We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Selva Verde” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selva Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selva Verde Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Selva Verde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Two evenings in the jungle were delightful. Our birding tour had just begun and I was enjoying all the new sights and sounds. I loved the walkways from our room to the main lodge. Our room was simple, clean with portraits of the parrots on the walls. I spent moments in the hammock outside our room listen to all the sounds, perfect.

As it was our anniversary, our guide told the kitchen staff and we were presented with our own special cake. Food was delicious and we had a variety of choices.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    220
    73
    23
    13
See reviews for
141
276
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 children, ages 4 and 6, for 3 nights and overall had a great time. Just a few little glitches (see "Cons" below).

Pros: The setting and wildlife are excellent. We saw toucans and tree frogs galore, plus all sorts of other flora and fauna. The day and night hikes they offer through the property are well worth it. Pool was nice, Rooms a bit small but clean and comfortable, especially the beds. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially with arranging trips in the area. A minor problem with our bill was resolved swiftly and easily. The food in both the restaurant and cafe is very good. The bar staff were particularly nice. The covered walkways, even on the long trek up to the bungalows, make it pleasant to get around even in the pouring rain.

Cons: The resort straddles a major road, which can be noisy and makes the place feel like less of a retreat. We stayed in one of the bungalows, not the lodge, which are located a 1/2 mile walk from the main compound. While clean inside, the room was really tired and run down around the edges, the toilet seat didn't fit the toilet, and the windows were filthy - you could barely see out of them. Also our phone didn't work (and wasn't fixed despite our complaints) so getting in touch with anyone if we needed anything meant a 10-minute walk. Luckily, this was more an annoyance than a real issue.

Of the tours in the area, I highly recommend both the white water rafting and the zip-lining through Sarapiqui Adventures. The guides on both trips were terrific, and the kids found both tours hugely fun, as did their parents.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamoftrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I was there with a friend one night and we were very pleased with the staff and the accomodations. The place is very quiet and you can feel the nearest with the forest and the Sarapiqui River.
The rooms are very comfortable and a lot of space.
If you want some adventure tours the staff will help you booking them. We've taken the Canopy tour and it was really amazing.
Some rooms (near to the river) are very far from the front desk and the restaurant, so that's important to consider when you pick your room, if you don't mind to have a long walk but more privacy those rooms will be ok.

Room Tip: Rooms near to the river are very far from front desk and restaurant but are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crodriguezcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Selva Verde Lodge. We came with the hope of seeing a lot of wildlife, and we weren't disappointed. We did several of the hikes offered here including the early morning birding, the primary forest, and a cool night hike. We saw toucans, aracaris, lots of poison dart frogs, howler monkeys, a coral snake, and even a kinkajou which was a first for us. Our guide was excellent and spotted a lot of wildlife we would have missed on our own.

The lodge is located off a busy road, but if you request a room by the river like we did you will really feel like you're in the jungle. The system of covered walkways is great for keeping you dry in the case of rain.

There are two options for dining here - the buffet plan and the a la carte restaurant. The buffet food was fine, filling, but nothing amazing, but we were really impressed with the La Terrazza restaurant where you could order off the menu for dinner. They have their own wood-fired pizza oven, and the bacon pizza was delicious, especially paired with a bottle of Imperial. Great drinks here as well. I had a mango, lime, and rum concoction that was fantastic. Dining by candlelight next to the river was so enjoyable and relaxing. All of the staff were very friendly. Our waiter even called us over one night to show us the red-eyed tree frogs by the little pond. The owner came over to speak to us one night and to thank us for supporting the property. It's clear that they care very much about their clients, their property, and protecting the rain forest. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. There are some bungalows with air conditioning, but those are across the road and fairly far from things, so we were happy with our little river room. It cooled off enough at night to be comfortable.

If you're a wildlife lover, you would enjoy staying here. Do not miss a day trip to La Selva which is also in the area and offers even more chances to see wildlife in its natural habitat. Two or three nights in this area is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room numbered in the 40s to be close to the river and away from road noise. The setting tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Except for being somewhat picky as to when you could be seated and where in the restaurant at some seatings, this place was wonderful. Paid hiking tour was well worth it. We went out by ourselves every night for wildlife viewing - amazing. Lots of wildlife during the day too. Front desk couldn't do enough for us - even if it had nothing to do with our stay at the hotel. They were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food was excellent - ambiance exceptional. The biggest problem was whether we should leave the windows open for the sound of the river or to turn on the air conditioning. I would come here again without any question.

Room Tip: Get a place by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed in six lodges/hotels in Costa Rica and this one really give the ambience of the rain forest. Frogs were abundant and made more noise than the howler monkeys. Bar man was very friendly and who came blame him serving in such idealic surroundings. Even when in the swimming pool you feel your in the rain forest. Only spent one night here but would love to return. Would recommend the nearby chocolate tour where we did encounter the noisy howler monkeys - fantastic! Kids loved the hands on grinding mushing and eating/drinking the freshly made chocolate!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was here on a Study Abroad trip during May 2012. The Selva Verde Lodge was my favorite place we stayed on our 12 day tour of the country. The food was wonderful, the staff was super helpful, and the laundry service was better than I ever expected. I did not hear the howler monkey alarm clock people told me to be aware of, maybe it was because our itinerary was exhausting. Our room was in the very back but, the beautiful scenery and many types of plants and animals made the walk enjoyable. Do the early morning bird walks they are a great way to start the day and you may even see a sloth. I definitely plan on making a return trip to Selva Verde Lodge sometime in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacieelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
9.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
18.6 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Verde Lodge

Property: Selva Verde Lodge
Address: | 9 Kms from Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, 553069, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Selva Verde Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selva Verde is more than a lodge and more than a rainforest reserve. It is your gateway into a magical world of towering Almendro trees, Mantled Howler Monkeys, and Keel Billed Toucans. Immerse yourself in tropical nature as you hike through deep green forest or reflect quietly in a comfortable hammock. Discover something new as you encounter Selva Verde's amazing wildlife and vibrant people. Rekindle your sense of wonder and experience the out-of-the-ordinary. Experience Selva Verde! Located just 2 hours from San Jose, Selva Verde provides easy access to the wonders of the rainforest. For over 30 years, we have been a haven for nature enthusiasts from around the world. Our abundant biodiversity, comfortable rainforest lodge, and exciting activities are ideal for adventure seekers, bird and wildlife watchers, students, and families. Come explore Selva Verde's 500 acres of vibrant tropical nature in the heart of Costa Rica's Sarapiqui Canton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Selva Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Verde Hotel Sarapiqui
Selva Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing