We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for a week on business trip. Overall it was OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here on a one week business trip. Overall my stay was ok. It's not the best hotel I've seen (I travel often for work) but it was fine for a good night sleep. Now for the good and the bad:

The good:
- Nice big and pretty swimming pool (there are two pools, make sure to check out the one next to the restaurant)
- Staff was very nice
- Room was clean
- There's a small casino in the hotel where you can play pool. I'm not into gambling but if you are, you have coin machines, blackjack, etc.
- There are four restaurants next to the hotel: a Hard Rock cafe in front of the hotel, an italian restaurant and a japanese restaurant right next door, and a steakhouse one block away. I only tried the italian and Hard Rock cafe (pretty expensive restaurants though)
- Breakfast was included (make sure you ask about this, I'm not sure if it's always included in every room's rate).
- Breakfast was ok. Lots of fresh fruit (papaya, pineapple, etc.).
- Free wi-fi
- Free unlimited calls to US (and I think also to Canada and Mexico but I'm not 100% sure). The call quality was excellent. You just need to dial *7500 and then the US number and that's it. This was great because wifi reception was very poor and I couldn't have a smooth conversation with my wife on Skype.
- It's 15 minutes away from the airport, but far from San Jose. Of course, this might be good or bad for you depending on where you're planning to visit.

The bad:
- Wi-fi coverage/reception sucked big time!!! Reception in my room was bad. I stayed in the same room all week though, didn't feel like working at night, so I'm not sure if reception would be better in other parts of the hotel. Near the lobby, reception was a lot better. I also think their wifi got saturated from too many people connected, because at night it got very slow while early morning the speed was a lot better.
- Shower head was placed extremely low. This is a major pet peeve for me. I'm 5'9" (175cm) tall and I had the shower head right about my mouth. I can imagine some taller people will be a lot more annoyed than me.
- Place looks old and sometimes worned out. But like I said before, it's clean.
- The place is a maze, but of course you learn your way pretty fast.
- Food on their room service is expensive.
- Their laundry service is pretty expensive (e.g. $3.50 for socks and briefs/boxers). I've seen much better prices in other places I've traveled.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad you chose our hotel for your stay. It is good for the most part you found your visit very positive. Thank you very much for bringing those matters to our attention. We apprecite your candor. We wil be reviewing our standards with our operations manager. We continue with some renovations and remodeling. We expect to be able to provide more comfort so that our guest can truly enjoy the beauty of the pools with the natural garderns surrounding them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again and you will find everything to your liking.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

My room was a LONG walk from the check in desk, No elevator.. and it the place is a maze.. the signs are not even accurate when navigating the hallways.. Toilet kept blocking without cause. the view outside was of roof tops and falling gutters.
The pools are NOT heated and one even had caution tape all around it
It was not worth the price I paid if you consider what i got for half of the price everywhere else in the country.. I paid US hotel prices and got a " roadside motel"
on the plus side, international calls are free, and the airport shuttle is convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thequeenjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are sorry that you did not find the room to your satisfaction. Our renovation is continuing and we will be investing a lot of time, money and effort to improve our accommodations.

Hopefully during your next visit you will be to take advantage of all the improvements we have made and we are continuing to make.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel has several pools. OK food. Couldn't check in until 4:30 (a pain). Big rooms, seemed clean. There is a lot of outside noise at night as I think there may be a manufacturing or building site nearby. Shuttle service to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 4 seem to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad you chose our hotel for your stay. It is good for the most part you found your visit very positive. Our hotel is definetely quite big because we host many important events and international conferences which makes it noisy at times.

However, as you noticed, the distance to the airport, our shuttle service on site car rental makes our hotel a very convenient place in beautiful surroundings for many tourists. Most people prefer to simply take a day tour to visit downtown San José.

Next time you visit our country we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here one night between our trip in Turrialba and Santa Teresa. It was by far one of the WORST hotels we have stayed at. The updated Lobby and the pools are the ONLY thing good about this hotel. Our initial room was located directly above a party taking place on one side of the building. The room was outdated and smelled stale. After calling down to complain and ask to be moved, I was told that the party should be over by 11pm (it was 9pm when I called down). I explained to the front desk that it was our honeymoon and I wanted a different room. After arguing back and forth, we were told we could switch to a suite behind the front desk. Once we arrived at our suite, while better than the original room, we noticed a damp mildew smell. At this point we did not want to deal with the hassle of the front desk and just wanted to rest, so we dealt with it. The bathroom was outdated and worn, the bed was uncomfortable, and the smell was awful. We were starving upon arrival and decided to go down to the restaurant for food. That just added to our problems as the food was overpriced and disgusting. The next day we had half the day before our flight and opted to tan by the pool. That was the ONLY saving grace in the hotel. We will certainly not be returning. We have stayed at several Wyndhams and this one by far dropped the ball.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Most of our rooms are spacious and our clients are usually very pleased with them. I will of course mention your comment about cleanliness to our housekeeping manager, althogh rarely receive negative comments about the upkeep of the rooms.

Our plans for this year include the renovation of the rooms, so we hope when you come again you will be happier during your stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was comfortable and pleasurable . Three restaurants, casino and three pools across from hard rock with very good music (rock of course) and great food
Spent most of the day poolside

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your letter. It is pleasure to hear that you had such a nice stay and that everyting was to your satisfaction. On your next trip we hope you will have more time to spend with us.

Truly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were put up at this hotel after a flight debacle. Although Frontier Airlines was horrible with customer service, being put up in this hotel was the saving grace. The service at the wyndham was fabulous. I was torn rather to give it a 3 or 4, because the hotel is pretty outdated. The pool is awesome and the bar was really fun..service was great. The beds were super comfy, but the rooms were not well taken care of. The food was mediocre at the restaurant. All in all my stay was positive, and it's a functional reliable hotel. Not a favorite but i really appreciate the incredible service, the warm shower and the nice beds.

Room Tip: No suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely message. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your positive comments about: the room; the location; service, staff; etc. were greatly appreciated. I hope that when you have another opportunity to visit Costa Rica, we will again have the pleasure to serve you.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night ahead of early flight. Convenience was the key selective factor following 10 days in Costa Rica (La Fortuna / Playa Samara).

Positives:
* Clean and large spacious rooms
* Free airport shuttle every hour (trip max 15 minutes)
* Amazing onsite Japanese restaurant (best Japanese we've ever had outside of Japan)

Negatives:
* Hotel a little rough around the edges considering the price
* Pool water is cold even on super hot days (very windy) and swim-up bar was not being serviced

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyandRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianoruiz, Director Comercial at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. We have an eco friendly hotel and we use solar panels for the motors and heating, therefore, the water is not as warm as might be expected.

On the other hand, as we are in the tropics, many guests find it a refreshing change. I am glad that you enjoyed the meal at the Sakura resturant.

Lookin forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Jose Aeropuerto, Costa Rica
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#4 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
712 reviews
1 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 1000 San Jose | 3 Miles South of Intl Airport, San Antonio De Belen 71880-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location just minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport, visitors to Costa Rica's capital city will find the Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel and Convention Center the ideal retreat, with a wealth of amenities, an idyllic setting and world-class service. With downtown San Jose just minutes away, adventurous leisure travelers will enjoy magnificent natural attractions including the Poas and Arenal volcanoes, rainforest trails and a host of splendid cultural attractions, while business travelers will appreciate the close proximity to a number of prominent business addresses and Free Zones, as well as the hotel's impressive International Conference Center, making this San Jose, Costa Rica hotel the perfect choice for all travelers. Those seeking recreation will revel in a host of activities, including three sparkling outdoor pools, a fully equipped fitness center and special privileges at the nearby prestigious Cariari Country Club and Golf Resort, with 18-holes of golf and tennis courts. Guests craving relaxation can unwind in one of five Jacuzzis, enjoy a relaxing massage in the full-service spa or a respite in the sauna, while fun-seekers will enjoy the non-stop gaming at the on-site Fiesta Casino. With three restaurants and a stylish bar offering a variety of cuisines, guests can savor a host of food and beverage options and enjoy a daily bountiful, complimentary breakfast buffet. Guests arriving into Juan Santamaria International Airport can hop aboard the convenient free shuttle service, and the 24-hour business center and complimentary Wi-Fi affords guests the opportunity to stay productive. With an on-site beauty salon, gift shop, child-care services and more, the hotel offers everything a guest could need to make their stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible. Each of the hotel's 230 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and ultra-modern air conditioning. Superior Rooms offer breathtaking views of the lush gardens, while guests upgrading to the Executive Level enjoy a 42-inch LCD TV, a private lounge, secretarial services and complimentary happy hour. All of the spacious, airy Suites feature a Jacuzzi and separate sitting area, while those wishing to indulge in ultimate pampering will delight in the Honeymoon Suite with its own private sauna or the two-bedroom Presidential Suite with full kitchen and dining room. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the state-of-the-art International Conference Center with over 28,320 square feet of meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 10 people, to the 12,800 square-foot Salon La Paz Ballroom that accommodates up to 840 people for a banquet or 110 10X10 foot exhibit booths. There is a Wyndham waiting 3 miles South from Juan Santamaria International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Herradura Hotel San Jose Metro
Ramada San Antonio De Belen
Ramada San Jose
San Jose Ramada
Plaza Herradura San Jose Ramada
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing