We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice to splurge on ourselves” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice to splurge on ourselves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We booked this hotel for our first night in CR because it was close to the airport and we arrived late at night. It was so comfy that we went there again for our last night in CR just to be close to the airport again. It was a reasonable price...$105 for 3 adults with 2 beds....and we had access to free internet; There is a great restaurant for dinner. Our first night we had the breakfast buffet included and all the food was wonderful. This hotel is less expensive than the Marriot but equally as comfy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mother4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    476
    147
    52
    32
See reviews for
261
363
68
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

I wanted to write a quick review about this hotel as we have just returned from our weeklong trip in Costa Rica. We booked our final evening the Double Tree, San Jose. The San Jose Doubletree is far from a 4 star hotel especially on a US level. They did not run their airport shuttle 24 hours a day, and we were told after check in that we would have to take a taxi the following morning at 4:30am. Our room had a borken air conditioner that we had to call the front desk to fix two times and after those calls and two hours we were finally offered a room change at 10:00pm. The steak house had one star quality dining. This was the worst meal of our trip (as my wife said the sauce on the shrimp pasta tasted like it was right out of a Chef Boy-RD can), our last dinner in the country. Keep in mind the service was excellent but the quality of the rooms, hotel amenities and food were not 4 star. We were very disapointed to end our trip this way! Stay somewhere else if you are looking to stay by the airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattymattson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Overall, this is a good place to stay to be near the airport. I wouldn’t want to be here for a weeklong vacation, though. We stayed here one night to be close to the airport for our early flight the next morning. Transfer to the airport was easy. The hotel provides an inexpensive shuttle. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially at the front desk. We had an inattentive waiter for dinner, but our waiter for lunch was great. The food in the restaurant was good. The pool area was ok but not great. It looks a little run down, past its prime. Drinks at the poolside bar were expensive, more expensive than drinks from the minibar in the room. Some guests had beer they bought across the street. That was smart. The room was clean. We had a balcony room, but we had no view, so we didn’t sit out there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

The DoubleTree in Cariari is a wonderful hotel, conveniently located near San Jose's International Airport. We enjoyed three restful nights and as many fantastic complimentary breakfasts in the hotels lovely openair restaurant. The entire staff was helpful and responsive. Lucia, on-site manager, and the entire hotel staff were extremely helpful in the face of some unanticipated adversity my family encountered during our vacation in Costa Rica. Without their calm, caring and helpful support, our trip would likely have been ruined; however, the DoubleTree staff helped us navigate swiftly toward the solution and we were able to enjoy the remainder of our stay in beautifully lush Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOCVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I did have a 3 night reservation here, however had to move after the 1st night as it was just too far from Central San Jose. As a Diamond Member, I was given access to their Executive Lounge, however never used it. The restaurant/bar was pool side with good service. The on site Casino was small and appeared to have slots and poker tables. The rooms are exterior entrances (3 floors) with no elevators. Staff was very nice and helpful. Definitely a good choice for people wanting to be by the airport (10 mins at the most).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodyear, az
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed at the Cariari hotel for 3 nighs total. 2 nights after flying into San Jose and 1 night before departing back to Phoenix after a week. We traveled to Puntarenas to the Doubletree there for 5 days in between. We chose the Cariari because we wanted something close to the airport since we were arriving late and departing very early and Puntarenas was a 2 hour drive. Its about 10 min from the airport and they do have an airport shuttle for $8. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which ran $15. So either way its not bad at all. We were extremely pleased with this hotel and the service we received. The only downfall is there really is not much around to walk to. There is a small mall right across the street with an am/pm and a pizza place. So you can walk to that for snacks, beverages, etc. Otherwise there is a mall across the highway that you can catch a cab to for very cheap or take a cab to downtown San Jose for about $15. The rooms were wonderful and clean and the staff was very accomodating. I really cannot say that I have one complaint about anyone or anything there. I would highly recommend the Doubletree Cariari.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nicoleGoodyear_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

First and Foremost, the service is one of the best i have ever had.. Absolutely fantastic!! The cookies when you come in are the most delicious and chewy goodness ever. I had 4 cookies.. So good! the rooms were very nice and everything was clean. The continental breakfast that came with our HHonors was the only downfall. It was to say the least a lousy breakfast and didnt look much appetizing at all. I would just shell out the $9 and eat thebuffet breakfast downstairs. Just a great place to stay and very close to the airport..Service here is better than staying at the Ritz...Just cant say enough about the service..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.4 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
6.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
4.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
Address: Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, rustic and luxurious, the DoubleTree Cariari by Hilton brings modern day opulence to Costa Rica's capital city. A heavenly urban retreat with spacious guestrooms, a sparkling swimming pool and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cariari By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Doubletree San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Hilton
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing