We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, terrible service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miss Ediths's Restaurant

Miss Ediths's Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 58 Restaurants in Cahuita
Cuisines: Caribbean, Costa Rican, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The food is absolutely delicious and worth waiting for and you will probably have to! I have waited for my dinner for over an hour and then been given the wrong thing which she insisted I had ordered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCJSOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    70
    39
    32
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I decided to try this place out after some debate based on the trip adviser reviews. People were complaining mostly about the price. Lets face it, if you live in the States or Europe you pay more money for better food right? You pay more at a nice private place than you do at applebees. The food here is worth the price. The Jerk Chicken is totally authentic. My wifes curry chicken was amazing as well. We didnt mind paying more money for something better than cosados. So dont worry about all those reviews because the food here is great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Since Miss Ediths were ranked very high among the restaurants in Cahuita we decided to have lunch here a rainy day. We were the only guests at the restaurant and Miss Edith herself were serving us.

I must say that she was not the sheerful lady that I have read about, but the local food we got here were really delicious! I wish we had time for more dinner visits here.

Pricing is rather high but it was one of the best meals we had in our three weeks vacation in Costa Rica. Don't miss this!

The location is a bit off from the absolute city centre, so make sure to go here for

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malin_o_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THIS IS CHICKEN!!! (and dollars as well!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Ms Edith has the best chicken jerk I have ever tried…. well, has the best chicken no matter how it´s cooked. The problem is that she knows it… and will make you pay tons of money for that. Prepare to pay more than 20k colones for a the jerk and two starters… quite pricey!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Carribean food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had a jerk chicken dish. Pierre from Playa Negra guesthouse (great place and great people) recommended. We all enjoyed our meals. Surprised to find quality Jamaican Jerk food. Walked out in the back on to the beach chasing the hermit crabs away after we ate dinner. Service typical Caribbean (slow).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Criticdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Ediths's Restaurant also viewed

Cahuita, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 
Cahuita, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 
Cahuita, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Been to Miss Ediths's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing