We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay”
Review of Peace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peace Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Went to the Peace Lodge for one night and didn't want to leave. Our room was incredible especially the bathroom and shower. The food was very good and the grounds ..... were priceless. The staff was great also. The animals were unbelievable and the encounters with hummingbirds, tree frogs and toucans were priceless. Probably the nicest stay in Costa Rica .... A must see if you are near by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Seth K
Thank you for your kind review of our property. The staff and management of Peace Lodge are dedicated to providing a memorable experience for each of our valued guests and are gratified to know we have met your expectations. We are happy you enjoyed the interaction with our onsite wildlife as well. We would be delighted to welcome you anytime you may desire to honor us with a return visit.
Muchas Gracias
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    118
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
426
577
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If Costa Rica is not on your Bucket List, put it there - and if you are looking for a magnificent place to experience some of the best of it, book The Peace Lodge. It is about an hour and a half drive from San Jose, mostly uphill with winding roads tucked into the mountains of the rain forest, but they are paved and the destination is well worth the trip.

From reception to departure, the service was excellent and attentive. Our large room was exquisite - with a huge stone gas fireplace, a comfortable king canopy bed, a very large and beautiful bathroom with its waterfall bath and a separate waterfall shower, a private patio with its own hot tub overlooking the lush grounds - it was a little bit of paradise, rustic but elegant.

The grounds are gorgeous and meticulously maintained with waterfalls, plants and flowers - and the resort's sanctuaries for exotic birds (toucans, parrots and many others), butterflies, frogs, even rescued jaguars, will get you up close and personal with these creatures.

Food options are also great. For lunch, don't miss The Trout Cafe and order the grilled trout. You can fish for it yourself in their stocked trout pond, or have their fisherman catch it for you - and it will be the freshest and most delicious trout you have ever eaten. Dinner and breakfast in the resort's lodge were also delicious and beautifully served. The Peace Lodge was the kick-off for our two week visit to CR - and remained a highlight to the end!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flowerlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Flowerlady Virgi.....
Thank you very much for your most complimentary review of our property. We are pleased to know you have had a memorable experience with us and found our rooms, grounds, exhibits, food and service up to your expectations. It is the desire of each of the staff and management team to provide an exceptional visit for our valued guests and happy to hear you had an enjoyable time.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Peace Lodge. It has been our pleasure to serve you.
Kind regards
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Staying at the Peace lodge was the perfect end of our stay in Costa Rica with the comfort and beauty that we needed after a heavy tour around the country. Staff was more than welcoming, every member you encountered during your stay was extremely friendly and helpfull. Rooms are above all expectations and very clean. The whole parc was full of attractions, very clean as well and naturally beautiful. Many things to see and to do. I wish we could have stayed here forever!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolienV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Karolien V
Thank you for choosing to spend the end of your busy tour around Costa
Rica with us at the Peace Lodge. We are happy you found it to be a relaxing experience and that you were pleased with our service, rooms and exhibits. It is rewarding for the staff and management to know we have met the expectations of our valued guests. Though you may not have been able to "stay forever", we sincerely hope you will return one day and honor us with a return visit.
Wth gratitude
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was by far the best place I ever stayed in. Friendly staff greeted us with a complimentary drink, the rooms were exquisite the atmosphere superb! The animals were awesome and the waterfalls magnificent . The villa we rented was something else.. Very well made, very luxurious! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dbguilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Dbguilliams
The staff and management of Peace Lodge wish to thank you for your complimentary review. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed a memorable experience and found that our property has met all your expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.
Until next time "Pura Vida"
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit. We had to return with our children. They were so sad to leave. We highly recommend Peace Lodge for a few days while in Costa Rica. The animal encounters are awesome and the staff are so nice and friendly. Don't miss the night time frog tour with Heran. He is so funny and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Public Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear angela d
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. It is rewarding to hear you have made a return visit with your children and all have once again enjoyed the experience. We very much appreciate your recommendation and sincerely hope we may welcome you again sometime in the future.
Muchas gracias
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This was our splurge on our honeymoon through Costa Rica and it was absolutely worth every penny and will most definitely come back. Service was impeccable, staff was accommodating, food was spot on and I could not say enough of the room, the ambiance of the entire hotel, the experience itself is just out of this world. Thank you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear blueskies87
The staff and management are honored that you chose Peace Lodge for part of your Honeymoon experience. Thank you for sharing your generous comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that we provided you with a memorable time.
Congratulations once again on your recent marriage and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again on an anniversary or anytime you may desire to return..
Warmest regards
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Costa Rica
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The view from our room is soooo beautiful , I've been to the himalayas and this give the same breath taking view.

It's the perfect ending to our trip because we get to be feed the toucans, see humming bird up close and have the butterfly on my hands

The people here are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Peace Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Maisky
It was our sincere pleasure to welcome you to Peace Lodge. Thank you for writing such lovely comments and we are happy that you enjoyed the experiences with the Hummingbirds and Butterflies. Your comparison to the Himalayas regarding our view was exciting to hear. Thank you for choosing us for part of your Costa Rican adventure.
With gratitude
Carole Comienzo
Guest Relations Manager
Peace Lodge, Cost Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
10.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
835 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
238 reviews
9.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
3.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Lodge

Property: Peace Lodge
Address: Poas | Vara Blanca, La Paz Waterfalls Gardens, Heredia 40101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than one hour from the San Jose (Juan Santamaria) Airport, the Peace Lodge is the perfect place to begin or end your vacation. You don't need to spend your first or last day in a city hotel. Please come spend them in the rain and cloud forest with us and still be close to the airport. We are also only 20 minutes from the Poas Volcano, another "must see" attraction in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Heredia
Peace Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing