We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't regret this choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2010

After exiting arrivals at the airport and this being my first time to Costa Rica, we were met by the hotel's shuttle driver (nb. This was pre-arranged prior to arrival - thanks Vanessa!). Driver was polite and informative. Came off a motorway and down a side road parallel to the motorway/freeway then turned into the grounds of the hotel. The actually hotel is a distance from the motorway/freeway so you won't get disturbed by the traffic. Hotel was well presented and staff were welcoming. Check-in was swift and smooth especially with the 7 of us. Rooms were spacious. Rooms we booked were twin double beds, yet there still A LOT of space aroud the beds. Rooms were also clean. Swimming pool was clean. The breakfast buffet had a huge selection but on the pricey side. There was a small casino within the hotel where drinks were provided. Near the reception/lobby, there is a quiet area that has a courtyard; it's like bringing the outside in. Just outside the steps of the hotel, less than a minute walk is a small grocery store so you can get your cheap snacks/refreshments. Further walking, about 10 minutes, across the bridge over the motorway/freeway, is a selection of restaurant. There is also a souvenier shop about a 2 minute walk from the hotel grounds. Hotel is near the airport but a distance from downtown. Luckily we knew a local who took around downtown. Arranged White-water Rafting through the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theparttimereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

The Doubletree Cariari in San Jose was a perfect place to visit Costa Rica for the first time. The team of people at the hotel went above and beyond to make my vacation great! I did not want to leave. My room was gorgeous and I was provided with every amenity available. Anything and everything was taken care of for me. Loved Jose, Linda, Laura, Mario, and all the other people that made me feel very special while staying at the hotel. I am planning to return to Costa Rica next year with my friends and family this time and we will be staying at the Double tree Cariari.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Rox and I had just finished our stay at Grano de Oro and were flying to Madrid on Iberia last night, when our flight was cancelled because of rain. Iberia put us up at the Cariari Hilton. It is a normal American style hotel, nothing terrible, but when we compared this average experience with our outstanding experience at Grano de Oro, then checked the rates and found they were the same, well....By the way, skip the spaghetti in the restaurant, Chef Boyardee does it better. Still, this review is not a slam, just noting the difference between superlative and not so much.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

It's the perfect gem tucked away in San Jose. From the arrival at the airport with their shuttle, friendly faces at reception and clean well appointed rooms. Be sure to take advantage of the buffet breakfast.... we had the executive option with continental breakfast in the lounge but to me the buffet was worth it for the extra $$. WiFi is free in the lobby and the executive lounge so if you really need to be sure to check out those areas before paying extra. One thing I did notice is that the lounge was closed on Sunday evening before the 9pm time listed. There's also a mall within 10 min walk from the hotel with a wide variety of fast food options and shopping. Can't say much more besides it was well worth it !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajan300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed here mid trip when we had to drop off some friends at the airport for their flight back to the states at 5am...ugh.

This hotel is right along the main highway from the airport to San Jose, and is really easy to find if you make the correct turn off. If you miss it, then you will drive about 10km out of your way to get back, so do not miss the Cariari exit, its to the right immediately after going under a bridge jus as you are about to go down a hill, it will make sense when you get there...haha. Getting back to the airport is a bit confusing to explain, but the concierge has a nice map that makes sense. If you want to take the new highway, 27 (but no one uses numbers ever to tell you about roads) to get to the west coast I highly recommend it. But do not ask the concierge how to get to that one, he doesnt speak english well enough to explain unfortunately. Just head downtown San Jose, past the huge park on your right. Then take a right head toward Escuzu (posh suburb) and keep going. This road knocks off more then an hour off that part of the trip, but do NOT speed, the cops have traps EVERYWHERE.

Staff was very friendly upon our arrival. Best part, you get a nice warm cookie (its a doubletree thing). We arrived late at night and there was more then enough staff for all our needs. There was even a gated parking lot to keep your car safe, as well as an attendant to the lot. There is even an AM/PM just past that parking lot, for all your quick snack and drinking needs. We grabbed a tasty quick breakfast from the AM/PM which was suprisingly good. There is a mall directly across the highway. It has all your american favorites with some local favor if you're looking for something quick to eat in a food court (welcome to costa rica ...haha) There is even a business center in the lobby area with several computers with complimentary internet so you can check in to your flight or other. Wifi is free in the lobby, but they charge if you want it in your room.

The rooms are very large. We got a room all the way to the right from the lobby. Which was far to walk. I think it was punishment for getting a good deal on Expedia. They also punished us by giving us a room right across the hall from the Head Maids closet/office. So the girls woke us up at around 6am, yeah, not cool at all. They get an early start because there are so many travelers that head out before that to catch their flight. The rooms do have a mini bar so don't touch anything. The rooms also have the most comfortable bed you'll sleep on in CR. Its the comfy bed or whatever name Hilton gives their trademark beds, so that is a huge plus. The a/c was a bit odd, so just jack it down and enjoy it, though they leave the rooms toasty during the day. We didn't use the pool, the casino, or the restaurants, so explore on your own.

There is a shuttle to the airport, but it does not start to run until like 7am in the morning, plus you have to reserve it more then 24 hours in advance. They will arrange a taxi for you at any time of the day, should only cost around $6 to get to the airport, so they say. We had a rented suv, which makes life much easier. You do have to pay a toll when the sun is down to get to the airport, so have 75 colon ready for that. It is less then 10 minutes no matter how you get to/from the airport.

Out of the three hotels we had to stay at by the airport this would be my first pick if the price is right.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azgators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

This was one of the best hotel stays we've ever experienced! We felt like we were at a resort-- with even better service than we received at resorts! The hotel was beautiful and clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They all treated us like we really mattered to them and that they were actually glad that we were staying with them! (That rarely seems to happen...) The environment was calm and relaxing. We enjoyed the restaurant also. The choices were many, and we could try some meals that were different from the tyypical, yet they had the basic American food choices if you desired. If you want a paradise in the city, this is it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmw020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. I was very concern about my first day check-in since I was arriving SJO at 8:30pm and getting to the hotel around 9:30pm. They had my room ready without any problems at all. The first room smelled like smoke but they switch me to another one immediately. Very quiet, relax, safe and clean hotel. Staffs were very nice. The concierge person in the lobby (you know the guy helps you with questions about anything) could have been more attentive and focused to help us out in the few questions we had. Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky_Ricard0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,857 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: £74 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing