We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Palapa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Zullymar Hotel(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nahua(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Colina(Tamarindo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (162)
    Filter reviews
    162 results
    Traveller rating
    85
    40
    19
    10
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    85
    40
    19
    10
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsloft styleoff street parkingtoes in the sandper nightcosta ricaamazing locationsmall roomred snapperbeach viewair conditioningin townpura vidaeach morninghowler monkeysrolandoticocouch
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    79 - 84 of 162 reviews
    Reviewed 7 January 2013

    Pros:
    - friendly, hardworking staff
    - excellent beach front location, ocean visible from most rooms
    - delicious, filling breakfast with local and western options including eggs, sausage, coffee, tea, juice, and plenty of fruit
    - restaurant part of hotel was enchanting, situated on the beach
    - two girls offer massage services on the hotel property, starting at 20 dollars for half an hour. Massage was well worth it
    - hotel close to everything we needed;supermarket, pharmacy, doctors office, surf shops,interbus booking office, bars and restaurants

    Cons:
    - discrepancy in quality of rooms, while all rooms are fairly simple, certain rooms have been recently upgraded and are more charming (we stayed in rooms 3 and 4, 3 was more modern with upgraded bathroom and nicer view)
    - loud at night on weekends, especially Saturday with surrounding beach clubs. Night sound was not as bad. If you are looking for peace and solitude, would look at other hotels
    - restaurant was slightly pricier than others in town, although we didn't eat anything but the included breakfast (see above. However, expect to pay 10 to 20 dollars for a decent restaurant meal in the area which was more than we anticipated

    Room Tip: Would ask to stay in room 3 over 4.
    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Wveej
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2013

    La Palapa is a beautiful, small but well kept and quaint hotel right on the beach in Tamarindo. Great alternative to the expansive and sterile Hotel Diria. Staff is extremely friendly, and the restaurant has some of the best food in town. Views of the sunset and sunrise are unparalleled.

    If you're looking for a place right on the beach, this is your spot.

    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sameer B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 November 2012

    Unfortunately I booked this hotel based on the reviews on the site and was very disappointed.

    Pros:
    - great location, right on the beach - the only reason to ever go to this 'hotel'

    Cons:
    - DIRTY - the room was dirty; the kitchen bathroom were not cleaned, still had marks all over; cutlery had marks on it as well; we didn't use the kitchen at all as everything was dirty, I didn't want to use the dirty sink; fortunately the bed and towels were clean; the remote for the A/C was so dirty you wouldn't want to touch it.
    - poor service - when we arrived there was a man at reception who just handed us the room; I had to ask about breakfast time and was told it started at 7am; at 7.30am we were told by the ladies that it only starts at 8am. The staff changes throughout the day and they don't seem to communicate. The men who are there in the evening seem to only take care of the restaurant; when we asked anything they just shrugged their shoulders. Everyone else we have encountered in Costa Rica was helpful and knowledgeable.
    - noisy - there is a bar next door and the music was playing loudly late into the night

    Room Tip: If you do go, ask for the room that is not close to the kitchen (noisy in the morning when they start preparing breakfast) or the bar next door.
    • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank dublinia19
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 October 2012

    Spacious room, opens right up to ocean, palm trees, hammock...AMAZING! Very comfortable loft bed, cold AC, tons of storage space, even our own broom to sweep our sandy feet messes! Towels were a little tattered and the bar next door thumps and pulses til 2am, so if you plan on sleeping early, don't! Join them next door! Of course, after you hit up the on-site bar/restaurant for excellent food and 2 for 1 drinks! Amazing service and private, secure parking. Even during a tropical storm, well worth the trip!

    Room Tip: I don't know if there are any rooms that AREN'T ocean front, so enjoy! Our room was right next door to the kitchen, so even though the view to die for (we were closest to the beach) we could hear the dishes being clanked for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank trulytracie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 September 2012

    I stay at la palapa 5 nights with my family. These hotel is just a dream for a family with little kids just off the beach. You can enjoy eating quietly while the kids are playing on the beach. Bungalows are rustic but very clean and comfortable. Staff are really friendly and the food is good.

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Caroline L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews