We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first (and last) stop in Costa Rica. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and the kids loved the pools and jacuzzi. The restaurants were also very good. We had the best buffet breakfast here in all of Costa Rica. The waitstaff even remembered my daughter when we came back on the last day of our trip. All in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
César S, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
There is nothing better than a family trip ...

In our hotel we care about every detail so you and your family enjoy every minute in the hotel.

Our gardens, rooms and breakfast are some of the attractions of the Costa Rica Marriott Hotel.

For your next visit I recommend the Spa, the golf driving range, the bar 10 and the Peruvian exquisite restaurant "La Isabela".

We look forward to have you and your family back in a near future.

César Sanchez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    490
    110
    53
    29
See reviews for
417
536
73
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our first stop in Costa Rica and I started our trip with a visit to the spa, it was one of the most relaxing experiences -- the massage was fabulous, a great way to start our vacation. The property is first class in every way. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
César S, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Jerri.

There is no better way to start your vacations. A massage at Spa Kuö was the best idea.

The Costa Rican indigenous concept, coffee beans and volcanoes make of Kuö Spa the right place to relax and balance body and soul.

Everytime we hear this type of comments we feel that we are meeting our goal. So I want to thank you for your kind words and invite you to return soon.

Costa Rica Marriott Hotel and Spa awaits Kuö.


César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Marriott San Jose is conveniently located nearby the airport. The rooms are stylishly decorated and the facilitates are fantastic, what really made this hotel stand out was the friendly and helpful staff this made for a nice start for our honeymoon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbloggeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
César S, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Congratulations on your marriage ...

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon, we really love to share with our guests these special occasions.

Our rooms are designed with comfort in mind for our customers, so I am pleased that we met your expectations.

Our staff is always ready to greet you with a genuine smile because we love to receive you in our house.

We really wish you the best in this new phase and we expect to have you back soon.

César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

- Beside the fact, that they have not been able to have a hot Jacuzzi the Hotel was very nice.
+ Quiet and clean. Check the prices of the Tequilla before you buy a Margaritga ;-)
++ The breakfast buffet was the best we had in 15 days in Costa Rica.
- The room was not ready at 2pm and after a long trip you might like to refresh yourselfe.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank teckmx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
César S, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks for your comment about our hotel.

I agree with you, the Costa Rica Marriott Hotel is a perfect place to visit.

Our breakfast is the favorite of tourists visiting San José. Fresh fruits, wonderful pastry and the best buffet in city.

It would be our pleasure to offer you the Spa facilities to relax if you arrive at the hotel before check-in time; our goal is always to exceed your expectations.

I hope to see you very soon in our beautiful country.

César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a truly wonderful hotel. Beautiful grounds. An excellent Peruvian restaurant. Dont miss the omlette with avocado for breakfast. Only gripes--the bar does not stock good rum and the hotel is a bit far from San Jose (average one-way cab fare US$20+) and there isnt anywhere to walk to outside the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duskyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
César S, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.

There is no doubt that the omelette with avocado is the best start to a day of vacation.

Our hotel is 20 minutes from San Jose and 5 minutes from the airport so it is called an oasis near the city but not in the city.

We really appreaciate your preference.

For your next visit will be glad to recommend some places you can not miss when you visit Costa Rica.

César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Upon our arrival, we were quickly and graciously checked in and our luggage taken to our room. The room was spacious and overlooked the golf course. The pools were lovely and well maintained. This hotel sits in the middle of an old coffee plantation and many of of the coffee "trees", "bushes" have been left in place.The environment feels very rural on the hotel grounds. Taxis are always available, and it is a quick taxi ride to downtown San Jose. Employees gave us great recommendations for dinner, The Pacific Friends which is a five minute taxi ride. We could have walked but there are no sidewalks and the streets are rather narrow.This small restaurant was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PastorDenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
César S, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Pastor.

Indeed our hotel is a Spanish colonial hacienda surrounded by a lush coffee plantation; making it a unique experience among hotels in San Jose.

The view from the rooms is unique, ideal for families to enjoy swimming pools, and the driving range is always available to practice your swing.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy San Jose and our hotel.

It will be an honor for us to have you and your family back in Costa Rica.

César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent place with a lcoal ambience and character ... it's done some miles, but the staff were great, the food excellent and unbelieveably relaxing ... even for a work trip. Even though tere looked to be some major renovations going on, noise was kept to minimum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
César S, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Bryan.

We appreciate your preference in our hotel.

We really strive to ensure that our guests leave happy and come back soon.

Indeed in our plans we are doing some renovations in order to offer you the quality you deserve.

We hope to come to relax very soon to our oasis in the city.

César Sánchez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,325 reviews
5.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#13 of 76 in San Jose
1,290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
1.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Property: Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing