We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Casa Sueca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Sueca
Ranked #19 of 47 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We had high expectations upon checking into Casa Sueca, largely formed by opinions shared here on TA.
When we got there we were greeted by a young hostess who did not have our reservation, asking us if we wanted a room. We had made a reservation including a healthy deposit. The hostess made me log into her computer to prove this, including the deposit amount as she appeared not to believe me.(Gosh thanks for making us feel special and for the great customer service).Once we arrived in our room we were unpleasantly surprised to find no plumbing (no running water, and no toliet functioning). We went down and spoke with the same hostess who informed us that she knew this (may be nice information to share with guests when they check in!) and it would hopefully be up and running the next day. Later the next day water was restored, however there was never a return of hot water-just nice cold water to shower in, shave in, etc. The host staff were pretty much non existent throughout the rest of the week, guests were left to fend for themselves,despite many reminders about the water situation. The upside is that the ocean and pool were much warmer than the shower-so one could improvise!

Overall Tamarindo is beautiful, we will return for sure. There were many highlights including great company (there for wedding) fantastic sunsets, however Casa Sueca was an overall letdown. When we return WE WILL not stay at Sueca-and I strongly urge anyone traveling there to look at several other options in the area, as Sueca doesn't seem interested in customer service, hospitality or guest interaction.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingswhotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We loved the Casa Sueca! We stayed there in December 2010 for 8 nights.
The gardens and pool area are lovely. We stayed in a Studio Apartment with 1 bed and a futon fold out bed, both were very comfortable and the linens were nice. We had a nice little patio outside our apartment that looked out onto the pool. The whole apartment was spotless and very comfortable. A large TV with cable and lots of English channels in the room. The shower had lots of hot water, although sometimes we got flashes of cold water. We had a couple of problems when we arrived, like the refrigerator wouldn't close, but the manger took care of all of them right away. We used air conditioning at night only, which worked very well. The kitchen was small, but perfect for our needs and was outfitted with everything we needed. Taxis charge $4 to go to town. It is about a 10-15 minute walk along the beach to town. The beach was a 2 minute walk away down a sandy path. Loved having a kitchen in Tamarindo since the prices for restaurants are very expensive compared to other parts of Costa Rica.

We mostly always had access to internet, mostly using neighbors' networks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We just left Casa Sueca today. We had high hopes on arrival, after reading previous reviews. Those high hopes were totally shredded.

The grounds of the site are beautiful. It is tucked amongst tropical vegetation, and the rooms are well separated for privacy. Also good is its distance from the main road, providing some quiet. To get to the beach is an easy quick walk of a few yards. The rooms are basic, the furniture is comfortable, the beds are hard and the pool is decent.

What caused us to scratch Casa Sueca off our list of places to return is the lack of service amenities. While WiFi is advertised, it was not available. Five people, three with excellent computer networking skills, and 8 different devices could not access the internet. When we discussed the problem with the hostess, we were simply shrugged off. One of our party depended on internet access to communicate with family back home. Also there seemed often to be issues of getting repairs (broken plumbing and cabinetry) accomplished in a timely fashion. While there was a coffee maker, there was no complimentary coffee. Boogie boards are available, if this is the only treat a guest desires.

The amenity most lacking was communication. There are no phones in the rooms, although there is television. Without telephone, the host cannot be reached. Neither is there a way to physically knock on a host's door if there is a problem. Guests are simply on their own. We surmised that the management and staff must have changed since the reviews from a few months ago. Unfortunately it was not a change for the better.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarchasmHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This place is off the beaten path, which in Tamarindo, is a good thing. I stayed at Casa Sueca with my wife for a week, and we had a great time. I really didn't want to leave. All I can say is to trust Barbara (the manager) and she'll point you in the right direction for things to do and see as well as the best places to eat in town. The location is perhaps 200 meters from the beach (across the street down a path), and there is a small but extremely well kept pool. All the rooms have kitchens and fridges, and there is free wifi which works most of the time.
I highly recommend Casa Sueca, especially if you are with a large group - there is a larger apartment and they will let you barbecue down at the pool - this is truly a place where I felt the spirit of mi casa e su casa..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed at Casa Sueca with our two teenage daughters for Spring Break 2010. We had the large El Coco apartment and it was beautiful with more than enough space (including a large full kitchen and bathroom) for our family. In addition, there was a large balcony with lush green surroundings with flowers and birds. The on-site manager, Tanja made our trip. She helped us with everything from arranging transportation, finding grocery stores and restaurants, to sharing the local culture of Costa Rica. Our whole family adored the hard working Eduardo who was always smiling and eager to assist. Casa Sueca is a quiet, green respite off the beaten path from dusty Tamarindo, but close enough to go to town whenever you want. The beach is just across the street through a neat little path, and the pool was fanastic!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Costa Rica and Casa Sueca were more than I could have imagined. There were seven of us (including BamBam who also wrote a review) staying in the two upstairs apartments plus one downstairs studio for 10 nights. There was so much space for all of us both inside and out, and the kitchen had everything you needed to prepare meals. The saltwater pool and whirlpool were great - we pretty much lived in them. The pictures on their website do not show how beautiful this place really is…
Our Hostess - Tanja was the best and not only did we appreciate her assistance with information as well as booking tours, restaurants and taxi's, but we also made wonderful new friends!! We were there for a wedding and Tanja and the staff created a wonderful area on the beach to exchange vows. She also brought someone onsite to do our bride’s hair and makeup.
Tours - we went ziplining with Pura Adventura - which was amazing - and the staff were not only a lot of fun, but I also felt very safe swinging high in the jungle. I highly recommend this place! We also did a river tour in the estuary and saw a few crocs, lots of different birds, and hiked a little to see howler monkeys. Our third tour was on the Marlin Del Ray, a catamaran tour with snorkling - lots of drinks and fun was had by all!!
The Town - was a 10 minute walk from Casa Sueca by beach (bring a flashlight for night walking) and 15 minutes by road. Tamarindo is small enough that there wasn't any need for transportation, but large enough to have lots of shops, banks (although some bank cards didn't work in some of the ATM's), and grocery stores - anything you would need. The roads are dirt, so there is a lot of dust, and taxi's are readily available.
The Beach – was amazing and less than a minute walk across the street!! Never crowded, and so long and wide when the tide was out, with beautiful shells (but customs won’t let you take them home). Our group had fun using boogie boards, but did not try surfing.
Restaurants - although we made most of our meals at Casa Sueca, we did eat at “Suchi” (all you can eat Sushi plus Miso Soup and Edamame for $20), and two higher end restaurants – “El Coconut” and “Seasons” – around $40 for appetizer, entrée and a couple of cocktails. We enjoyed all of them!!! For breakfast and lunch we did frequent El Pescador, which had great prices, drinks and food, but service could sometimes be very slow.
Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda-Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

For those looking for a great place to stay in Tamarindo, this is it. The room was large, clean and very comfortable equipped with a kitcenette great for lazy mornings. The pool was large and simply beautiful with the plush and numerous trees and bushes providing a wonderful backdrop. You are a quarter a block (literally 1 minute walk) from a beautful beach this is simply heavenly. We can't wait to get back to Tamarindo and stay at Casa Sueca. Highly recommended!!!!.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
Ocho Artisan Bungalows
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 22 in Tamarindo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Sueca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Sueca

Property: Hotel Casa Sueca
Address: Meters Southwest of Hotel Capitan Suizo 50, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Sueca is a unique Eco-Friendly boutique Hotel & Tropical Escape located in a secluded cul-de-sac between Playa Tamarindo and Playa Langosta. Casa Sueca in Tamarindo, Costa Rica is the best choice when looking for upscale and modern accommodations. Located steps from the beach, you are just moments away from surfing, fishing, fun and sun! We are in the north west region of Costa Rica (Guanacaste), less than one hour drive from the international airport in Liberia. Once in Tamarindo, we are less than a 5 min drive to town center, restaurants, shops or nightlife. Yet still located just steps from the beach, you can enjoy the sounds of the waves from your private porch or balcony, or relax in the salt water pool and jacuzzi. In less than a one minute walk, take a dip in the sea, go surfing, or simply enjoy the incredible sunset on the beach. Casa Sueca is a eco-friendly unique tropical escape, with exuberant gardens, tropical fruit trees and a variety of herbs we welcome you to enjoy during your stay with us. Our large salt water swimming pool with Jacuzzi and waterfall also includes a BBQ Grilling area, all for your enjoyment. The property is fully gated with a private gated parking area and surveillance cameras for your safety. Casa Sueca consist of 5 newly remodeled, fully furnished Suites, Rent one or all to accommodate one person up to twenty-eight people. 3 Studio Suites on the first floor and 2 apartments on the second floor. Each offers a private entrance and private open air patio or balcony with hammock, table and chairs for outdoor dining. Other amenities include: - AC in each room and bedroom & ceiling fans - Fully equipped private kitchen - Private bathroom with hot water - Wireless internet - Cable TV, DVD players, and DVD's - Maid service - In suite private safes - Gated property, gated parking Micron One - mattress covers and pillow cases (Micron One(R)- revolutionary new fabric that blocks even the tiniest allergens and micro toxins). Bathroom towels, pool towels and linens are provided as well, bring your own beach towels if desired Boogie boards and a secured storage for your surf boards available at no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Sueca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing