We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay close to airport”
Review of La Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice stay close to airport”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Hotel was recommended by local Avis car rental and we were very pleased. The hotel was well maintained and pleasant. Personnel were very friendly and we enjoyed the restaurant for dinner and its complimentary breakfast. Free and efficient transportation to the airport. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    60
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
35
70
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bj
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

La Riviera is exceptionally clean, comfortable, and safe. The best thing is the staff. They are incredibly friendly and helpful. The front desk people think of ways to help make your trip pleasurable and transfers smooth. The fellow who picked me up at the airport waited two hours for me. the shuttle back to the airport took us at 3:30 am to meet our morning flight out. Exceptional! This hotel provides a wonderful stop over to and from San Jose Airport at a fair price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stillloooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This hotel was there for us when we desperately needed a place to stay in San Jose. Our flight arrived late at night and after a number of mishaps, we found ourselves stranded in San Jose at 11:00 at night with small children and no chance of driving to our intended destination. A kind couple from Louisiana recommended La Riveria to us at the car rental place, and they were able to accommodate us. Th drool we stayed in that night far exceeded my expectations. The grounds are gorgeous and well manicured. The pool is small but beautiful. Because we arrived so late, we had not had any supper. The staff in the restaurant stayed after closing and prepared food for us. We were beyond grateful for that! We stayed a second night at La Riveria on the way back through San Jose before flying home. They used their shuttle bus to give my husband a ride back from the rental car place late at night which saved us a lot of money and time! They also gave us a ride to the airport early the next morning. Very reliable!! The free breakfast is very good also!! My only complaints are things that have already been mentioned. A rooster started crowing around 4 am.....not pleasant on vacation. Also, on our second night there, several large dogs were kept in crates on the premises and I heard them barking a lot. The beds and pillows are not comfortable, but they work.

I would definitely recommend La Riviera to other travelers. The price is great and so is the service!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This hotel was impressive with excellent customer service, nice and clean rooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms and two different occasions), good breakfast w/service included, nice dinner and service (menu is basic but food was good), and shuttle pick-up and drop-off at the airport (about 10 minutes away). Even though you are close to the airport, you do not hear airplanes flying over. We were able to park our car for a week while we were away. The customer service above all was what made this place very special. We recommend this hotel if you need a place near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcatrinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I booked this on hotel on my last day in CR because it was close to the airport and offered free transport to and from. The hotel shuttle kindly picked us up at our rental car place after we'd dropped our car, and was there within 10 minutes of us calling for a ride. We arrived at the hotel to find a very lovely little place with a clean and comfortable room. A bit busy and noisy in that area, as other people note. But, we were fine with it. The pool is lovely, the grounds colorful and very well kept. The restaurant was closed that evening (a negative - according to the woman at reception, the restaurant and hotel are separate entities and they never know when the restaurant will be open), but we walked down to a nearby shopping center where we ate a good mexican meal at a friendly family establishment. Breakfast was nothing special but nice nonetheless - much better than any breakfast you'd get in a similar place in the States or Europe. The next morning I was running late and the shuttle driver drove as fast as he could to get me to the airport on time. He actually cared that I made it, which made all the difference to me.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a stopping point when entering and leaving the country. On my way in I stayed at a different hotel closer to downtown. For the same price, that place turned out to be more like a youth hostel - dark, shabby room, dirty bathroom, lots of noise coming from the common room just next door. So, in terms of price and service, La Riviera is definitely a great deal in my book. It was cozy, charming, with a sweet pool, free wi-fi and a friendly competent driver.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zeli9zeli9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deadwood, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We own a hotel and tend to be a little critical but the La Riviera exceeded our expectations. The staff was very helpful, the restaurant and breakfast very nice and the room was perfect for our needs. Everything was clean and the beds quite comfortable. We felt very safe and secure in this hotel and even though we had turned our car in, I noticed they had gated parking within the compound. The shuttle service to the airport was included and very comfortable and prompt. The best part was the relaxing poolside and the outdoor area for internet use under a covered patio. The entire hotel area was very tastefully decorated and had a wonderful elegant feel to it. This was a great ending to our trip!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Forgot to pick us up at airport, so we called for the shuttle it arrived about an hour later. When we arrived they told us they had cancelled our reservation and that they were full. Very poor service, do not rely on them having a room for you. Then they took us to a dump accros town who over charged us.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayphly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.9 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,766 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel...
#6 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Riviera

Property: La Riviera
Address: Autopista General Canas to San Jose | 2 Km Oeste Del Hotel Marriott, Del Cementerio de Belen 100 Mts Al Sur, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, shuttle to the airport and WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Riviera Hotel San Antonio De Belen
La Riviera Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing