We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Vacation at an Amazing Home!”
other traveller has booked this property
Beautiful Tropical Mansion Close to the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Tropical Mansion Close to the Beach
Large entrance with parking area Welcome to Villa Tranquila
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Beautiful Tropical Mansion Close to the Beach
Large entrance with parking area
Welcome to Villa Tranquila
All suites are completely private and have their own bath
Enjoy quiet moments overlooking the pool and garden
Private en-suite sitting area
Guest rooms include private balconies
Ground floor kitchen with bar seating
Comfy second-floor lounge area
Indoor and outdoor areas combine as the breeze wanders through
Second floor bar and mini-kitchen
Sitting area in bedroom suite
Immaculate baths
Two over-sized refrigerators serve a full house
Colorful dining area at Villa Tranquila
Gust room for up to 4
Elegant sitting area
Modern splashes of color in a classic beach house
Every morning is a good morning at Villa Tranquila
The picture of a peaceful vacation get-away
Sunset through the Royal Palms at Villa Tranquila
Large pool with lounge chairs for large groups
Guest bath
Beautiful tropical wood details
Villa Tranquila's generous spaces
Glass-enclosed shower
This stairway communicates the home's two levels
Delightfully inviting common areas
Touches of turquoise call to mind the ocean
Enjoy a shady view of the garden and pool
Luxury suite at Villa Tranquila
Luxury suite for 4
Classic bath with detail updates
Spacious bath with wooden cabinets and doors
The view through first floor kitchen and dining area
Enjoy group meals in this dining room
Additional view of luxury suite
Additional view of bedroom suite
Outdoor leisure area at Villa Tranquila
Enjoy indoor and outdoor relaxation
A dream vacation is waiting for you at Villa Tranquila
Villa Tranquila as approached from the street
Villa Tranquila is an amazing venue for all types of events
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scottfrom...
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
“Amazing Vacation at an Amazing Home!”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the moment we arrived at Villa Tranquila everything exceeded our expectations. I was nervous as I had made all the travel plans for our three families to stay for a week but I was the hero all week long for finding this amazing home. There were 17 of us and there was plenty of space for us all with beds to spare. The home itself was beautiful, spacious and clean. It had all the modern amenities including wifi, satellite TV with Netflix, 3 large refrigerators, etc. and double filtered water that didn't cause any problems for us American travelers. The daily maid service with Mariela was a bonus that you don't find in most vacation rentals and she was great. The grounds and pool were very well maintained and made us feel like we were at our own private resort. Everyone loved seeing iguanas roaming around the driveway and monkeys in the trees across the street in the evenings. We felt close enough to everything that it was no big deal to get around, but the privacy and seclusion of this location definitely lives up to its name of Villa Tranquila. We rented golf carts for the week and the kids loved the freedom of heading to the private beach or exploring the golf course grounds whenever they wanted. When they say private beach, that is no exaggeration. I don't know if this is always the case, but we had the beach to ourselves for as far as we could see every time we went throughout the week. And the beach was beautiful with tropical trees lining the soft sand, great waves for the kids to play in and very comfortable water temperature.
The property manager Eugene and his wife Sary went above and beyond to make every aspect of our stay worry free and they helped create the best memories possible. Every recommendation they made was spot on. Eugene has many contacts and could make suggestions and arrange deals for any adventure or activity we came up with. It was like visiting friends and having them hook us up with the places the locals know best. We loved the afternoon Catamaran cruise, and the full day volcano adventure at Buena Vista and other adventures. I would recommend not planning too much though as it would be a shame to leave this paradise every day and not fully enjoy all the property has to offer.

We would definitely recommend this home to anyone and hope to be able to return here someday ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is awesome and Eugene the property manager went above and beyond to make the experience amazing.
Liked least: The weather was a bit humid for us coming from a
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments Scott! Eugene and his wife Sary really do a great job at keeping the house looking perfect and taking care of guests! We're very happy to know you had such an amazing experience and would love to help you plan for your next great stay! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay Once Again at Villa Tranquila”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Second stay at Villa Tranquila
We just returned for our second week at Villa Tranquila. We enjoyed another fantastic week. The villa is such a special place for a family vacation. It is so large, clean and has everything you could want during your stay, from the large pool to the fast internet and smart TVs to watch Netflix in your suites. One of the children said this house has everything and he is right. There is so much to do in the area that you couldn’t do and see it all in a month or more. The beach is just 4 minutes away. There is so many different activities in the area. We were able to ride horses, go 4 wheeling, zip lining, snorkeling, tubing and rent a catamaran for a wonderful half day cruise. The mountains are about a one hours drive away with all they have to offer. The people are all so friendly and accommodating. The staff at the villa are the best and want to see you have the most fantastic stay you could have in Costa Rica. We have stayed at other villas in several countries and I can tell you Villa Tranquila is the best villa we have stayed in. I give it the highest recommendation I can give. If you want an unbelievable fantastic vacation stay at Villa Tranquila and enjoy all Costa Rica has to offer. With all the new airlines flying into Liberia the airfare prices are dropping at a rapid rate. This makes travel to and from Costa Rica very affordable. I can’t wait to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you Michael! Eugene the house manager really takes great care of the house and the guests, always makes sure there's everything you could possibly need! :-) True there are so many things you can do here, there's something for everyone! We're very happy to know that once again you had a wonderful experience and would love to help you plan for that third time around! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shatul P
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

All I can say is don't think twice and book it. This home and staff are absolutely phenomenal. Some of the highlights:

Eugene - He is the house manager and may the stay perfect. From baking us brownies, to showing up at 5am when our airport shuttle didn't show, he is an absolute gentleman. It was though he did everything out of the kindness of his heart and not for business or financial reasons. He is a true gem and made our 8 night stay with 16 people perfect.

House - Very large, clean with great amenities. Pool was perfect

Martiella - she is the staff cleaning/cooking person. A wonderful person, kind and caring and responsive to every wish that we had.

Beach Club - Very convenient, great infinity pool and tremendous surfing and boogie boarding at the beach.

We have travelled all over the world and this home, ranks at the top of the list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you Shatul! We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Villa Tranquila! Eugene really does go out of his way to accommodate his guests, he's great! and his staff as well! It's just a perfect home all around, hope you guys make your way back sometime! :-) Thank you again for staying with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W
1 review
“An Amazing Experience - Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I've stayed at many places in Costa Rica but this was hands down my best overall experience. Villa Tranquila does all of the pictures justice and then some. It really is as impressive, luxurious, and stately as it looks in the listings. Something I wasn't aware of heading into our stay that was a huge plus: all of the 8 suites are completely private with their own hotel-style key card. It's like having your own personal mansion combined with the individual privacy of a hotel. I've never been anywhere else like it and it made the whole experience extremely enjoyable.

Another big reason why my group's trip was such a success came down to Villa Tranquila's manager: Eugene. I can't say enough good things about his attention to detail and desire to make everything perfect for us. This was a huge relief for me because I was hosting a high end tennis clinic for a small group of students and you never really know what level of service you're going to get at a private place like this. Eugene put me at ease immediately, I could tell that he desired nothing more than for my week to be as successful as possible, and he frequently took action to show me he was serious about that. Letting us check in early, helping us book extra nights at the end of our trip, arranging for transportation when our original provider fell through, and many other small things as well. It felt like Eugene was on our team and wanted my guests to be just as happy as I did which was greatly appreciated.

Lastly, everything was clean, well maintained, and very well taken care of. Daily housekeeping and cleaning service made a huge difference, as did daily cleaning of the pool. This combined with a private beach minutes away, Tamarindo minutes away, and the Beach Club minutes away make Villla Tranquila an incredible spot.

In short, our entire experience was top notch and I look forward to booking this property again. I can't recommend it highly enough, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property manager was extremely helpful and made everything a great success for us.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you Ian!! Villa Tranquila used to be a bed & breakfast and that's why its so perfect for large groups, everyone has a complete private suite with everything they could possibly need! :-) Not to mention the great attention from Eugene, his wife and the whole staff! Thank you again for staying with us, hope you make it back sometime! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wade Y
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“A Week We Will Never Forget”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We spent a week at Villa Tranquila and it was outstanding. The facility was impeccably clean and well maintained in every way. The villa was centrally located to everything inside Hacienda Pinilla. You could walk to the golf club house and tennis courts in less than 3 minutes and the private beach and beach club were just a short drive away. The suites are very large and well designed with everything you need when you want your private space. They each have a safe, mini fridge, 40” smart TV, coffee makers, comfortable king or queen beds, hide-a-bed couches, their own sitting room, patio and central air conditioning so you have total control of your environment. The bathrooms are very large with insta-hot water heaters giving you all the hot water you desire when you want it. The maid service was excellent. Not only was the space very clean when we arrived but it was kept that way the entire week. The central living areas were very large, clean and stocked with everything you need during your stay. The grounds and pool are very well maintained. Fast internet, Wifi was available everywhere inside the house and even out by the pool when you were sitting in the lounge chairs. The two music systems give us all the music both inside and outside the house that we could ever want. The country of Costa Rica is unbelievable with such friendly people and so much to do that you couldn’t see and do it all in a month let alone a week. The group had a blast with the various tours and events available to us. We even attended a local celebration with bull riding and excellent food. We could not have picked a better place for our vacation. Both everything about the villa and the country it is located in represents the best of the best. I highly recommend Villa Tranquila as the place in paradise that will provide you with the most fantastic vacation that you will never forget. We did not want to leave at the end of the week but duty called us back to the states. We will definitely return to Costa Rica and Villa Tranquila in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you Wade! Sounds like you had an amazing time in Villa Tranquila and really got to enjoy what this area offers! :-) We'd love to help you plan for another great stay when you're ready to come back down to CR! Thank you again for staying with us!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carin J
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Home away from home -- only in paradise!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Incredible stay! I highly recommend Villa Tranquila to anyone visiting Tamarindo, Costa Rica. We had a large group, but were not crowded at all. Spacious and well-appointed home was the perfect warm weather getaway for us. Eugene was very accommodating and helpful on a daily basis. Great location, great pool, great rooms -- everything about it was great!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you Carin! We're happy to know you had a great experience! Hope you plan on coming back! ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mei H
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular stay”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

To begin with, this Villa itself is amazing. Since we first saw it, my (now) husband and I thought this would be a great place to have our wedding reception. Plus, since we had an entourage of foreign friends, they could stay with us a few days before so we could spend time with them. And what a week! We had been planning our wedding reception a few months before, and Eugene, the property manager, was so helpful and always suggesting ideas for us. He even let us visit the villa a couple of times before to check out the property and take some measurements for the wedding reception details. Finally the week arrived, when we got there everything was impecable, from the kitchens to the bathrooms. The rooms were all set for the guests, and it was just time to chill before the big day. The property is so PRIVATE that there are no near neighbors around, so on Friday we had a BBQ (Yes, the Villa is equipped with a huge griller) with our closest family and friends with great music (there's a Bluetooth audio equipment too). For our wedding day, all the providers were setting things up since very early, which i cannot stop thanking the manager and his wife for taking their time to supervise and make sure we had everything we needed. And the final setup turned out to be magical. The guests came, and were amazed by the size of the Villa and how beautiful it was. At night, as a just married couple, we walked down the stairs and everybody were gathered around the pool. There was a group playing, we had an awesome reception, and everything turned out to be perfect. We recommend this Villa for big families or groups of friends that would like to gather up for a holiday. Although the rooms are in separate wings (which gives them more privacy), the social areas are great to hang around and enjoy a great time in an amazing destination Hacienda Pinilla is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The value for the price we paid. And the costumer service from the property manager.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you Mei! Villa Tranquila is absolutely perfect as a wedding venue, being so big and spacious and with that wonderful patio/pool area! It's great to know everything went perfect with your wedding! Thank you again for staying with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing