We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, nice and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

One of the top hotel we did in costa rica for that price! The owners were so kind and friendly! We recommand this place for everyone want to stay for a while in cahuita or puerto viejo.. Its located in the right place for every good place to visit around

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel two nights and spent a very good time! Everything was perfect! Roberta and her husband are lovely people and are making sure that you enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean but a little bit dark.the pool was nice. We felt like in a family....we would recommend this place...

Stayed: August 2014
Thank C-Smiley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel while on a school trip. There were about 15-20 of us in our group, and we were the only people staying at the hotel that night.
The owners cooked us a dinner on the grill and had dinner with our group which was very nice! We visited with them and they were very nice! I definitely felt welcome, and I could tell that the owners were happy to have us there.
The rooms are very clean and well-kept. The free in-room wifi was nice (something you don't always find in Costa Rica).

One thing I didn't like was the amount of noise from the places nearby. It's not the fault of the hotel, but probably helpful for others to know. If you're a light sleeper and plan on staying here, I suggest bringing earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirlpamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed just a couple nights in April. Architecture and rooms are beautiful, zen-like in decor, and spotless, secure with locked sliding glass doors directly to the outside. Lots of lovely visual detail like stonework in bathroom, tiny murals on walls in common areas, button-closed pillowcases. Pool was small/looked nice -- didn't have time to use but did sit and enjoy. Breakfast was fresh, made to order, and ample. Only negative on rooms was poor shower pressure.

I was hesitant to stay here because of all the reviews about noise. It was not an issue for me. (CoCo's in fact wasn't the main culprit; place across street from it was louder). Plus, I found all the flack this hotel gets about the noise interesting, since Cahuita feels like it's about three square blocks. I don't think there's anywhere in the whole town that you can't hear music.

The owners were friendly, very helpful with my itinerary even before I got there, and considerate. There's also a sweet lady who attends guests, rooms, and breakfast. It's run informally, not like a hotel. Even more than a B&B, it feels like staying as a guest in a family home. It's not that hosts are always around -- they're pleasant and this wouldn't be an issue anyway -- and the room layout is very private and quiet. It's more as if there's not a clear separation between operation of business and family -- which definitely has up- and down-sides, depending on what you're looking for or how comfortable you function in this type of environment.

That said, all of Cahuita feels like you've just dropped into someone's back yard unexpectedly. Businesses open "soon"; a customer in the shop may know more what to prescribe than the person working there. Currency is favours and appreciation. It's the kind of place you go for these very reasons and not to complain about the lack of amenities.

And by the way, I was very surprized at how safe both hotel and town felt after research to the contrary. It's about one long block from the bus station and no problem walking at night.

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from noise -- not sure if I got one or if it mattered, as above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, gorgeous gardens including a small pool. Location is good, just a few minutes walk to the beach passing all the shops, restaurants and bars.
The rooms are nice, the AC worked well, bathroom was lovely and the beds are comfortable. TV and fridge provided. The rooms are abit dark but there is large patio doors into the room that let light in if you open the curtains. The curtains did not fit our door so we had gaps, but this didn't bother us too much.
The owners are very nice we spoke to them about where to eat, where to catch a bus from and the husband gave me some plant from the garden to rub on my sunburn (it actually helped). The dogs barking in other reviews is the owners guard dogs and they only barked once early in the evening, they did not bother us at all.
Lovely hotel with comforts of a posh hotel room.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Location right in the center of Cahuita. Comfortable, spacious, convenient. Great hosts. However, on Friday and Saturday night the bars on the corner are quite loud and go very late. We slept okay. School nights weren't so bad. Ear plugs or a sleeping pill might be enough for some people. Otherwise, this is a great choice in Cahuita.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

If you want to be in center of the little town this is the best location. Rooms are clean, large and with a quit ac. Breakfast is ok and owners do their very best to make you feel at home,
If you want a place nearby the beach and more private you should try other options.
Cahuita is very quit. Staying in cahuita should be no more than 2 to 3 days and you should visit the park and do some activities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
162 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
10 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de las Flores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de las Flores Hotel

Address: Cahuita National Park, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Price Range: £71 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de las Flores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms offer Air Condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de las Flores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing