We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Very nice hotel with prime location to the beach. 10 min. walk on the beach or road to "downtown". Had standard rooms which were very nice and very big. I have only given sleep quality 4 stars since there is some noise from Monkeys (but I view that as part of the hotel's charm). Pool is very nice and clean. Beach is just outside the hotels gate and is great both for surfing and swimming. Restaurant is nice and food is good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    220
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
345
641
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We arrived without reservations and Gabrielle was very accommodating, showing us two different rooms. We chose bungalow #3, which was poolside and very luxurious. The hotel has resident monkeys and raccoons. There are also iguanas and birds to admire. We barely left the hotel, except for once in three days to check out Tamarindo which is a short walk down the beach. The pool was one of the best features and the bar/restaurant are adjacent to the pool, which was very convenient. The food was very good and the lunch and dinner menus had a European flair as the chef is Swiss. The beachfront setting was great, very tropical.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chugginsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was a great find. It feels quiet and secluded at the end of the beach, but is only a 15 minute walk to town. We normally spent the day by the pool or on the beach and walked along the beach into town each night for dinner and drinks. The rooms are very spacious and had a lovely patio.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreacthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This hotel is truly an amazing place. The longer we stayed the more I fell in love with the hotel! I wish everyone would care for nature and promote sustainability in the same manner as Capitan Suizo. This is a business model that proves business can be sensitive to nature and the environment without scarificing comfort and luxury for their customers!

The hotel personnel (front desk, concierge, restaurant staff) were all extremely pleasant and helpful.

The gardens were beautiful and the animals (monkeys, iguanas, raccoons, squirrels, etc) were wonderful to observe. There is no better sound than to wake up to the call of the howler monkeys in the trees of the resort!

I hope to return in the future to this magnificent hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We stayed here at the end of our vacation last month. Our room was large with a wonderful view of the gardens. The grounds were very nice and we enjoyed seeing the many birds, monkeys, raccoons, and iguanas. The beach was a great beach and we had amazing sunsets. Everyone was very helpful. While we were here it usually rained in the early morning and then cleared up for a beautiful day. I would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdvvsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
encinitas,calif.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

capitan suizo is the best place in tamarindo. we have stayed there 5 times. we have rented the owners apt. and the bungalows. the grounds are beautiful . lush,lush,lush. the monkeys,iguanas,and raccoons make the place more special. the staff could not be nicer and they are all willing to go the extra step to make you fell content.the outside showeers attached to the bungalows are the best after a dayat the beach. they have a lovely restaurant that has great food. can't wait to go back...so easy to walk into town on the beach. it takes about 7 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encinitassusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We loved Capitan Suizo and would recommend it to all of our friends (which we did!) You should book Capitan especially if you enjoy monkeys, gardens, beach, great food, and great location! (If you are all about the indoors and ritzy 5 star resorts I'm not sure this would be the place- but anyone else would love this place!!)

We went in September (the off season) and are so glad we emailed to ask if they could offer any last minute deals similar to one on their website that had expired, we ended up getting a deal (note- this process of communication takes longer than what you might be used to with hotels in the US, so have patience). We ended up upgrading the special to an AIR CONDITIONED STANDARD ROOM (I think we used it a little, but dont recall for sure), for 4 nights, Full daily breakfast included, 1 complimentary lunch for two, 1 romantic complimentary candlelight dinner for two (DELICIOUS- Try the shrimp pasta!!), 20% Gift Shop discount, 50% Serenity Spa discount, Complimentary boogie board and bike usage (FUN!) Total cost including taxes $600 :)) "off season" ended up having great weather and tranquility!

The best parts about Capitan Suizo are:
-- MONKEYS!! They have 4 rescued monkeys which live on the grounds, AND local wild monkeys visit every few days for breakfast or afternoon snack in the trees right near the lobby or by the pool... this was the highlight of my Costa Rica trip!!! I even got to hold the baby monkey they were rehabilitating, AMAZING! They also have Iguanas that hang out at the pool, I found a friendly cat, and 2 friendly baby raccoons!

--GREAT FOOD! The meals for lunch and dinner match some of the best food we've eaten! The breakfast included was pretty standard as you would expect at most hotels... but hey, you get to enjoy the local birds, iguanas, and a great view of the ocean and pool while you eat! *You should definitely also walk to town and eat at the best pizza place called Portofino (casual)- funny thing is there are 2 with the same name right across the street from one another… but the one on the street side, not the beach side, has a wood burning oven and the pizza was so good we ate there two out of the four nights!

-- LOCATION: Capitan Suizo is the perfect balance of tranquility being just far enough off the main towns streets, but close enough you can easily walk to town when you wish. It has a nice walk-in pool with a view of the ocean just yards away, they had local music group come play some Costa Rican traditional music for dinner (lovely), and there are a few further places you can easily drive or taxi to:
-Playa Conchal (20-30 min away driving) a beach made of all crushed shells rather than sand. We found this to be a nice place to snorkel in the small rock reef just off the shore and paid a local to rent gear right there $10 total for the two of us for 1 hour. We heard its best to just pay the parking attendant so you dont have to worry about your car, so we did, and we had no problems at all. :)
-Lola’s restaurant near Avellana Beach (20-30 min mostly off-road) had good food also, and a beautiful setting… no famous Lola the pig anymore.
-We heard good things about Playa Flamingo from our friends who visited, but didn’t go there... if you go to Playa Conchal its best to do Playa Flamingo the same day (too bad we figured this out after we returned)

Lastly, the standard room we stayed in on the 1st floor was perfect for us, it had floor to ceiling sliding glass doors for the front wall, with a beautiful view of the lush trees and gardens... honestly we didnt spend much time in our room because Costa Rica was all about the outside for us! Both the inside and the outside were a perfect match at Capitan Suizo for us!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3to4starTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Property: Hotel Capitan Suizo
Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing