We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gavilan Sarapiqui River Lodge
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I stayed at EL Gavilan with my family. We absolutely loved it. We stayed at one of the deluxe rooms, and it was a great experience. The rooms are very nice. The food also was extremely good in taste and size. The location of the lodge is probably the best of all the lodges we have stayed at, right on the Sarapiqui River and surrounded by a private tropical rainforest reserve of around 20 acres we were told. The birds are all over. My wife is a birding freak, and she did not need to leave the front of our room to spot around 40 species? Not really sure, but a lot. The owner and staff are the best we have met in any hotel. Could not have been more friendly. I highly recommend El Gavilan Lodge to eco tourists, birders, families and adventure seeking people. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alrobert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

They honored the first price, owner turns out to be a lovely woman who invites the local school children in once a quarter to have stories, snacks and play time in a wonderful setting. We truly enjoyed them. But its a long way to anywhere else, relaxing atmosphere, with a jacuzzie and not pool, but the other pictures on this review site do give you a correct feel.
Rooms are clean, bathroom is spacious and ceilings are 20 foot high, breakfast is good if CR standard fare, the get away from it all is definately there and you won't find a casino anywhere near. Its a "drive to" place, down good roads and on the banks of the River, plenty of birds to see and the red frog also lives there.

No Air conditioner and I would not and did not worry about the bug bites. The sounds of the forest is all around and this is on the "flats" and a little warmer than the rest of our trip.
Get a good book, sit on the porch and relax......A spiritual getaway
Its an eco lodge but still confortable, No TV no Radio no alarm clock, no problems

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2007

this lodge isn't for everyone. we stayed in one of the cabins which was great. there were 4 of us and we each got our own bed. the bed looked homemade- constructed of wood with a mattress i'm assuming some wouldn't find acceptable. the cabin itself was clean but definitely not spotless. we even had doubts about the cleanliness of our bedding, but for the most part, it was fine. there's no air conditioning and the room seemed easily accessible to insects so we skipped taking showers that night and covered ourselves, head to toe, in insect repellent. WE LOVED IT! the entire property is so charming. the grounds are beautiful. you can walk behind the cabins and look at the different plants and bird watch. one of the owners offered to take us to a part where red and blue frogs come out in the afternoon but, unfortunately, we weren't able to come back after our rafting trip. as rustic as the accommodations are, that's why we appreciated our stay there. at gavilan, we felt like we were in a different country. we felt like we were in costa rica!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trvlBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hay muchas opciones de cuartos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauradelafuente83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Els N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alternative suchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steffen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JerryER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heredia
0 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 7 in Heredia
62 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
247 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,306 reviews
0 mi away
Apart-Hotel Roma
Apart-Hotel Roma
#5 of 7 in Heredia
7 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavilan Sarapiqui River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavilan Sarapiqui River Lodge

Address: Heredia, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Heredia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Heredia
Price Range: £41 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gavilan Sarapiqui River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavilan Sarapiqui River Lodge Costa Rica/Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing