We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 10 days in Costa Rica at the end of May 2014 and started it by visiting the Peace Lodge for our first 2 nights. We took a red eye and arrived in San Jose around 4:30 a.m. which was about an hour early. We had a private shuttle and the driver was really good and safe, but spoke very little english. Everyone on staff was fantastic. Harold provided us to a place to take a nap since we arrived really early and our room was still occupied. He ended up upgrading us to a room that was available. Daniel was an excellent and very personable waiter as was the rest of the wait staff. Kenneth was awesome at the butterfly pavilion, the frog area and the hummingbird garden. Jonathan was great at checkout. The grounds and La Paz waterfall gardens were immaculate. The animal sanctuary was just so great and would take me forever to explain it. The room had many special touches and was very romantic. I would definitely recommend staying here and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Horns05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Horns05
Thank you for your kind remarks about our property and staff. It is most gratifying to know that our guests have had an exceptional stay with us. Your complimentary review of our exhibits, wildlife sanctuary and accommodations is most encouraging.
We would be very pleased to welcome you back for perhaps a longer stay in the future.
Muchas gracias
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    118
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
426
577
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Had a short vacation in Costa Rica; really mainly a wildlife photography mission. Stayed 4 nights at the Peace Lodge and it is absolutely wonderful. The park with all its wildlife and waterfalls is an experience. All staff speaks English quite well, everybody is so friendly and guides are extremely knowledgeable (special kudos to John - frogs and butterflies and to Jackie - hummingbirds. The resort is quite isolated, so you are bound to have all meals at the restaurants on site. Menu options were very good for such a small resort and quality and service was fine.
Rooms are beautiful. Only minor downsides we experienced there: no AC, but instead a de-humidifier that mainly produces noise and has no other noticeable benefit. And noticed that in a downstairs room you can encounter some noise problems when neighbors above walk (stomp) around a lot.
Overall a beautiful and thoroughly enjoyable place

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FD-GSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear FD-GSO
Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Lodge, park and were pleased with the service of our knowledgeable staff.
We are sorry you found the noise of the humidifier unpleasant. It can most certainly be turned off if desired.
As we are located in the rain forest at an altitude of nearly 5000 ft., air conditioning is not required, however, the de-humidifier helps keep the dampness from the bedding, towels and clothing.
We are aware that sounds travel easily through our buildings and measures are being undertaken to rectify this inconvenience.
It is our desire that each of our valued guests enjoys a pleasant memorable experience and hope that you may one day allow us to welcome you again.
Warm regards
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I took our honeymoon to Costa Rica and the Peace Lodge was the first place we stayed. It is a boutique hotel, with so much to offer during the day. We stayed two nights, but wish we would have stayed three. All the staff spoke great English, and were so accommodating and nice. It is attached to the Waterfall Gardens park, which is a beautiful paved walk where you can see gorgeous waterfalls (you can hear them from your room all night, it's calming). They also have, almost a zoo, they have a whole big cat exhibit, monkeys, butterfly habitat, bird habitat, hummingbird garden, a place where you can milk cows, and many gardens of orchids and exotic flowers--kids would have a great time playing at the hotel all day - there is so much to see. For dinner there is only one restaurant - but the food is great. For breakfast there is one restaurant or room service - but the food is amazing at that one restaurant, it's different from the dinner one. For lunch there are at least 3-4 options on different restaurants that are open during the day while the waterfall park is open. Loved this hotel, would recommend it to anyone I talk to.

Room Tip: There is a small pool that is open late (it has a large waterfall simulator that is very loud) and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear S W
Thank you for your kind review of our property. We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that your expectations were exceeded in all areas.
In regard to the pool between the buildings, the hours of operation are 10am until 10pm and we apologize if it was noisy later than you expected.
It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and sincerely hope that we may welcome you once again sometime in the future
With warm regards
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived at the Peace Lodge for a two-night stay on our first trip to Costa Rica with great expectations. What we found exceeded all we had imagined.

We loved our romantic room with a one-of-a kind-bathroom, and the spectacular view from our balcony took our breath away.

Having the nature park below and close to the guest rooms was a brilliant idea. Being able to see the butterflies, birds, frogs, monkeys, jaguars and other wildlife whenever we wanted, from early morning, throughout the day, and into the night was awesome!

We were a little tired from our traveling when we arrived mid-afternoon, but a staff member appeared and gave us a quick golf cart ride down to the park. We were happy. Though walking up the pathways soon became easy for us, the golf cart rides were still offered in case we ever needed them. This was just one instance of the exceptional service we enjoyed; in the park, at the front desk, breakfast, lunch and dinner - it was everywhere.

By our second night, we had walked down to the stunning Waterfall Gardens, visited our favorite toucans twice, and fed the sweet hummingbirds several times. We only had a week to spend in Costa Rica and there were lots of other areas to explore. But we weren’t ready to leave the Peace Lodge. We wanted to extend our stay. We asked for an additional two nights so we could enjoy our amazing visit for a little longer.

We were captivated by the wonders of the rainforest, and we were surrounded by a genuine kindness with the friendliest of staff. Our four nights at the Peace Lodge was a special treasure, a truly unforgettable vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_and_D_R_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear B and D R 2
The staff and management of Peace Lodge wish to thank you so much for your extremely complimentary review of our property. It is most gratifying for us to hear that you found our service exceptional and your vacation memorable. We strive to provide the best possible experience for our valued guests and that you extended your stay with us makes us feel we have achieved that goal. Thank you for choosing Peace Lodge for part of your vacation. We would be most pleased to welcome you at any time you may wish to return.
Warm regards
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights immediately upon our arrival in San Jose. Incredibly unique accommodation with access to a private wildlife refuge and waterfalls. Perfect place to start our family vacation and only an hour from San Jose. The staff were incredible including Harold at the front desk who had fresh fruit and sandwiches waiting for us when we arrived at 10pm and Daniel in the restaurant who wanted nothing but to please us. Rooms are charming and inviting. Free DVDs from the front desk which made our kids happy for family movie night. Don't miss the feeding of the jungle cats in the afternoon. You can explore the entire property in one full day which is all you probably need. Have the lunch buffet in the park rather than the a la carte by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Robert L
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of our property. We strive to ensure that each of our valued guests has a memorable experience and are pleased to hear you found our staff to be accommodating and our Lodge unique.
Please accept our gratitude for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely hope we may be able to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Warm regards
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge
Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I wrapped up our trip to Costa Rica by staying at the Peace Lodge for a few days. This place is stunning! The rooms are beautiful! I felt like I was "glamping" (glamour camping) on steroids. We loved having our own fireplace, waterfall in the bathroom, and jet tub on the balcony that overlooked the forest and park. The park was very fun, clean, and well-kept. We particularly loved feeding the hummingbirds and toucans. What a great experience. The food was very good during our stay and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. My favorite was Jose who checked us in and out. He was such a doll! During our stay, we had the great pleasure of going on the Paos Volcano and coffee plantation excursion and had a blast. Michael was our tour guide and was very knowledgeable and accommodating (even taking us to a traditional Costa Rican restaurant so I could have my casata and stopping by a bank). Besides getting married at their sister property (The Springs, which was also stunning), this excursion was a highlight for me. As a Mental Health counselor, I love learning about culture and why people are the way they are. Michael spent a majority of the day with us, answering my 500 questions. It was really a great trip! I highly recommend that anyone visiting Costa Rica stay here. There is plenty to do from the park, to the waterfalls, to the excursions, to simply laying back and enjoying the beautiful rooms.

Room Tip: We had the basic room and it blew away our expectations! You can't go wrong with any room you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elainehfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Lynn M
Thank you for spending a part of your Costa Rican vacation with us at the Peace Lodge and Waterfall Gardens. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, the exhibits and waterfalls. Our Chefs are gratified to read that you found the food to your liking.
It was our pleasure to serve you and look forward to oneday welcoming you once again.
Warm regards
Carole Comienzo
Peace Lodge
Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Ar
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We loved our 2 nights at the Peace Lodge. The rooms are great. The beds are a little firm but that is minor. The balcony has a hot tub, the bathroom has a waterfall and ferns and the main room has a fireplace. We were able to hike all the paths to the waterfalls and see all the animals in one full day. We also had time the next morning before check out to take a quick tour to Poas Volcano. The food at the resort was great. The dinner restaurant was gourmet quality food. The sandwiches at the Trout Bar were big enough to share between 2 people. We didn't have children with us but our grandkids would have loved it. You get up close with Toucans, butterflies and hummingbirds. If you are in this area take the time to stay a couple of nights or at least do a day pass visit.

Room Tip: We had the standard room and thought it was great. I didn't see the inside of the other rooms so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lynn M
Thank you for your nice review of our property. The staff and management are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge, our animal refuge and found the food to your liking. It would be our pleasure to welcome you if you wished to return with your family one day
Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments
Kind regards
Carole Comienzo
Peace Lodge
Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
836 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
237 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing