We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Pura Vida Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hostel
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights, and it was a great experience all the way through.
Very nice hang out areas, great and cosy kitchens, with all the equipment you could need, helpfull staf, very clean and safe. There's a good vibe there, and it's just a nice place to hang out. It's located a bit from the center, but to min. walk and you are there. So it's actually just to get a little bit away from all the partyplaces on the main street. Thumbs up from Denmark.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinehedensted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    67
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
58
153
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hostel itself is fine; two cats and hammocks under trees with monkeys. In terms of the staff, however, we had a different experience.

After spending the night there, we went on a morning spear fishing tour, as set up by one of the hostel's employees. We checked out early and left our backpacks at Pura Vida, because one of our group was staying another night, while the rest of us were going to another hostel closer to downtown. The fishing was great, but when we returned from the tour, things were strangely tense and the owner Miriam would not let us use the toilet or enter a bathroom. Later, the employee who organized the tour told me that she had said some hurtful things about my sexuality. That was disappointing and we all cleared out of there as soon as we could. I would not recommend staying there, based on my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coebuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka5555, Owner at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear backpackers, first of all we are super appreciative and thrilled that you really enjoyed the hostel and its facilities. In your comment you mentioned it was super clean, with hammocks and monkeys in the trees. You also mentioned the staff was very helpful in organizing your spear fishing trip on which you had a blast! As you wrote your stay with us was only for ONE night, therefore after your check out (which is at 11AM for all guests that are checking out) we gratefully stored all your bags and personal items until you returned from the fishing trip. Since you stayed with us only 1 night, I “Miriam” as an owner, I have politely told you that you will not be able to re-enter the cleaned room to shower or use the toilets as the room as been already cleaned and prepared for the next backpackers. I believe every hotel and hostel in the world has the same procedure once the guests check out, and the hotel/hostel cleans the rooms for the next guests they will not allow customers that checked out to re-enter the clean room, unless you pay another night.

I am not sure what other information you may have been sensitive to as our staff is highly professional as we have a business to run and take care of our happy clients. We love our Pura Vida peaceful environment and we honestly do not have a time for gossiping drama and drama of “she said/he said”. We love what we do and we always go above and beyond customer satisfaction which shows in our excellent reviews. I am sorry our hostel was not the right fit for your needs and I hope that this is a good lesson of your expectations of hotels/hostels stays that once you “check out” you may not re-enter a clean room as its been prepared for the future guests.

I also see that from all your travels this is the ONLY review you have ever written and for the future I would highly recommend when writing a review to provide honest facts and constructive feedback where the traveling community can benefit from your review and the property can make improvements. Unfortunately your feedback looks very suspicious and any smart and savvy traveler will recognize that your feedback is a malicious act to hurt the property ratings and good name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Liked the hostel and stayed there 3 different weekends each time had a different private room with bathroom. All rooms were a little different but same price. Overall found them all clean and comfy. The one closest to the common area and kitchen at the back (4 or 5 not sure) is the best because you will get wifi in your room the others you will need to go to the common area. The workers are extremely friendly and helpful. Short walk to the beach and main street! Price is good compared to most places!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlishaEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in a private room, it was very large with a private bathroom and shower. Staff were very friendly and accommodating! It is a short walk to the beach and the common area is really nice and clean, complete with two cute cats. We had a treat the first night when we were awoken by a howler monkey! I love that they really enforce quiet time rules, it was a very peaceful place to stay. The only downside was our room was a little bit dirty (some bugs, and grime) and my boyfriend felt it was overpriced. But overall, it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpp1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

while i was travelling in costa rica i stayed 5 weeks in pura vida hostel.
its my favorite hostel in town. staff & people are so friendly and you feel very welcome -
its clean, 2 min walking from the supermarket, 5 min walking from the beach and the staff helps you all the time. sleeping in a dorm is the best opportunity making new friends c: and because of the night security you feel very safe! if you go to tamarindo go to PURA VIDA!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

People look no further if you need a clean,safe,fun,awesome place to stay!!!!! Guys I m telling you look no further than this place!!!!!! You will be checked in by either Miriam who is a source of information on what to do around Tamarindo!!! Then there is Laura!!! Laura!!!! Laura!!! Very helpful,fun to be around and just an awesome person!!!! Guys if you go stay at any other Hostel you are CRAZY!!!!! The VIBE at Pura Vida is Awesome!!!! I can't Waite to get back to this place!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPHILLIPS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here during our few days in Tamarindo and someone picked the front lock to the hostel compound and then the lock to our room and stole several things from the room, including from right under pillows.

Furthermore, the owner was quite unpleasant and unfriendly.

The only highlight were the two employees who were nice and helpful.

Also, there is n

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirka5555, Owner at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Customer, according to your review you stayed with us in May of 1013, and we do not have any reported robbery that occurred in May of 2013. Just to set the facts straight you are more than welcomed to double check and re-verify the facts with the local police. Our property is one of the most secured properties in Tamarindo. We provide safes for the private rooms and we have lockers for the dorm rooms. We have barb wire around the property for extra security and we also have a state of the art security cameras which records all occurrences 24/7. We have a night guard who patrols the security cameras after our quiet time. Because of our bullet proof security we feel very confident our security is among the top that can be provided in Tamarindo. We apologize our great hostel was not the right fit for you in case you did not enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#15 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Botella de Leche Hostel
La Botella de Leche Hostel
#1 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
#10 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#3 of 81 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hostel

Property: Pura Vida Hostel
Address: Avenida Central | 100m East From Banco National, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pura Vida Hostel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica has been providing guests with memorable travel experiences since 2006. We are a friendly, inexpensive hostel that welcomes backpackers and vacationers from all over the world. We welcome the opportunity to host your stay in Tamarindo. Our multi-lingual staff is happy to provide recommendations on restaurants, bars, attractions, getting to your next destination and, of course, surfing. Trips, tours and transportation can be booked at our reception. You can cook and dine al fresco in our 2 spotless, fully-equipped, outdoor communal kitchens. We have dorm beds with ensuite bathrooms and showers and private rooms with air conditioning in multiple configurations to accommodate your travel party. Bed linens are provided. Our "rancho" is the social heart of the hostel with rocking chairs, daybeds, and hammocks for you to enjoy while visiting with other guests and overlooking the lovely tropical garden which enjoys frequent visits from iguanas and howler monkeys. The chill-out atmosphere is enhanced by a great sound system and playlist, good vibes, the fastest wi-fi available in Costa Rica and interesting people from all over the world. We are located a couple hundred meters from the beach, across from Banco National and Hertz Rental Car and next door to Dona Lee's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pura Vida Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Guesthouse And Hostel
Pura Vida Guesthouse Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing