We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cried when we left”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2008

First off...skip ORBITZ for international travel! They're horrible. If you run into trouble of any kind, you're completely on your own.

We stayed @ the Melia Doubletree for 10 days at the end of June and absolutely loved it! The lobby is gorgeous in marble & stained glass with fresh flowers. Our room was done all in teak wood with a tile floor, a/c, coffee maker, HBO in English, etc. The breakfast buffet is a little pricey but OFF THE HOOK with fresh fruits, pastry, oatmeal, bacon, egg dishes & empanadas. They also have regular faire that include sandwiches & burgers. The hotel is very well kept & lusciously beautiful with a nice gym, beautiful grounds & golf course. It also has a huge pool & a jacuzzi plus a great business center upstairs where you can get online & send faxes. Best of all it's all free. The staff is warm & friendly & will go the extra mile to please you. Emilio @ the tour desk was awesome helping us navigate to some off-beat spots. I cried when we left. Everyone was so sweet to us.

There's also a pizza place, the Gourmet Station restaurant & an AM/PM market that sells fresh baked goods, fruit & veges along w/incidentals you might have forgotten to bring, within close walking distance of the hotel. They're much cheaper than eating at the hotel & all VERY GOOD.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank asusiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2008

Stayed at the Doubletree Cariari one night prior to going to Osa and on return for one night prior to flight back home. The rooms were part of a package deal with Crocodile Bay Fishing Resort. Found them to be clean, the beds very comfortable with quality linens (important to me), and the hotel really much nicer than I expected. The lobby is beautiful, the restaurants pricey but with good food, the art gallery within the hotel actually had some reasonably priced pieces. Thought the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

Stayed at the Melia in January of 08 with 2 friends for just one night, after arriving in the San Jose airport. The amenities were average, and the grounds were nothing spectacular. There are a few (overpriced) shops on the ground floor and a (small) casino as well. The hotel was perfect for what we were looking for (just a place to sleep in San Jose before moving on with the rest of our trip), but realize that there is not much around the area. The one restaurant we were recommended to go to was a far walk away. The best part about our stay was the large buffet breakfast, but otherwise, do not expect much else.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank juliasalerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Think twice before staying at this hotel. We had nothing but problems...starting with being sent to a room that had not been cleaned at all. Then, in another room, our air conditioning didn't work. They sent a maintenence man, and he worked for awhile on it, but said, "Esta muerto". Now 10pm at night, we have multiple phone calls of broken english/broken spanish after first told we could switch rooms...then told all rooms were booked. A complete fabrication of the truth as we had noticed earlier how empty the hotel was, no people, dark rooms, etc. I fought the lady at the desk on this point, and she held to her story, telling us they'd upgrade us the following night. They offered to send a fan...and after more phone calls wondering where it was, they brought a floor dryer...not exactly going to cool the sweat on the brow...unless your face is on the ground!!!
We hardly slept that night with the mugginess, but we had to get up at 6am to leave for the day. When we returned later (7pm) they had "just" gotten our room ready and had not moved our bags. We had to have several more annoying conversations inquiring about our bags. Meanwhile we enjoyed the cigarette smoke that lingered in our supposed "non-smoking" suite.
This hotel just about ruined our pleasant memories of Costa Rica that we had enjoyed until this point. Stay away and spend your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cinnamondulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Our trip was from February 1 to February 17, 2008. We stayed at (and wrote reviews for) the following hotels (if you are interested in the others):
Hotel Vista Caribe, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Doubletree Cariari by Hilton, San Jose, Costa Rica
Cabinas Espadilla, Manuel Anotonio, Costa Rica
Garden Court Hotel, San Jose, Costa Rica
Days Hotel - Greenspoint, Houston, TX, USA

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree on February 8th before heading out to tour the country. It was a beautiful hotel with all the convenience you’d expect from a Doubletree. After a week on a family trip, this was a nice way to start relaxing on our own. The hotel seemed to have all the business amenities you’d expect. The breakfast was great and the room had a very welcome mini-bar since we arrived so late at night. The staff was very friendly. We wanted to be near our car rental place, and were a little further than we thought so we’d probably do the Garden Court or Hampton Inn right next to the airport if it was another really short stop over (the noise there is annoying though), but if we had the better part of a day or more at the edge of San Jose, this is where we’d go.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MoretaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

The hotel is okay. Do not pay more for the, "Royal Service." It is not worth the extra charge,

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chocolate_Labraror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2007

We stayed at the Melia for the first three nights of our honeymoon. We thought it was great. The entire staff was quite friendly and we liked that it was not in the downtown area. The hallways to the room are really beautiful as is the lobby. The front desk helped us a lot with restaurant selections and calling for reservations.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful. A very large selection and the food in the bar and casual restaurant was also great although the prices were a little steep.

The steak house is excellent and the prices are what you would pay for that type of meal anywhere we felt.

Our room was nice and big and also very clean.

The only thing we felt the hotel was lacking was a vending machine or mini convenience store. Nothing in the mini bar seemed appealing and we were quite hungry upon our arrival at midnight the first night.

We did tours with Swiss Travel (there is a desk in the lobby) and all of those went great as well.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danzr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,826 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
700 reviews
4.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: £73 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing