We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. Just WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Altos de Eros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Altos de Eros
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow. Just WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked the sunset couples massage/dinner. There aren't words to describe how amazing this was.

The view was breathtaking. The massages were wonderful and relaxing, with light music and running water for a backdrop. When you book this package they close off the spa to other guests so you have it all to yourselves.

After the massages, you get some quiet time alone with lounge chairs, a hot tub, a bottle of bubbly, and strawberries.

Last and CERTAINLY not least comes dinner. Easily some of the best food I ate in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    29
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
512
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The service was all first class. This was the best Spa experience & massage I have ever had. So peaceful with spectacular views. Lunch was fantastic and quality of a five star resort. I travel to Costa Rica often and will definitely return. All your stress will be gone when you leave, but you will never want to!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 581jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Such a beautiful place with an amazing view! Truly paradise!!!
The treatments were soooo good and the food sooo delicious!!!
The perfect, most romantic get away place up in the mountain with a breath taking view!
And the people are all so nice! Great service
Good vibes!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were let in on a little secret that Los Altos de Eros offers all of its spa treatments at half price in October so my husband surprised me with their Spa Day. I got a 90 minute massage, body scrub and body wrap. The environment was great. There are open air treatment rooms that overlook the valley and Playa Avellanas with butterflies dancing through the air. They have a little waterfall that adds to your relaxation. I was surprized that there were no mosquitos there - I am usually the one attacked if I spend any time outside, even if it's warm out. The Spa Day is from 9:30am to 2:00pm so it was the perfect temperature and included a personalized lunch. I had grilled tuna and prawns with a pineapple and mango salsa, pasta salad, and mozzarella and tomato salad along with fresh squeezed juice and a glass of wine. It was a quiet, relaxing afternoon in a beautiful and clean location. The staff was attentive, personable, professional and spoke English if you haven't brushed up on your Spanish lately! I am going to recommend this spa to all of my friends who are coming to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is long overdue as everyone should have the exceptional, outstanding experience that we had while staying at LADE! I wanted to take my fiancé somewhere special for his birthday and decided on Los Altos which was an excellent decision. I have been to many boutique hotels in many countries and LADE has been the best of them all! From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the moment we were dropped off we were treated as if we were their only guest. Waiting for us when we arrived was a bottle of champagne and the most awesome room (the Eros Suite) with a breath taking view. The evening of Bob's birthday, we were both surprised when the staff come out singing happy birthday with a cake! I could not have planned it better! The food was awesome, the staff were fantastic, everyone was ready to do what they could to make sure your every whim was met. Did I mention the spa, what a wonderful experience. I can't say enough wonderful things about LADE except to say that we will go back and that if you are trying to decide where to stay consider the decision made as this is the place to be!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JChinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

LADE is not just a hotel, its an experience! From arriving and being warmly greeted to the owners we were treated to an amazing home cooked meal by their resident professional chef. The resort is very intimate with spectactular views of the area. The spa was excellent, one of the best massages I have ever had. Although it was up in the mountains and remote from the main town of Tamarindo, it is only a 15 min drive away and the hotel offers a regular shuttle to suit your schedule. I hope someday to be able to return there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Los Altos is a beautiful place! We can't wait to go back. First, the view is amazing. We awoke each day and listened to the Howler Monkeys in the surrounding forest and had a fresh cup of Costa Rican coffee. There is a great hike through the rainforest roads that lets you see even more wildlife. Breakfast and lunch is provided and was so good that we stayed for dinner each night too. Chef Andrea is truly amazing. She will amaze you with her skills as a professional chef and we highly recommend taking the cooking class as we did. You can check out her blog too. Our plan on this vacation was just to relax. We hung out by the infinity pool, occasionally taking a dip. Coffee, tea, soda, wine, and margaritas were always available... At no charge. Even Cuban cigars. Twice we went down to the town of Tamarindo, a little surf town. It has a nice beach and some nice eateries as well. Avellanas beach, however, is much nicer, quieter, and has a great restaurant (it's the only one there). So go check out Taramindo, but don't miss Avellanas. The staff drove us wherever we wanted, whenever we wanted. Sometimes we heard that another couple was headed to town, so we would catch a ride, but we never felt like we were on someone else's schedule. Other couples or singles would come and go. You will eat together, but that added to the uniqueness. I would rather sit together with another couple over an amazing dinner prepared by a renown chef in a beautiful setting than in a large restaurant with assembly-line food for the masses. Everyone we met was there for the same reason... Relaxation. There was always privacy and separation, as if you had your own private residence in Costa Rica... Which just happened to be staffed by 25 employees, including a driver, and a professional chef. Occasionally, you will see the owners, Calvin and Jaquelin. Very nice people who just want to make sure that you are having the best possible experience. Even Coco, the English Lab will wander through. There is alot to do nearby. Surfing, zip lining, hiking, etc. Los Altos also has an amazing spa. My wife and I get messages almost monthly and I can say this was the best I have ever had. First, it was the best quality. Second, it was in the most beautiful location ever. Be sure to set them up early as guests from other hotels will come to Los Altos just for the spa treatments. We were sorry to leave, but will definitely be back. By the time we left, EVERY staff member knew us by name. That, and the unique experience you will have, will be a lasting memory.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_M-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
6.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 22 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos de Eros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos de Eros

Property: Los Altos de Eros
Address: Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Altos de Eros 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5-Star Costa Rica boutique hotel & spa resting on a 27 acre estate atop a small mountain with stunning views to the Pacific Ocean. Within a 15 minute drive, (which we provide to you as a courtesy) you can surf, swim at two beaches, shop, take a canopy tour, go sport fishing, ride horses or ATV's, play golf, visit nearby towns, nightlife, restaurants. Day trips are available for whitewater tubing, rappelling down waterfalls, hot volcanic mud baths, and river experiences with crocodiles and with white faced monkeys in your boat! Rates Include: - Transportation to towns, beaches, shopping and all area attractions. - Full breakfast and delicious lunch every day. - Wash, dry, fold, iron laundry service. - Free Cuban cigars. - Exercise center, WiFi. - Concierge level service- 3 to 1 staff to guest ratio. - Coco the Chocolate Lab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Altos de Eros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos De Eros Hotel Tamarindo
Los Altos De Eros Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing