had a lot to do with that. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Butterroast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 24 in Tamarindo
143 reviews
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Capitan Suizo)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range: £164 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing