We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute room, excellent breakfast, great service 1 would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Ramada this first and last nights of our 16 day Costa Rican adventure. What a great find by our travel agent!
My husband had done two summers of biological field work in Costa Rica approximately 30 years ago, and had never stayed in what could be considered a tourist hotel, so was a little apprehensive of what he would find. But the hotel was great. Easy check in, cute and very clean room. We arrived late that night so the restaurant was closed and we instead ate in the bar. The server (sorry, I forgot his name) was very good, even though he was running the bar and dealing with drinks for the casino. My husband and I both had the typical Costa Rican dinner - salad, grilled cheese, black beans and rice, his with fish and mine with beef - very tasty. The next morning we experienced the best breakfast of the entire trip (including the breakfasts we had on the Windstar) - a lavish buffet that included gallo pinto, delicious and fresh fruit, some excellent organic jams with croissants and many many other options. All in a lovely open air setting near the pools. Check out was a snap and then it was off to our cruise.
After the cruise and then six nights at an excellent ecolodge (La Paloma) in the Osa peninsula, we stayed at the Ramada again the night before our departure from Costa Rica. This time our room was a bit more expensive but on the executive floor, with a room almost twice as large and a more luxurious bathroom, also free wifi in the room and free use of computers in the business center. After a 3 hour nap (those 6 days in the Osa were great but exhausting) we had lunch at the Tropicala restaurant and were very pleased with the food - I had the tortilla soup (delicious with hearty chunks of avocado) and the beef tenderloin sandwich (very tender with a perfect and garlicky chimichurri sauce). Really good. And the next morning we were again very happy with the breakfast buffet.
Honestly, I can't think of a better place to stay on arrival and pre-departure days - it is a 5-10
minute ride to/from the international airport, the service is great, the food was outstanding for a non-luxury hotel, the rooms were cute (even better the second time) and very clean, the pools were great, as were the drinks in the bar. The only real issue might be the location, as it is not close to
anything touristy, but no problems getting a taxi and free transport to
and from the airport. We recommend the Ramada Plaza Herradura very highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reptileenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you have had such an excellent stay with us. I hope you will be able to enjoy the japanese restaurant which is the best in town next time.

Best regards,

Maximiliano Ruiz V
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel so we could do one last tour of the central valley and still be near the airport for our early morning flight. For our purposes the hotel was perfect, but for others the location well out of town near a factory may not be as good.

After being at some more rustic hotels earlier in the trip, this elegant perfectly clean place was really nice. Beautifully decorated hotel, large pleasant room with a huge bathroom, nice restaurants, and excellent breakfast buffet. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The pool area was beautiful but unheated so it was kind of cold. My kids still played in it, but it was not warm enough for everyone. On our last morning we had to leave before the breakfast buffet started, but when I asked they arranged packed breakfasts for us to pick up at the front desk and take to the airport. I felt this place did everything I wanted and I would highly recommend it if the location works for you.
You can even pay your airport departure tax here which will save you time at the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattabessett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for the time you have taken to write this note. It is very important for us to know that our people are very committed with the sustainability and high quality service.

Best regards,

Maximiliano Ruiz V
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Spent 9 days at the Ramada and really enjoyed the hotel, staff, etc... the one negative is that its next to a factory that is in operation from early morning to late at night. There were sounds that coming from the factory that did interfere with my sleep. We loved our room...it was roomy, comfortable and had a great bathroom. Housekeeping services were excellent. A daily breakfast buffet was included in the price and it was really good. The hotel has a spa and they have specials almost every day which were a substancial savings...plus a guest can use the spa's hot tub and steam room for no charge, just call ahead. The disappointment was that the hotel states it has 5 hot tubs outside which it does but they are right in front of the restaurant, I mean just a couple of feet. No one used them while we were there because I think no one felt comfortable being almost a part of the outside seating of the restaurant...I know we didnt. The really good news is that the hotel is right across the street from large mall, called the Playa Real Cariari. There is a walking bridge not too far down from the entrance to the hotel where you can cross over. The mall is two stories and has lots of fast food restaurants and stores inside. There is also a strip mall with up to 5 or 6 restaurants next to it and and Mega Grocery store on the other side. This gave us a lot more flexibility on where to eat and things to do. The hotel staff was also very helpful about using the bus system which is so much cheaper than taking a taxi into San Jose. It was less than $2.00 US for a round trip.

Room Tip: Try to be away from the factory next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjesijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and comments about your experience at the Ramada Herradura.In fact, you had enough time to enjoy most of our services. Boring is not allowed at the Ramada Herradura. As a matter of fact, you will find different specials at the restaurants, bar and casino as well. Moreover, you would be able to enjoy such a different events for those special dates such as thanksgiving, labor day, mother and father´s days and so on. We hope you have you with us in a near future again.

Warmest regards,

Maximiliano Ruiz V
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I only spent one night at this hotel and did not arrive until 10:30 PM, but was very pleased with the accommodations and the staff. Although I arrived late, the hotel provided an excellent buffet dinner. The rooms are spacious and clean and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkambinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sending us this note. I appreciate the time you have taken to write these commets. I hope you stay with us again and would be able to enjoy our beautiful grounds, swimming pools, restaurants and so on.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed here only for 2 nights. The hotel is located far from center and I would not book it for any other reason, but its close proximity to the airport. The rooms are rather small, and a bit outdated, but clean and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is small, but each one consists of a whirlpool bathtub (small in size) - which by the way is nice and deep - great for soaking. That was a nice touch.

I think the nicest thing about this hotel are its grounds - beautifully groomed and the pool area is really awesome :) I would stay here again, but only for the same reason - close proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSSAtravels_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Reasonable rates and full buffet breakfast are two of the major positives of this hotel. It does have a truly impressive entrance, lobby and reception area which has been recently remodled but that's about where it all ends and everything else seems to be in the process of being chaged.... I hope.
PROS:
- Good rates and regular free shuttle to / from the airport
- Wide selection of food at the breakfast buffet
- Spacious rooms

CONS:
- The nice modern room which I booked and saw on the webiste was nothing like what I got and obviously got one of the older rooms
- For some reason I was given 2 twin bed when I requested 1 king but that was rectified
- Walls are extremely thin to the point that you could hear people having a "normal" conversation in the room next door
- With 2 of us in the room we never got more than 1 bottle of water daily, maybe we were to share it
- With it being a conference facility, expect maybe a night or so of music.... this I realized the hard way
- Fitness center was disappointing with only 3 (literally) pieces of gym equipment

My one MAJOR problem with this hotel was that it is well known for having conferences, meetings & events and I was trying to have something there for 11-11-11 and up to this day I wasn't able to reach anyone from banqueting to talk to them or have a walk around to help me plan. So in the end I had to find another place to plan my event which needless to say didn't come off as I expected. Really disappointed with their lack of service in this regard.
I planned a similar event at a hotel nearby last year and got much better assistance and correspondence that what I got with Ramada.

Overall you get a good deal for room and breakfast within walking distance to the mall but if you could spend the extra money you'll get a better experience at another nearby hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bajan300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you the time you have taken to write this note. Our hotel has a lot of advantages for those clients who are traveling for business and leisure.

We really appreciate you comments and suggestions which no doubt help us to do it better every day. I am going to find out what happened with your request , however, if you would have had more information such as: the employee name, position, etc that will help us to make better dessisions. We hope to have you with us in a near future.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We did not have reservations here and the front desk was more than accommodating when we showed up. We felt the price was right and the rooms were very nice. I personally thought the location was perfect since it was between the city and the airport. A great pool and a fantastic breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malisam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director of Sales at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel.

We appreciate these excellent comments about your experience with us. Our people are very committed with high quality service and sustainability. We hope to have you with with in a near future.

Regards,

Maximiliano Ruiz V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 Miles South of Intl Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: £62 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing