We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable stay in Tamarindo”
Review of La Colina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Colina
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Most comfortable stay in Tamarindo”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Tamarindo has been our choice vacation (last 6 trips) and Hotel LaColina is by far the best for our needs and value.
Our stays range from 2 to 3 weks, and we find this a great home base for day trips or overnights if you choose.
Our first morning is 'grocery shopping'. Super Mercado is a 15 minute walk, and a $3 - 4 dollar cab ride back, to stock up for the week. The rooms are more like apartments, with large fridge, kitchenette, complete with all amenities, microwave, coffee maker (Costa Rica coffee is delicious), plates, potss, pans and cutlery for cooking. bathroom has large showers, (our bedroom) had a comfortable king bed, with air conditioning in bedroom and living room etc.
The living room is large and comfortable chairs - television with cable - if you have time to catch up on sports or news.
Our room had a wrap around deck, and has an excellent ocean view, and view towards the estuary and Playa Grande. Cool breezes accompany the sunset 'happy hour'.
The proprieter of the establishment is always availble and very accomadating for whatever your group needs. Taxis, local deals on tours, and fine dining advice. Hans is very knowlegeable about local area beaches and decent restaurants in the area.
5 minute walk to the beach is close enough for us, and yet far away enough for the street noise and vagabonds.
Gated and secure, makes your place very safe, as well there are lockable safes in your room as well.
Beautiful garden area and large (clean) pool makes it great for lounging around on days that you just want to relax.
We have had other couples join us here, and we have all enjoyed our stay thouroughly.

Room Tip: corner suites have cool breeze in late afternoons and evenings. All rooms have a great view of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lespada, Guest Relations Manager at La Colina, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much Carol for your great review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel La Colina. We hope you travel to Playa Tamarindo again soon and be sure to let us know when you are coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    23
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
13
24
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Read a few of the other high rated reviews and you will get a sense of this place. Do not expect a 5-star resort, but for a great price you get a large, clean room in a beautiful location, 5 minutes up a quiet road from the beach, with amazing views. You could probably find other accommodation but it won't be as big, and likely won't have a full kitchen (including full size fridge - important!), and will probably cost you more. Hans is super friendly, and dedicated to making your stay as pleasant as possible. I will definitely return again and again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lespada, Guest Relations Manager at La Colina, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you, Tony for your review of La Colina. We are glad to hear you had a great stay with us here in Tamarindo. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My sister and I stayed at La Colina for 8 nights from December to January and we had a GREAT time!! We came across this place via Witch's rock surf camp. We thought the distance to the beach would be too far, but it was actually a breezy 7-10minute walk. We ended up preferring this because it was more clean and peaceful (The mainstreet can get pretty noisy and dusty with many cars) All we could hear from our balconies were the waves. Hans, the owner, was extremely friendly and accomodating. He made us feel welcome and at home. No restaurant, but they have a fully equipped kitchen and a bar at the reception. Super friendly staff that clean the pool every morning. The 2 ACs, one in the bedroom and one in the living room, definitely helped us through the hottest times of the day. The only downside was that we could only get wifi to connect from the balcony. Thus, we HAD to look at the beach while using the internet. Could be worse. :p The view is breathtaking and they have a beautiful garden full of flowers and plants (and monkeys). Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend La Colina to all groups and ages. :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lespada, Guest Relations Manager at La Colina, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review of La Colina. We are glad we were able to start your New Year off in the right direction. We look forward to seeing you again in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the La Colina hotel, which sits on the hillside overlooking Tamarindo beach. Great pool, great owner who has very personable service, and nice accommodations with a two room, one bath suite that had a very large balcony facing the NW direction toward the beach (great sunsets and mornings). It is a 7 minute walk to the main street in Tamarindo and the constant dust on the road to the hotel was the only negative of the experience. But since this hotel sits off the main Tamarindo road, we had quiet evenings without the late night music and party noise that can occur at beachfront hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lespada, Guest Relations Manager at La Colina, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We thank you for writing a great review. We hope if your travels take you to Tamarindo, you will plan your stay with us at La Colina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Love this spot! Hans (owner) is the best and is very helpful. Rooms are clean and stuff is friendly. Views are amazing from any spot on the property. For any animal lovers, howler Monkeys take a route right past the hotel daily and relax in the trees next to the people (makes for a good photo). Would recommend this spot to any friends or family visiting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam_Man2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed there recently for a destination wedding. Hans was an attentive host and he had a friendly staff. Views from balcony rooms were great. I had a pool side room with a garden view. Place was clean and reasonably priced. The wedding cake was served in the patio/bar area. Very nice experience with family run atmosphere. Would stay here again. - Connie

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on high floors have gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really enjoyed my time at La Colina. I initially wanted to stay on the beach, so I split my time between La Colina and Witch's Rock Surf Camp. The beautiful views from my balcony at La Colina were breathtaking. It made the few rainy afternoons I spent indoors quite pleasant. The hotel sits above the town of Tamarindo and is less than a 10 minute walk to the beach. La Colina is not a big chain hotel, but it is unique, quiet and the exterior is quite grand. The rooms are basic with kitchen and AC and everything you need. The pool is surrounded by lush greenery and overlooks the ocean. It is owned and managed by a lovely man named Hans who was always happy to see me and fun to chat with coming and going. Hans was extremely responsive and helpful and even upgraded me to the gorgeous penthouse for my last night. If you are looking for a lovely quiet place to spend your evenings this is it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodileea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina

Property: La Colina
Address: En Frente de Jardin Del Eden Hotel, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed on a Hill, unique sunsets, nice breeze, outstanding view 50 sqft pool, bar, tropical garden, fully equipped kitchens, tv, ac, ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Colina Tamarindo
La Colina Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing