We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean upscale ammd beautiful pool in outskirts of San Jose”
Review of La Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediterranean upscale ammd beautiful pool in outskirts of San Jose”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This property has been transformed in last 2 years a beautiful restaurant, bar and outdoor terrace. The breakfast bar w caramelizd plaintains was to die for.. Juan Jimenez was over and above a great waiter and concierge!! Maria in reception was so accommodating ... Only thing I did not like was bed linens ... No mattress pad and old pillows... Pool was nice ..would stay here again !! 10 min to airport and they have a shuttle

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YonnaCromeensMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia A, Gerente at La Riviera, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por sus comentarios, es un placer servirles y sobre todo que se vayan satisfechos del Hotel. Los esperamos pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    59
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
67
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for a night before leaving San Jose. The guy Max in the Vamos4x4.com car rental company recommended this place. It is about 10 minutes to the airport and the hotel offers free airport transfer.

What impressed me with this hotel was that we couldn’t make it to the breakfast because we had to leave the hotel at 6am. We asked if they could pack us some food to go and they did. We had a little sandwich and an apple to go. Good enough!

The hotel has a swimming pool, and a little marketplace next door where you can have dinner or coffee. You can also walk 15 minutes to the nearby shopping center where you’ll find restaurants, food court, pharmacy, and supermarket. The guy at the front desk was very helpful and would not hesitate to show us how to get around. He said ‘It is very safe to walk here at night, just watch for potholes.’ :-)

I like the decors in this hotel from common area to the room. I wanted to say 'Balinese style' but I think it is a true Tico style. The hotel has a little library like room with books and computer. It also has an outdoor seating area. Room is good size, with clean towels, and nice hot shower. WiFi is working in all areas.

We’ll not hesitate to stay with them again in the future.

By the way, we like Vamos4x4 as well.

P/S Pictures are a big dark because I took it at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank codebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia A, Gerente at La Riviera, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias, es un honor para nosotros saber que nuestros clientes hayan cumplido sus expectativas del lugar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very friendly staff. The bar and resturant was nice as well. The rooms were clean. I would stay again for sure...very good price as well. I enjoyed sitting at the bar and relaxing. The breakfast in the morning is very good. The airport shuttle was right on time and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Short trip to San Jose, combined business and friends gathering for MBA class reunion. La Riviera is very close to the International Airport and offers free shuttle service to an from, 10 min - 15 mins to travel. I was able to quickly access a taxi to attend a meeting in Multiplaza, for around US$ 15 and coming back was also easy an not expensive. The hotel is small an cozy, rooms are confortable, my room was close to the pool and terrace and it was fine (ground floor). The plants all around provide a great setting its fresh and green. Staff were warm and helpful ready to resolve any request. The restaurant and Deli at one side of the hotel provided a great social area to meet and greet friends for breakfast or drinks. The wine bar upstairs has a private dine and wine area within the wine cellar. This area upstairs has a great view. I highly recommend it for any type of trip.

Room Tip: Its a small hotel, so most rooms are surrounding the pool, either ground floor or 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtangulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over 30 times and sent all of my family and friends here as well. It is comfortable and safe, has beautiful grounds and a stunning view! The best part of this place is the staff, they are always warm and helpful!

Free airport shuttle and an amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zancudo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My family and I have stayed here lots of times and have seen it grow up over the years. The new restaurant, deli, wine bar is really nice. The rooms are decent with air-con and wireless. There is a pool and the staff is very helpful. Free airport shuttle to and from the international airport. This is the best value in the area and very comfortable. The street noise and various roosters in the area can be a little annoying but that's not the hotels fault, just a note to picky north american travelers who are used to a sterile Hampton Inn experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliveincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

After first having our original flight cancelled to due weather in Toronto, almost missing our connecting flight in Miami, having the airline lose our baggage, and then having to go through a different car rental agency than planned, we arrived in Costa Rica exhausted and discouraged. We were directed to this hotel by our car rental agency and we loved it. The furnishings are simple, but the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean. There is a lovely pool area, public sitting areas, and the restaurant is the highlight of the place. The staff were so helpful and even kept our suitcase for us as it was delivered by the airline in the middle of the night. We had the most delicious dinner on our first night and a fantastic breakfast in the morning (included). The patio area is just gorgeous and there is a lovely view of the mountain range and valley. It is located very close to the airport in a beautiful, quiet neighbourhood. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
0.9 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,747 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.9 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
1.0 mi away
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel...
#6 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Riviera

Property: La Riviera
Address: Autopista General Canas to San Jose | 2 Km Oeste Del Hotel Marriott, Del Cementerio de Belen 100 Mts Al Sur, San Antonio De Belen 40701, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, shuttle to the airport and WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Riviera Hotel San Antonio De Belen
La Riviera Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing