We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bumpy ride-but great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarapiqui River

Sarapiqui River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Class II-III Rafting and Chocolate Tour from La Fortuna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow river offers white-water rafting that's enjoyable at every level.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bumpy ride-but great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We went white water rafting on the Sarapiquí River--class III and IV rapids. Amazing river, and I thought it would be much more "treaturous" than it was. The water level was a bit low--but we had a good group of 'paddlers', so it worked out great, and no one fell out of the raft! Great rush--highly recommended on a beautifull sunny day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelers1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great for rafting and swimming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Very nice river, the levels can fluctuate pretty dramatically in a day. It's very clean! I loved swimming in it and did go rafting once, it was very nice. Bonus is all the wild;ife you can catch in the trees!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaic_Camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a real thrill rafting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We rafted with a group of 6 its a really exciting trip down the river. The river has a lot to offer while we had rafted before many in our group had not. It is ranked lower then I'd expected. There were some great falls n large rocks to enjoy. We visited in the rainy season so the water was high n really flowing. We really enjoyed the rafting. The nature along the rivrrbis also beautiful with lots of wildlife n birds. A great experience for thrill seekers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jekberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good rafting for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We rafted the upper river and found the class II and III rapids exciting but not really scary, so really fun! Guide was also a good naturalist and along the lower stretch pointed out lots of birds -- although, because of the water, couldn't take any pictures. It was part of a Wild Planet Adventures tour. Would highly recommend the rafting trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very restful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

At our hotel we arranged to take a two hour motorboat trip on the Sarapiqui River. There were 7 other passengers on the boat with the captain/guide who was excellent at spotting wildlife. Like some boat tour operators, he did not keep up a stream of chatter, but just pointed out birds, caimans, lizards, and monkeys of interest. He knew the English names and stopped the boat so everyone could get a good view and take pictures. It pleased him that we all got excited when viewing the wildlife. We thoroughly enjoyed our time on the river.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank btowhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarapiqui River also viewed

 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 

Been to Sarapiqui River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing