We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of excellence-great service, good value-A Must See”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2007

I am so glad we had the opportunity to stay at the Peace Lodge. I am so impressed with the owner’s vision and management philosophy. I would love to meet them because they must be extraordinary people. This hotel is the best and most unique I have ever experienced. The service and attention to details were incredible.

The rooms are beautiful. They are rustic and reminiscent of a log cabin, yet warm, cozy and upscale. Each piece of the wood furniture throughout the hotel is a work of art. The iron hardware, stone masonry, and landscaping is gorgeous. We got a kick out of the wood sign in front of our doorway that had our name spelled out in wood block letters. When we entered the room we were greeted by a warm fire in the fireplace and soothing classical music playing on the CD player(they have several CDs in the room with various mixes.) The bathrooms were magnificent with gorgeous, intricate metal ceiling chandelier, waterfall showers made entirely of river rock. The shower had great water pressure and very hot water which we appreciated when it was cold and rainy outside.

The food was some of the best we had during our stay in Costa Rica (although, all of the Tican food was surprisingly good). We took advantage of the $35 four course price fix menu, which was great. My son was so appreciative of the staff that helped him fish for trout in the trout pond. He caught four in 45 minutes and the chef cooked one up for him that night at dinner. The park staff spent a lot of time with him allowing him to feed the hummingbirds by hand and hold the boa constrictor around his neck.

We thoroughly enjoyed the walk/hike along the waterfalls. Breathtakingly beautiful and a great workout(not for the unfit). I would highly recommend this hotel as a first or last stop when visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsbsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2007

This was the first stop on our Honeymoon itenerary and I'm glad we planned it that way. Peace Lodge is like a dream. We stayed in a deluxe room and I have to say they were something special, but the bathrooms take it to a whole new level. They are about as big as the whole rest of the room, with multiple showers and numerous other details. The theme is the rainforest.

If you are looking for a hot beach holiday, this isn't the place for you. It can be somewhat cold at Peace Lodge due to the location (5000 ft above sea level) and humidity. My wife wasn't crazy about the rain, but the indoor fireplace makes that not so bad. And the number of things you can see when it isn't raining makes it worth it. That and the food, which is awesome. We would love to go again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

I was married at the Peace Lodge on 12/11/07. This place is truly a magnificent place. The rooms and views were amazing, and there is a ton to do on the grounds. I read many reviews about it being Disney like...and I disagree. The grounds have been altered, however it is to create the most natural seeting possible for the animals. Yes, I am aware that the animals are in captivity, but they have all been rescued from many difficult situations. The staff has done an amazing job trying to recreate the best setting possible for them, and it shows!
The rooms are amazing,unlike anything I have seen before. The staff were awesome...all of them! They went out of their way on numerous occasions to make our stay more enjoyable, The only negative was the prices for food and drink. Food was excellant but slightly pricey, I suggest room service, the food was just as good and a bit cheeper. Drinks are very pricey. I suggest that you stop along the way and grab a bottle or two of what you want.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Meg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

We booked this through the hotel's travel agency and I have to say, we loved it. The Peace Lodge was incredible. Prepare for rainy weather (even in December), and for possible cold too (jeans, hiking boots and sweatshirt), but the rooms are amazing, especially the bathrooms. With two kinds of showers, and an amazing jacuzzi with rainforest/stone decor... WOW (and it's HUGE.) The service was excellent, and the food was pretty good and very reasonable. The attractions (Butterflies, monkeys, wild cats, hummingbirds, La Paz Waterfalls, etc.) give the adventure seekers something to do, while also being all nearby. It's about an hour from the San Jose airport and it should cost you about $50-$55 USD by taxi to get there. Free 30 minute massages by the reception area... Arturo took good care of us. The ONLY negative... the thin walls, so you can hear your hotel neighbors. Bad for us, was a family with three badly behaving children, so the hotel upgraded us to the owners room for the last night, which was even more fantastic. What a GREAT time and a GREAT place.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abbache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2007

We stayed here the last 2 nights of our honeuymoon in Costa Rica. It was kind of over the top but it was fun! The butterflies and birds were awesome! The food wasn´t great but the rooms were fun with the kitchy rock waterfall, etc. I think it´s a great place to stay if you need something before or after your flight. Especially on your honeymoon. I couldn´t have imagined staying at a Hampton Inn or Best Western on my honeymoon in Costa Rica! It worked out perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimoramr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Great place, expensive, bad food, but great to recharge your batteries before or after your trip into Costa Rica if you fly into San Juan Int aka San Juan. The waterfall, grounds and animals are as amazing as the rooms.

Find a restaurant outside the resort and give it a try... we wish we had.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank f00die4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

It was a beautiful, well-maintained property. The La Paz Waterfalls alone are a must-see attraction. The restaurant leaves a lot to be desired however... and you're stuck b/c it is basically the only place to eat given the remote locale of the property. The Trout Bar is a nice little area with great eating options.

The only issue we had was that the reservation dept. messed up on our res... we were not on the list for the night we arrived given an internal mistake on their end. And they were completely booked for that night. However, they did an exceptional job accommodating us and much to our surprise and comfort we were given the owner's house to stay in! It was beautiful, spacious, and usually rents out for twice the the rate we had to pay (due to their mistake). Great experience, with friendly staff! Great animal viewing options - monkeys, large wild cats, etc.

We highly recommend this as a must-see spot while in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tjbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
250 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
710 reviews
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
15 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,853 reviews
22 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range: £240 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing