We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harry is the MAN!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's, El Escondite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harry's, El Escondite
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Harry is the MAN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I cant begin to tell you how happy I am to have booked with harry. His place is super cool, and very private. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are very nice and have all the amenities that you might need. Full kitchen with all the utensils, free AWESOME coffee, google tv (which I didnt think I would use but we were tired pretty early and watched movies every night, I think I have seen every surf film made since '65.), as well as wifi. Out the back door is your nice little porch area, equipped with a seating area as well as a nice hammock. The shared pool is very refreshing on a hot day (they're all hot) and I grilled burgers up on the top deck a couple of times, so that too was nice. Didnt get a chance to use the bikes, but took full advantage of the surfboards, of which he has all shapes and sizes for beginner to advanced in any condition of surf. If you plan on surfing, and you should, this is a GREAT thing. To rent an inferior board on the beach will cost you 30 bucks each time, so this is a huge added value. Add to all this the fact that Harry is just an all around cool dude, and the VERY reasonable prices that he charges, even in the busy season, and I dont know why you would stay anywhere else. Also, Harry has a dog named dont, as you may or may not have read in other reviews. Dont is shy, but if he likes you, you will see a lot of him. We missed out dogs back home so this was just another cool little part of staying there.

NOW TO THE PART THAT SHOWS HOW AWESOME HARRY REALLY IS...

We had left the cabina, and were almost to san jose when my wife realized that she had left her ring at harrys. I called him, he immediately found it and took it to safe keeping. When I got back to the states I emailed him and we set up arrangements for him to send it back to us. I really cant express in words how awesome this is, my wife would have been devastated if she had lost her ring, and in this day in age a lot of people would have said that "they didn't find it." Harry has restored a bit of my lost faith in humanity with his honesty, and I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
83
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our first time in Tamarindo and in Costa Rica and Harry's place and Harry made things super easy with good information, good internet for working and a quiet place just slightly above the town. The walks or bikes to the surf were nice and the cabina and pool were well set up to give privacy as well as the opportunity to hang out and be social with other guests. The upstairs area was fantastic for morning yoga and for bbq-ing the delicious local fare. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaker878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was our second stay with Harry and we were again super happy with the accommodations. We stayed in the Blue Cabina, which is roomy, clean and had everything we needed, including a full kitchen and cooking utensils. We had inquired about a blender, and Harry made sure there was one in the room when we arrived. Each room has its own private veranda or you can mingle with other guests around the wonderful pool and deck. We especially liked being able to use the surfboards and bikes. It's also super convenient to have Internet access in the room. Some people might like staying closer to the beach, but I think it's nice to be able to leave the commotion of the town behind and enjoy the serenity at Harry's. He has created a tropical, stress free paradise that instantly puts you at ease. The 10-minute walk to the shore wasn't a bother to us, even carrying longboards. Harry's quickly feels like home and it was sooooooo hard to leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Harry & his dog Don’t welcomed us with big smiles & barks when we arrived. He showed us around the property and gave us the low down on our cabaña. We had a chance to settle in a bit, and then it was off to happy hour at Nogui's! He is so knowledgeable about the area, and pretty much anything else too. He booked a private surfing lesson for me and another couple (Hi Nick & Kris) and it was great. My boyfriend got a lot of use out of the selection of surf boards.

Harry is the best host, going out of his way to help you. He recommended good places to eat in town, and suggested the perfect catamaran snorkel tour (the Marlin del Ray).

We stayed in the Green cabaña and it was just the right amount of space for 2 people. Air conditioner was a bonus. Loved having the private little patio to lounge on the hammock. We enjoyed floating on the pool with a cold beverage in the afternoon (thanks for the beer cozy Harry!) It was such a refreshing temperature. Perfect for cooling down after walking/biking back from town.

We had a few big bbq feasts using the upstairs common area with the other guests staying there as well. Fresh Tuna, Mahi Mahi, & jumbo Shrimp… So tasty! Lots of room for prep, and having a sink up there was helpful. It was the best place to hang to watch stars come out at night, or the lightening during a thunderstorm.

Staying there is so much more than just a place to sleep & store your stuff. It’s a social environment where you meet other awesome people from around the world and get to hang in paradise. You can go on adventures during the day, and come back to what quickly became ‘home’ at night. If you want to relax, there are so many areas to kick up your feet and zone out. Having the bikes there made getting around so easy!

We spent one week at Harry’s, and the 2nd week in Langosta. We ended up coming back to Harry’s at least once every couple days to hang out with Harry & the friends we made (Hi Chris & Kim!), jump in the pool, make dinner or head down to happy hour.

There is a reason there are no bad reviews on here. It’s because Harry has created the perfect environment for the ultimate vacation. He goes above & beyond and it shows as soon as you arrive.

Miss you Harry!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We could not have had a better time on our trip and it's all thanks to Harry. His place in Tamarindo is perfect! The pool is just the right size for an afternoon float. The second floor deck was a great place to enjoy our morning coffee and watch the wildlife (monkeys are way too much fun)! But even better than his amazing location is his knowledge of the area. He showed us all of the great places to go and none disappointed. We can't wait to go back. Thanks Harry! Pura Vida.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Loved staying at Harry's place. It's clean, has good A/C, nice pool, plenty of free surf boards for all abilities, free bikes, tv, wifi, Internet, kitchenette the list goes on. My buddy and I went to Tamarindo solely to surf and his boards worked great for us. The only reason I gave 4 out of 5 instead of 5 out of 5 was because its a brisk 10 minute walk to the beach, would have loved if he was a touch closer (that's just my preference). We surfed twice a day for 6 days so the walk (carrying boards) became an issue towards the end.On the flip side it's nice and quiet there, Harry gives great info about the area and is genuinely a great guy. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank awboardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

First, Harry is a great host. He has been here for a long time and it pays off through his recommendations. If you wan to know where to get the best quality and good value-for-money restaurants, surfing lessons, fresh seafood, taxis, etc, he will do that and more.

Second, the place itself is perfect. There are lights that automatically turn on when you come home. You have your own safe. You don't need to worry about keys because the doors use push-code buttons. The bed in the blue room is large and comfortable. There are plenty of windows. The shower works great and definitely had hot water and is pretty spacious.

Moving onto the other amenities, there's a laundry - perfect. You can cook - you have everything you need, even a blender for making your own margaritas.

You're also very close to town.

It was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MashaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's, El Escondite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's, El Escondite

Property: Harry's, El Escondite
Address: Cabinas Escondite, Tamarindo 2000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of surf boards and bikes. Surf lessons and guide available. A secluded 4-plex of studio-apartment style cabinas; favorite 'hideout' for both returning surfers and first timers. Accommodations for individuals up to a party of 10 in 4 cabinas. Each cabina can sleep up to 3 people and has a kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning and cable TV. El Escondite also has laundry facilities, phones and internet access. A pool, BBQ and hammocks round out a perfect place to hangout after surfing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing