We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, wildlife abounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 22 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Greg and Michele have done a beautiful job with this property. We had the pleasure of staying in the Yellow Cottage for 2 nights and then, when adding 2 additional nights later, one of the double rooms the additional 2 nights we stayed there. (It took us all day to get from San Jose to Cahuita thanks to broken down trucks and construction delays on 2-lane roads near the city so we added 2 extra nights to avoid getting back on the road so soon.) The beach is very convenient - just steps across the road - and at least this time of year was very quiet. Cahuita National Park is just a ways into town and I highly recommend it. Alas, we found ourselves not wanting to leave the property thanks to its peacefulness, beauty and nature all around. We were greeted by rufous-tailed hummingbirds, a black and green dart frog right outside our front porch, howler monkeys, and more. It's a birder's heaven - Passerini's tanagers, beautiful little Olive-backed Euphonia, gray-headed Chachalaca, Band-backed wren, another little hummingbird with a diamond-shaped tail that I'm still working to identify, and many more. We loved the basking iguanas way up in the trees above the pool. We'd watch to see how many we could spot and how high up they go in the trees. I loved the 3 beautiful German shepherds who occasionally walk around the property. ;-) We did finally venture out - the Sloth sanctuary was very close, Mayela's for breakfast was perfect, and we enjoyed the irony of having Mojito's at the reggae bar next door while enjoying some great reggae. Greg also hooked us up with local brothers to go out on a snorkel cruise. The reef is nothing special but it was nice to get out and enjoy the water. We were anxious to visit the Jaguar Center down in Puerto Viejo and were pleased to find the drive pleasant ~1/2 hour down the road. (We enjoyed our dinners down in that area more but were glad to be staying the quieter, more laid back Cahuita.)

Room Tip: The Yellow Cottage has more kitchen-type setup but even the double room had a mini-frig, which was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

Playa Negra Guest House is an oasis of peace and quiet set in a beautifully manicured tropical garden with a great pool. While at the guest house you are in a secluded atmosphere that is soothing and refreshing. Yet the more lively central Cahuita main area is just a few minutes stroll away.

The Playa Negra beach across the road is great for swimming and very safe in terms of currents and no rip tides. Nearby are two restaurants (Chao's paradise and Reggae bar/grill). Around the corner is Brigitte’s breakfast--a great way to start the day.

Greg and Michel are great hosts and attentive to all your needs. The grounds and rooms are emasculate and beautiful. Greg and Michel have out a lot of care and love in to making this an ideal place to stay.

The garden is visited by a wide variety of birds and for our last few days, a troop of howler monkeys visited the trees just outside of the property.

This is a great place for both couples and families, and the price is very reasonable in terms of what you get. For your best stay in Cahuita, you can do no better than Playa Negra Guest House.
Go and enjoy--you won't be disappointed.

Harlan and Doug

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed at Playa Negra Guesthouse for 2 nights. We had a wonderful stay! Once you enter the gates, you are surrounded by a magnificent garden and property. All accommodations are well situated and it almost feels like you are alone... The pool area is lovely. Our room was nice, very clean and well equipped (small fridge, safe, nice bathroom) and had a private patio, which was nice. It would be a great place for a romantic getaway or with children! It is definitely away from the city of Cahuita though (a 25 minutes walk, which is really safe!) and is easier to get around with a car. The owners are nice and very helpful. We booked a snorkeling trip from the guesthouse and it was really nice, totally worth it! Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megou_quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is my second visit this year and Playa Negra didn't disappoint. Travelling with my 80 year old mother, we had great common space and sufficient privacy in the delightful Yellow Cottage. There were families with children staying and they found the lush but secure grounds and gorgeous pool area perfect for the young ones. The black sand beach where the guesthouse is situated had local families picnicking and playing in the water but you'd need to keep an eye on that surf! A car is best since the guesthouses are a good walk from the small town of Cahuita. It was a peaceful and relaxed few days with sultry evenings spent on the Caribbean style porch on the cottage. The Canadian couple who own Playa Negra are helpful but non intrusive and clearly take a lot of pride of ownership in maintaining their property.

Room Tip: The yellow cottage is great for people sharing or a family. The Green cottage was perfect for a roma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peytonsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have stayed at Playa Negra Guesthouse many times while living in Costa Rica over the past two years. It is by far our favorite Costa Rican destination. The Guesthouse is cozy, well kept, beautiful, clean and relaxing. It is a very family-friendly environment; the pool has a shallow end perfect for younger kids and the fully-equipped cottages feel like home. The refrigerators and dishes in all of the rooms make it possible for even travelers on a budget (like us) who are willing to cook and clean for themselves to spend relatively little money on a weekend beach getaway. The owners, Greg and Michel, are very kind and accommodating and have a wealth of local knowledge.

Playa Negra beach, located directly across the street from the Guesthouse, is one of Costa Rica’s best-kept secrets. Despite its clean, smooth sand, gentle waves and proximity to town, Playa Negra beach is rarely crowded. It is the perfect spot for swimmers and boogie-boarders, soccer and Frisbee players and anyone else who enjoys flat sand and gentle waves.

There is nothing fancy about the town of Cahuita, but it is a great spot to enjoy some local Caribbean culture and delicious food. Our favorite restaurant, Sobre Las Olas, which serves mostly seafood, is located on Playa Negra (the beach) a short distance from the guesthouse. There are a number of other “sodas” and restaurants that offer local and international cuisine.

The national park is beautiful and most definitely worth a visit. It is best to go early in the mornings on weekdays; local picnickers pretty much take over the beach on the weekends. Even without a guide, you’re almost guaranteed to see some wildlife. Just watch out for snakes on the trail.

It seems safe to walk to and from the town of Cahuita and the Guesthouse at night, but we don’t recommend it. Cahuita is not by any means a dangerous location, but just like anywhere in Costa Rica, it is always best to avoid walking around at night. Use common sense while visiting this “tranquilo” beach town and you may find, like us, that you just can’t stop coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klott9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Playa Negra Guesthouse was a lovely property. Our room at the front of the property was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. It was quiet at night. The rest of the property was very nicely designed, quiet, clean, and private, with a good pool and cabana area and gorgeous gardens. No real complaints. If you want to stay in Cahuita, this guesthouse offers a great experience for a reasonable price. I suppose the only lack was the absence of food service. If this place could be a B & B and offer a nice breakfast, it would be nice since getting food to cook in your room in this small town wasn't as easy as in other areas of CR.

All that said, my wife and I didn't care for the town of Cahuita. We felt almost like prisoners behind the attractive wooden gates of the guest house property, warned not to walk the roads outside at night, forced to be taxied over the horrendous local roads even to travel a few hundred yards. The beach outside the guesthouse was mud, never really saw people on it. The national park delivered fantastic macro photography opportunities with help from our guide who traveled with us from the Arenal area, but beyond that we couldn't see the appeal of this part of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanguard52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbegs, Owner at Playa Negra Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Playa Negra Guesthouse and your kind words regarding the accommodations, garden and pool. Please note that, while we do not serve breakfast, our cottages have fully equipped kitchens and our guest rooms come with a small fridge, coffee maker, dishes and glassware. There are also breakfast places within a few minutes’ walks from the guest house.
We are disappointed that you did not care for the beach. The majority of our guests think it`s cool to have a black volcanic sand beach right at their doorstep. In fact I believe that the swimming is better here than at the white sand beach since it is quite shallow and you have to walk a ways out before it gets deep.
Regarding security, Cahuita is as safe as any town in Costa Rica. We do caution our guests to be prudent if walking back from town late at night.
The Southern Caribbean zone is less developed than the rest of the country and it is for this reason that it is so popular. You will not find large, high rise hotels or all-inclusive resorts but rather small guest houses, B&B’s and inns catering to adventure tourists who come to be close to nature and who are looking for something other than beach vacations and chain hotels and restaurants. Where else can you find both black and white sand where you can snorkel off coral reefs, swim, fish, surf, hike through a national park teaming with wildlife, listen to a live calypso or reggae band and dine on fresh fish and typical Caribbean dishes? Pura vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great place to spend some days in the relaxing Costa Rica's Caribean. The place was built with a great taste and has an amazing tropical garden with a beautiful pool. We really enjoyed our time there. We spend 5 days there (3 of them in the green cottage) and we would have spent more! Michel, one of the owners, was really helpful and very kind and we hope to meet him some other time who knows in which spot of the world :). Thanks Michel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
200 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
El Encanto Inn
El Encanto Inn
#2 of 22 in Cahuita
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: £50 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing