We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of La Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Sunrise, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very friendly staff. The bar and resturant was nice as well. The rooms were clean. I would stay again for sure...very good price as well. I enjoyed sitting at the bar and relaxing. The breakfast in the morning is very good. The airport shuttle was right on time and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    59
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
67
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Short trip to San Jose, combined business and friends gathering for MBA class reunion. La Riviera is very close to the International Airport and offers free shuttle service to an from, 10 min - 15 mins to travel. I was able to quickly access a taxi to attend a meeting in Multiplaza, for around US$ 15 and coming back was also easy an not expensive. The hotel is small an cozy, rooms are confortable, my room was close to the pool and terrace and it was fine (ground floor). The plants all around provide a great setting its fresh and green. Staff were warm and helpful ready to resolve any request. The restaurant and Deli at one side of the hotel provided a great social area to meet and greet friends for breakfast or drinks. The wine bar upstairs has a private dine and wine area within the wine cellar. This area upstairs has a great view. I highly recommend it for any type of trip.

Room Tip: Its a small hotel, so most rooms are surrounding the pool, either ground floor or 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtangulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over 30 times and sent all of my family and friends here as well. It is comfortable and safe, has beautiful grounds and a stunning view! The best part of this place is the staff, they are always warm and helpful!

Free airport shuttle and an amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zancudo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My family and I have stayed here lots of times and have seen it grow up over the years. The new restaurant, deli, wine bar is really nice. The rooms are decent with air-con and wireless. There is a pool and the staff is very helpful. Free airport shuttle to and from the international airport. This is the best value in the area and very comfortable. The street noise and various roosters in the area can be a little annoying but that's not the hotels fault, just a note to picky north american travelers who are used to a sterile Hampton Inn experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliveincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

After first having our original flight cancelled to due weather in Toronto, almost missing our connecting flight in Miami, having the airline lose our baggage, and then having to go through a different car rental agency than planned, we arrived in Costa Rica exhausted and discouraged. We were directed to this hotel by our car rental agency and we loved it. The furnishings are simple, but the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean. There is a lovely pool area, public sitting areas, and the restaurant is the highlight of the place. The staff were so helpful and even kept our suitcase for us as it was delivered by the airline in the middle of the night. We had the most delicious dinner on our first night and a fantastic breakfast in the morning (included). The patio area is just gorgeous and there is a lovely view of the mountain range and valley. It is located very close to the airport in a beautiful, quiet neighbourhood. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Like another reviewer, we were directed to the hotel by the car rental company. The hotel came and picked us up from the car rental company for free. The neighborhood seemed sketchy and we too had to be let in through the gate. the staff was very friendly and the room was a good value. The best part for us was that they run shuttles to the airport for free on the hour all night long. As our flight was leaving at 5:30 in the morning, we grabbed a shuttle at 4 am. the driver was great and we got to the airport in 10 or 15 minutes with no problems. We got in late and left early, so we didn't have a feel for the neighborhood or the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We needed a hotel close to San Jose International Airport (Juan Santamaria) for one night, prior to a business appointment and prior to picking up a friend arriving from the US. I had heard from friends in Southern Costa Rica about La Riviera but always shied away from staying there. The brochures I saw featured this rather old-fashioned looking hotel with heavy wooden furniture. Somehow, it just didn't appeal to me.

Yesterday, I ended up staying at La Riviera because the hotel I had aimed for ended up fully booked. They were kind enough to get me a room at La Riviera, located just up the hill from downtown San Antonio de Belen, my favourite San Jose suburb. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking Belen and at the distance you can see the mountain ranges behind fashionable Santa Ana and Escazu.

Reception
I checked in around 7pm, in the dark of a Costa Rican night. The check-in procedure was fast and efficient and, since we had been expected, took a mere 5 minutes to complete. We were accompanied to our room and given the usual instructions on how to operate the A/C and the television.

Restaurant
We actually at at a downtown restaurant in San Antonio de Belen and drove back to the hotel after 8pm, disappointed with the meal we had just had. I suggested we'd have a drink at the hotel bar inside the brand-new pavilion located at the road front of the La Riviera property. The new pavilion is an architectual masterpiece and the entire decoration and lighting are nothing but superb. At the front is a deli store and we immediately got caught up looking at all the wines, cheeses and meats on display. We ended up ordering a couple of glasses of Sauvignon Blanc and a cheese platter made up of bocconcini of Mozzarella, Parmigiano Reggiano, Emmenthal and Gouda, accompanied with black olives. There was a small bakery at the deli and we ordered a baguette to go with the cheese tray. We were served at the bar in a modern and relaxed environment. There was some private event happening on the second floor. We also consulted the menu and noted the interesting choice of international dishes, from the ultra-French croque monsieur to Italian classics such as Penne al Salmone. We regretted having eaten outside the hotel. Although we didn't sample any starter or main course, we saw the food being carried upstairs and it all looked well-prepared and beautifully presented.

Breakfast
The next morning we had breakfast on the wonderful outdoor patio, overlooking the valley. It happened to be a sunny day and once again we were completely impressed with the entire setting. Sadly, the breakfast did not live up to the expectations generated by the experience of the night before. I must mention that breakfast was included in the room rate but personally, I would prefer to pay extra for it in order to simply get what I wanted. Standard breakfast consists of coffee and milk, the blandest and most boring white toast bread, some mini-brioches and packaged yams, honey and - horror - margarine. I ordered sunny-side-up eggs and bacon and was told that while the eggs were part of the standard breakfast, the bacon was not. I have no problem with that in principle but rather than being lectured on the ins and outs of the breakfast policy, I simply described once again that I wanted a plate with two fried eggs and some fried bacon on it, irrespective of the house's policy. I ended up with cold eggs and the most boring and unexiting bacon anybody has ever seen west of Vladivostok. Happily, we used up the other half of the baguette we had bought the night before and subsequently were saved from having to eat the white square toast bread included as a standard. My partner had the smallest gallo pinto serving ever seen in Costa Rica, together with the saddest and overcooked friend eggs. He lives in Turrialba, Costa Rica's cheese capital, but ended up sending back the two pieces of sad Turrialba cheese back to the kitchen. His tropical fruit platter was served early on, even though he would have preferred it served after the gallo pinto. We ended up defending it for the next 20 minutes against an invasion of flies. In short: Breakfast did not match our dinner experience.

We will definitely be back at La Riviera. The place is a gem and the breakfast experience seems like a remnant of another period.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelMPfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.9 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Riviera

Property: La Riviera
Address: Autopista General Canas to San Jose | 2 Km Oeste Del Hotel Marriott, Del Cementerio de Belen 100 Mts Al Sur, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, shuttle to the airport and WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Riviera Hotel San Antonio De Belen
La Riviera Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing