We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regardless where you're staying,you should eat there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Caribbean Coconut
Ranked #10 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Regardless where you're staying,you should eat there”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I was visiting Cahuita for a friend's birthday and we visited this cozy restaurant run by a couple of italians, he is a real chef and cook for us for all different Italian dishes and describing how they usually eat in Italy and he had the ability to include costa rican touch.

For the beginning we were delighted with a DELICIOUS Mango and rhum cocktail.
Delicious food, we had 7 services between crab, cannelloni, and the final touch was the dessert (banana-chocolate flan) with the touch of telling us even the differences between commercial brand (Ferrero-Rocher) and Italian.

Definitely its a great gourmet experience, they also had cabins, however even if you're not staying with them, you shouldn't miss any opportunity to this culinary experience in a lovely and cozy space.

Good Luck and keep up the great job!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulucy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    23
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
51
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Valley, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very clean and comfortable. Restaurant has authentic Itaian dinners - delicioso. Wonderful hosts. Quiet and serene with ocean music in the background. Comfortable beds. Highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnacolangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stumbled here after a long weekend in Panama & had a great & wonderful surprise! Teresan & Paulo speak no english yet we managed to communicate fine...they are the coolest couple she's from Argentina & he's Italian ....can we just say thee hands down best food we have had in Costa RIca! There is a beautiful beach out front & it is well worth every penny to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

What a delight! I stayed here with my cat and enjoyed it. Saw my first monkeys in the wild thanks to one the owners. The husband is a great chef and opens his restaurant right next to the hotel. It is open 6-9:30 so no trouble with noise after hours. Wish I had stayed longer and explored further south on the coast. ..Keep going past Puerto Viejo if you do. Thank God for the Air conditioning & the pool because part of the day was unbearable without a break from the heat. The owners were so accommodating that they even brought a refridge into my room as I had food with me so I didn't have to drive back into town. Would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

perfect place if you want to be away from the noise. the hotel is well kept, people are very nice and the beach is a sensation. after staying two weeks it was difficult to leave. the owner of caribbean coconut serves what is most likely the best food in central america (genuine italian cuisine).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank not_such
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This place was an incredible place to stay. The Staff that run this place up have done an excellent job at hotel creating. Between the breathtakingly beautiful scenery of the hotel, the excellent maintenance, and the family-like service, I have never felt more at home or more relaxed at a hotel in my life. I cannot say enough about the friendliness of the innkeepers and how readily willing they were to help us meet all of our needs and desires. This is a really great place to stay and experience Costa Rica comfortably and care-free.
We come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We loved our stay at the Hotel Caribbean Coconut. Located about 4 kms outside of the village/town of Cahuita, on the rugged Playa Grande (big beach), it met our needs perfectly. Before we start, a few words about us to help you contextualize this review: we are a white heterosexual couple in our early 40's. Both of us have a lot of travel experience in both "developing" and "developed" countries. In our younger days we were quiet, conscientious packbacker types not prone to parties and wild times, but more to wandering and experiencing. We do not like all inclusive resorts and do not expect perfection (though we are also somewhat picky, especially the author). As early 40 year old travellers, we like simple rooms plus some creature comforts like hot showers and air conditioning when appropriate.

We loved the Caribbean side of Costa Rica because it is less touristy and the tourism that does exist seems better integrated into Costa Rican life. The Hotel Caribbean Coconut is at the end of a dirt road and is almost the last hotel/bed and breakfast on that road. Very few cars go by each day (most people are actually on bicycles). I wish I knew how to describe...how at the edge of the jungle it is. We did not have to leave the hotel to see, hear or experience wildlife. We simply sat on our patio at dusk and waited for it to find us: howler monkeys, a sloth so low on a branch people were actually petting it, a 4 foot iguana, a 6 foot boa constrictor wrapped around a tree branch, a kinkajoo that walked the hydro wires every night....all of these were either right there for us, or within a minute's walk (someone would usually come and get us when there was something wonderful to see).

The hotel consists of four or five small rooms which face onto a courtyard and swimming pool. The pool was lovely and a wonderful way to rinse off and relax at the end of the day. There is also a cozy Italian restaurant on site, run by the owners, who are themselves Italian. The food is very good and the wine is imported from Italy. The owners are exceptionally kind and gracious people.

There are a number of different beaches in the area. The one directly across the dirt road and a little way through the palm trees is a taupe coloured sand and quite rugged..i.e. littered with driftwood, pretty big surf and swimmable though murky water. We could walk 3-4 hours, meet only 2 or 3 other Costa RIcan families along the way and still not find the end of the beach. There are other more populated and combed beaches closer to town and we swam at those as well. One is a black sand beach and the other is a white sand beach.

In terms of things to do in the area, there were other restaurants nearby, so we ate at different places. there was no shortage of good food in Cahuita. You could also rent bicycles, which we did and would recommend doing if you don't have a car. The horse back riding tours come highly recommended, though we didn't do one. Mostly we just walked and cycled and swam and chilled, and we loved it.

So, to be fair, there are some things you might also want to know: 1) some of the photos of the hotel could be seen as a little bit misleading, though understandably so. The photos give the sense that the hotel is almost right on the beach and it is not. They also give the sense that the views of the beach are better than they are. Since most of the rooms face into the courtyard, your view is mostly of the other rooms. That said, we just had to turn our chairs a different direction and we could see the ocean. 2) The beach is across the dirt road, and then down a path away from the hotel. When it rains the path can be swampy, and then you have to walk a little farther to get to another path that isn't swampy. We didn't mind this at all, but some people might. 3) The hot water was hit and miss, and usually lukewarm. We also didn't mind this because it was incredibly hot and muggy. Again, some people might. 4) If you don't have a car, then you definitely need a bike. We rented ours for $8/day. No problem. 5) the owners speak wonderful Spanish, Italian and French. Their English is limited. We didn't mind this and we all used whatever mixtures of whatever we had to communicate.

Our stay was really magical, and we would do it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aeusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
1.2 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribbean Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean Coconut

Property: Hotel Caribbean Coconut
Address: Playa Grande, Cahuita 73000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caribbean Coconut 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owner, new superior and deluxe room, new resto & beach bar (open soon), new renovated swimming pool and massage therapist services. Caribbean Coconut Beach Inn is located in Playa Grande Cahuita, less than 50 meters from the beach. This property is located 3 km from the center of Cahuita, 10 minute drive from Cahuita National Park. The Limón International Airport is 40 minutes by car. We now have a total of 9 rooms. The existing 4 standard rooms have been completely renovated. We can offer you 4 standard rooms with double bed, mosquito net, A / C, fridge, private bathroom, hot water, WIFI and a terrace with hammocks. The Bromelia is our new superior bedroom with a queen bed, mosquito net, A/C, fridge, private bathroom, hot water, WiFi, lounge area and a private terrace overlooking the pool. The Orchids is our new deluxe suite with 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom attached bedroom and a living room with refrigerator. Each room has a queen bed, a mosquito net, A/C, hot water, WiFi, and a private balcony overlooking the pool. This suite can accommodate people with reduced capabilities. Our last, The Heliconias Deluxe Suite, includes a living room with refrigerator, mini bar, glass front door and patio, 2 bedrooms with private bath room. Each room has a queen bed, a mosquito net, A/C, hot water, WiFi, and a private balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast is included with the rooms. We do speak Spanish, English, French, German, Italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caribbean Coconut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing