We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida mai.”
Review of Pura Vida Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hostel
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pura Vida mai.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Pura Vida Hostel Tamarindo was definitely the best hostel we have ever stayed in. The staff are really friendly and helpful in every way. They really make you feel at home, good advice and will help with anything. The hostel has everything you need and more. Great place to meet other travelers and have a good time. Only 5 minute walk from the beach and all the bars and restaurants. We all had an awesome night out on the Friday everyone from the hostel went to crazy monkey.
If you're going to be staying in Tamarindo, make sure its at THE PURA VIDA HOSTEL. Good prices, great vibe, hammocks and rocking chairs, awesome people!!
We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicatas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    67
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
58
156
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

This place sucked. Honestly, every wall, post and surface had a sign scolding you about something in big red capital letters, such as "DON'T FLUSH TOILET PAPER OR YOU WILL BE CLEANING UP THE MESS" was a personal favourite of mine. I honestly felt like my mom was yelling at me before I even did anything wrong. I mean, a simple "please" and "thank you" goes a long way in this industry; every hostel I've been to in Costa Rica has had signage that myself and my friends abided by, we don't need to be screamed at via bold, red capital letter text at every turn.

Aside from that, the wifi reception SUCKED in the main hang out spot which doesn't make any sense.. all of the staff knew it was bad too, why has no one moved the router or fixed the problem?

I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Pura Vida is a travelers hostel. The hostel is full of students and young professionals that are traveling on a budget and looking to have a good time. The rooms are extremely clean, have air conditioning, but no hot water. The water is not a problem because of the heat. Quiet couples who are looking for solitude should probably look at another near by beach such as playa grande. The staff is what makes the hostel so wonderful. The hostlier, Miriam, is a Costa Rican wiz. She and her staff, Marcella and Tyler, will schedule hostels, tours, travel, and reservations for free. I totally recommend these guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A friend and I had planned on staying in a different hostel when we arrived in Tamarindo, but are so happy we ended up staying at Pura Vida. It's a very clean hostel, with two great kitchens and a nice hang out area with hammocks and rocking chairs where you can hear and see the monkeys playing. We stayed in an 8 person mixed dorm which was very clean, with comfortable beds. There was a bathroom and shower in the room. The shower wasn't hot, but that is not all that uncommon in many of the hostels we stayed in. It's gated so we always felt very safe. We met some great people at our hostel and although it wasn't in middle of Tamarindo, it was always a very short, enjoyable walk, with good restaurants along the way. The staff was very helpful and friendly (I had left a pair of shoes there and Miriam was so helpful and happy to work out a way to get them back to me). If you have the opportunity to stay here, please don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What an incredible stay in Tamarindo. We originally only had two nights booked and ended up staying 3 more nights. The hostel was very well kept, clean, beds were comfortable, spacious rooms, two kitchens, very safe feeling, awesome kitty cats that lived there, great monkey watching, and we met incredible people. Miriam the owner, was the one who greeted us upon arrival and was such a sweetheart. Kindly explained everything to us and made sure we had everything we needed. Marcella was one of the beautiful ladies that worked there and let me tell you, she was absolutely incredible. The owner was away for the weekend and she worked alone the whole weekend and busted her butt. We had an incredible time at this hostel and wouldn't have stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were not so impressed with our stay at Pura Vida. I think we came in with a different expectation which may have been our mistake. For the price though, it is a decent stay. There is somewhat of a social vibe. The room is big and there is air conditioning, but it did not feel so clean to us. The shower was very bad, with no hot water and pretty dirty. It is about a 7-10 minute walk to the beach and the main area of town. Pura Vida is located all the way at the end of the road so it is a little uncomfortable after dark. Staff was friendly but new so not so knowledgeable about the area. We decided to switch locations after our first night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I'm a 28 year old female who travelled Costa Rica by myself and I absolutely loved staying here. It was clean, safe and the people who run the place are brilliant (Thanks Marcella and Miriam)

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone. If your looking for a super comfy chilled out place to hang out and meet some great people, Pura Vida is for you. It certainly lives up to its name.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.2 mi away
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
Pura Vida MINI Hostel
#10 of 74 in Tamarindo
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Tamarindo Hostel Resort
#6 of 74 in Tamarindo
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Botella de Leche Hostel
La Botella de Leche Hostel
#1 of 74 in Tamarindo
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#3 of 74 in Tamarindo
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hostel

Property: Pura Vida Hostel
Address: Avenida Central | 100m East From Banco National, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pura Vida Hostel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica has been providing guests with memorable travel experiences since 2006. We are a friendly, inexpensive hostel that welcomes backpackers and vacationers from all over the world. We welcome the opportunity to host your stay in Tamarindo. Our multi-lingual staff is happy to provide recommendations on restaurants, bars, attractions, getting to your next destination and, of course, surfing. Trips, tours and transportation can be booked at our reception. You can cook and dine al fresco in our 2 spotless, fully-equipped, outdoor communal kitchens. We have dorm beds with ensuite bathrooms and showers and private rooms with air conditioning in multiple configurations to accommodate your travel party. Bed linens are provided. Our "rancho" is the social heart of the hostel with rocking chairs, daybeds, and hammocks for you to enjoy while visiting with other guests and overlooking the lovely tropical garden which enjoys frequent visits from iguanas and howler monkeys. The chill-out atmosphere is enhanced by a great sound system and playlist, good vibes, the fastest wi-fi available in Costa Rica and interesting people from all over the world. We are located a couple hundred meters from the beach, across from Banco National and Hertz Rental Car and next door to Dona Lee's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pura Vida Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Guesthouse And Hostel
Pura Vida Guesthouse Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing