We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to see birds and animals while boating on the river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarapiqui River

Sarapiqui River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Class II-III Rafting and Chocolate Tour from La Fortuna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow river offers white-water rafting that's enjoyable at every level.
Midwest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice way to see birds and animals while boating on the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We visited the Sarapiqui River as part of an organized tour. We participated in a boat ride during which our guide pointed out monkeys, crocodiles, iguanas and various types of birds. It was a great way to enjoy the river and nature.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundTheWorldInADay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
541 reviews
281 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A beautiful sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Rio Sarapiqui reminds me of the lovely rushing streams of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank heyjudithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolute Must-Do at Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

During the second week of August, I travelled to Costa Rica. My mom (56) and I decided (29) decided to do some White Water Rafting. We have NEVER done this before. We went to the Sarapique River which is a hour and a half away from Arenal. We used Desafio for our WWR tour and our tour guide was Frank - our guide was absolutely fantastic and super patient (considering my mother and I were completely out of sync). It was an AMAZING experience – Rapid Class of III and IV. We learned a lot about the history of this area. It was interesting to learn about the earth quake that happened and how it helped to change the flow of the river. Also, I was surprised to learn that it was indeed a dam and that the dam opens at 10AM each day. It was quite fascinating. This is an absolute must if you visit Costa Rica

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BazAlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“unique experience in Costa Rica, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We book this boat trip with Grey line and I feel fortunate to get this trip, which has not usually appeared in other tour company's recommendation list --- which is unfortunate. The trip is on the boat, it is very safe and not challenge (my mother feels very easy and happy). We see a lot of animals, including crocodile, cayman, lizard, monkeys, which is unique in Costa Rica. I will highly recommend this place, which seems not been well advertised yet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yichuan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience , rain forest , aerial tram and river cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We took a one day trip from Rainforest Adventures. Drove to, and took the 11/2 aerial cabin ride through the rainforest, outbound on the forest floor level, back at tree top level.A true lifetime experience! Had lunch nearby and met the monkeys close up. Then we took the gentle boat ride up and down the river. We saw birds , iguanas etc. Highly recommend

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarapiqui River also viewed

 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 

Been to Sarapiqui River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing