We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during Semana Santa, when most of the tourist areas are very crowded. This place is absolutely wonderful. The moment you arrive, you can feel all of your tension or stress just lift away. Very courteous and attentive staff. Quiet, even with the crowds in the waterfall gardens. My kids loved the animals, and the falls are just gorgeous. Food is good. We loved keeping the balcony door open and waking to the sounds if the birds, monkeys, and water. Bed is super comfortable. Rollaways for the kids were provided and were comfortable as well. Wonderful place.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyp212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of our property. It is gratifying for the staff and management to know you found a peace and serenity here with us. We appreciate that you chose to vacation at Peace Lodge/Waterfall Gardens and sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    115
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
413
562
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

As I checked into the peace lodge I noticed the mission statement 'highlighting its goal to provide a unique accommodation experience that offers both luxury and tranquility with nature'.
This goal is certainly lived up too as we had a truly unique experience, nothing liked I have previously or since.

Firstly I have to start by talking about the location, set on the upper terraces of the valley overlooking the LaPaz waterfalls, rainforest surroundings and peace lodge gardens and animal park below the views are simply breathtaking.
The king bedrooms are comfortable, the room includes a daybed for lounging, each has there own private jacuzzi on the balcony so you can take in the views and the bathroom are spacious, with separate bath tub and shower. The shower also features a conventional shower and a waterfalls shower.....very cool. And just for added pleasure, there is also a waterfall in the bathroom that you can run while enjoying a bath.

The room decor is quite unusual and unique, a few traveller commented that they had never seen anything like it before. This is in no means a negative comment as our group thought that this added to the experience. The room also provides plenty of sundries such as coffee, tea and milk and there is a decent size bar fridge for beverages.

We also took advantage of the stay to enjoy the peace lodge park, seeing jaguars, toucans, monkeys, butterflies, frogs and snakes. Feeding time at the hummingbird garden was my personal highlight, getting up close really gives you a new perspective on how amazing an animal they are and how varied the sub species are in size and nature.

The walk from the lodge down to each waterfall of the La Paz waterfalls offers great views and photo opportunities along the way. It is a safe, well constructed walkway that gets you as close as you would want to get to any waterfall and the shuttle bus back to the top means that all body types and ages can enjoy.

We had dinner one night at the restaurant which is a little pricy, we did find a few further up the road though most local restaurants do close by 7.30 at the latest.
That being said the quality was top and service was exceptional.
Morning buffet Breakfasts were a highlight, with the food top quality with lots of variety, the location allowing you to enjoy the view and morning sunshine and the service excellent, meaning you had not sat down a second before coffee, juice or water was in hand.

Overall, the location, layout and friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made this a particularly memorable visit that i will talk about with fondness.

Room Tip: Bring your international adapter as the hotel doesn't have international computable sockets in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigcat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Bigcat84
Thank you for your generous comments about our property and staff. It is gratifying to know we have lived up to all your expectations and that you enjoyed a unique experience.. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and our sincere wish that we may welcome you again sometime in the future.
Warm regards
Carole
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed her two nights before returning to the USA and definitely could have stayed longer. The rooms and the location are incredible, but it was the service that really made a difference. The guides in the park area are very knowledgeable and help you interact with the animals in a manner that is caring towards the animals but ensured to provide memories. Everyone with whom we interacted - from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the manager and staff who searched and found my lost wedding band - did everything possible to ensure our stay was memorable. I should also point out it rained while we were there; and it was still memorable and beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
The staff and management of Peace Lodge wish to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such complimentary comments. It gives us much pleasure to know our staff has provided the quality of service we strive for. We hope you have fond memories of your experience with us and would be happy to welcome you anytime you may wish to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent 2 wonderful nights here, arriving midday on a Monday and leaving early Wednesday morning. Because we booked late, we had 1 night in the Monarch Villa and 1 night in a Deluxe Room. They made the move super easy and it was nice to get to experience 2 different rooms! The Monarch Villa is huge -- there were only 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids, girls ages 10 and 12) so it was very spacious. In both rooms, the bathrooms and fireplaces were amazing, and the view from the balcony (with jacuzzi and hammock) was spectacular. The deluxe room had an even more amazing bathroom. You have to see to believe. We did the nighttime frog tour, coffee plantation/volcano tour and we explored the animals and waterfalls on our own. We really only had a short time there but we made the most of it. You could stay 1 more night there to really see everything, but I think 2 was perfect for us. This is about an hour's drive from the San Jose airport so it's a good start or end to your time in Costa Rica. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff were. Daniel was our waiter at the pool cafe both days, and also bartender one night. He immediately remembered our names and helped us with many questions. John was our tour guide for the volcano/coffee plantation and also for the nighttime frog tour. By the time we left, we felt like John was family. This is a small place (about 25 rooms?) so you really get to know the staff. John helped my daughters with Spanish on our tour drive, he really just went out of his way to be friendly and hospitable. I don't want to spoil any surprises, but the little personalized touches to your room and dinner table are extraordinary. My girls loved holding the toucans and butterflies and swimming in all the pools. This hotel is a very unique, special experience. You will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: This is a small resort, you really can't go wrong. You won't be far from anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freqtravelfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Staff and management of Peace Lodge and Waterfall Gardens wish to thank you for your informative, complimentary review. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed a memorable experience with us . It would be our pleasure to welcome you should you wish to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Immersed in the rain forest the Peace Lodge is a magical experience with gorgeous rooms with balconies overlooking magnificent green landscape. The property is terrific, multi terraced. The waterfall is a wonderful experience. The staff is very attentive. Check out the interior photos of the rooms and of the property..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Gerente at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Megan A,

Staff and management of Peace Lodge are extremely gratified to hear about your memorable experience at our property. Thank you very much for your kind review!!

Until next time!!!

Best wishes!

Jorge Alvarado Herrera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

As the other reviewers have said, this is an amazing place. Each employee goes above and beyond their job descriptions. They all speak wonderfully clear English. They are extremely caring and want to accommodate your every need. We have a daughter who is allergic to gluten and they did all they could to accommodate her needs. The rooms are so exotic! Waterfalls over the bathtub and in the shower. A hot tub on the deck. We had two daughters with us and they enjoyed the entire experience. The hummingbird feeding and toucan feeding were the highlights of the trip. Also, fishing in the Trout pond and eating the fish we caught for lunch was a great experience. The hike to see the La Paz waterfall was breath taking....literally! Would highly recommend The Peace Lodge to anyone traveling to the La Paz waterfall area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Please accept the gratitude of the staff and management of the Peace Lodge for choosing to stay with us and for your favorable comments. To hear that we have accomplished our goal to provide our guests with the best possible experience is very rewarding. Your referrals are appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Aransas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had the BEST time at the Peace Lodge. Our boys are 2.5 and 5 and it was wonderful for them and for my husband-who really enjoyed Fly fishing in the trout lake. The room was beautiful and exotic as well. The biggest bathroom with real foliage and a waterfall! Two showers one we called the cave and the other an outdoor style with the option of a waterfall feature! Jacuzzi tub inside and one on the balcony as well. We really enjoyed the fire when the cool air came. Plenty of places to sit and lots of room to hang out. The scenery of the whole resort is outrageously beautiful. We had fun feeding the hummingbirds and toucans. The night frog tour was really cool, our boys loved being in charge of their own flashlights in the dark while seeing lots of frogs jumping around. I loved sitting in the hot pool next to the trout lake watching the boys fish. This is hands down one of the most amazing resorts we have been to. The staff was perfect and treated us all like family. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We chose the Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaacee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Public Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Kaacee201,

The staff and managment of Peace lodge want to thank you for your stay and kind reviews about our property and tours, we are more than happy to hear that your family had a great experience in our hotel and we are looking forward for your next visit.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing