We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massage at the spa” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Altos de Eros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Altos de Eros
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Massage at the spa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but my friend and our daughters visited the spa for massages. The massages were wonderful however the staff was extremely unwelcoming. After the massages they practically kicked us out. We wanted to sit at the pool afterwards for a drink and appetizers and they told us we had to leave. The bar and pool area were only for hotel guests. After our massages the spa was closed for a private party. It was a very expensive massage considering you could not even get a glass of water or use any other amenities.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Starkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana C, Gerente at Los Altos de Eros, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We operate a high end-high class property. When we have space available in our Spa, we allow outside guests from other hotels to enjoy our services .We are pleased that you indicated the massage was an excellent experience.

Everyone who comes to our property wants to stay longer...they just don't ever want to leave! A massage in our spa for an outside guest does not include their being able to enjoy the rights and privileges afforded our hotel guests staying at Los Altos de Eros Boutique Hotel and Spa. We place an extremely high value on our hotel guests and the service and privacy we provide them.

For you to become irate because we would not allow your group to lounge by the pool and order drinks and more food- and impose on our hotel guests- reflects more on you than it does us. We suspect part of your anger stemmed from the fact that we would not let you take the sarongs home that we allowed you to use in the spa during your visit. In fact, we were rather shocked that it was necessary for us to ask you to please take them off when you attempted to leave the property with them.

Los Altos de Eros means 'The Heights of Love". If our guests cannot arrive with a 'smile on their lips and a song in their heart' we would prefer that they take their business elsewhere.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    29
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
513
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Los Altos de Eros...simply amazing... From the delicious meals (loved lunch & dinner) to the relaxing spa treatments this boutique resort is definitely worth visiting. Once my wife and I were at the resort we did not have any desire to leave. The service was fantastic and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed doing yoga in the morning with the private instructor. My wife loves doing yoga but for the record it was my first experience and I really enjoyed it. By the end of our stay, I felt both relaxed and rejuvenated. Personally I'm not big on vacations but when we left I was already planning our next trip back. To the folks at Los Altos de Eros - THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: We had a king next to the pool and it was nice but I would probably recommend the secluded room off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This resort was by far the best that I have been to! Staff was friendly, the food was amazing and fresh, and the experience, well... truely exceptional!

Downside if you are a beach lover, not on the beach, but the pool makes up for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMikolajewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Los Altos de Eros means the height of love – and that’s just what this place is. Every detail is thoughtfully planned and executed, from the rooms to the exquisite spa and delightful meals - and most especially, the amazing staff.

Los Altos de Eros is a small boutique hotel set on 27 acres high amongst the mountains of northwestern Costa Rica. The secluded romantic retreat is far removed from anything to spoil the perfection of the place or experience, yet only a 20 minute drive outside the popular town of Tamarindo.

Upon arriving, the entry lobby and common area living/dining rooms feel more as if you’ve just stepped into someone’s luxurious private home. The staff is warm and welcoming, and lead you to one of four poolside rooms, a detached suite with private terrace, or the upstairs Eros Suite. Each room is beautifully decorated with signs of Eros all about, from sculptures to other art forms. Each room is meant for romance, from the large two-person tubs to private terraces. It’s no surprise that this is a very popular place for honeymoons and small weddings.

The on-site spa is open air and very Balinese in nature; should you need to relax even more, this is the place to do it. Treatments from massages and body scrubs to facials and soaking tubs soothe away any stress easily, and the therapists are excellent and gentle.

The meals are a big draw here; Chef Andrea delights in creating fresh, local and very inventive dishes, and guests can also take her very popular cooking classes during their stay.

Other onsite activities include yoga with certified instructor Nicole Loria; hiking around the area; swimming or lounging at the gorgeous infinity pool; or going into Tamarindo for shopping, restaurants or the local beaches. Los Altos de Eros can also arrange a number of eco, adventure and culture tours in the area.

Insider Tips: This property receives high ratings and is very popular, so booking well in advance is advised. And they have a heck of a guarantee policy: If in the first 24 hours of your stay you don't think Los Altos has over-delivered on what you expected, they will happily refund your room charge and help you find another location at which to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamasteFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

So, my husband and I decided to honeymoon here over Thanksgiving through the weekend, and can I say, we have already booked to go back in 2 years! (It would be every year if we could do it!) LADE is amazing. First of all, the staff is amazing. The attention to detail is great, I don't think I saw a speck of dust anywhere - and most of this place is outdoors! The food is amazing, drinks are YUMMY, the spa is amazing and the massages are amazing. The expeditions are so much fun and there is not one person that I encountered (associated with this property) that wasn't professional, nice and always had a smile on their face. Seriously, cannot rave about this place enough. Simply amazing. And meeting Calvin (the owner) was a pleasant surprise!

One fun thing, was they had a local singer come in and play on Saturday. We wished he stayed longer! He was awesome!!!

Book your rooms now people. This place is so great.

Can't wait to see you in 2 years!

Candace

Room Tip: If you want ultimate privacy, ask for Room 6. But all rooms are awesome here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Amazing. If you're staying in or around Tamarindo, do yourself a favor and book the LADE spa day. From the pick up from our hotel in Tamarindo to the drop off, I was in heaven. The service is fantastic, the views are incredible, the food is delicious, and the spa treatments are truly special. Three of us went and all had fantastic experiences. I will tell everyone going to Tamarindo to do this!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MOadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

One could literally show up with one change of clothes in a carry on.
Laundry is taken care of and the food, mostly very fresh fish was excellent Don't plan on seeing a saucier but it was the first time I've eaten flan in years

Room Tip: the queen sized bedrooms are more than adequate and more reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
6.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
6.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#9 of 21 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos de Eros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos de Eros

Property: Los Altos de Eros
Address: Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Altos de Eros 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5-Star Costa Rica boutique hotel & spa resting on a 27 acre estate atop a small mountain with stunning views to the Pacific Ocean. Within a 15 minute drive, (which we provide to you as a courtesy) you can surf, swim at two beaches, shop, take a canopy tour, go sport fishing, ride horses or ATV's, play golf, visit nearby towns, nightlife, restaurants. Day trips are available for whitewater tubing, rappelling down waterfalls, hot volcanic mud baths, and river experiences with crocodiles and with white faced monkeys in your boat! Rates Include: - Transportation to towns, beaches, shopping and all area attractions. - Full breakfast and delicious lunch every day. - Wash, dry, fold, iron laundry service. - Free Cuban cigars. - Exercise center, WiFi. - Concierge level service- 3 to 1 staff to guest ratio. - Coco the Chocolate Lab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Altos de Eros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos De Eros Hotel Tamarindo
Los Altos De Eros Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing