We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic oeases”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic oeases”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 4 staying in a room (kids 3 & 5 yrs). We loved it! The couple running the place are very nice and serviceminded. The rooms are big, cosy and clean with a nice balcony. The pool is a sweetspot and in beautiful natural sorroundings. The location is a bit away from the small town (10min walk), which was perfect, because the area was calm, clean and right next to a beautiful black beach.
We were so lucky to go with Pierre on a walk in the national park - wow this was an awesome experience. He spotted some many different animals. Thanks we will talk about this experience for a long time.
We can highly recommend a stay here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
174
251
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I want to thank very much for the hospitality of the couple running the place. Staying there was like heaven. We were a big group of 8 people and had a great time. I wish I had stayed there for more nights but since it's so populair we had to move on. We even got a guided tour of the beaches in Puerto Viejo after we had left the guesthouse.

If and when Im returning to Cahuita I will definately choose Playa Negra Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

After spending the whole week in the jungle with kids, we found here like a paradise. It is quiet, clean and friendly place. It was very nice to observe the howler monkey family, iguanas from our patio. Thank you Pierre for showing us all wild life around the park. We're lucky that you shared your passion with us. Thank you Maris for helping to plan our days here. The reggi bar next door was one of our favorite restaurant during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamertap H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Set in beautiful gardens with an abundance of wildlife. The rooms are fitted to a high standard in keeping with the property. Everything - rooms, gardens, pool - are clean and kept immaculately. Perhaps most importantly, Marisse and Pierre were wonderful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our few days here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The perfect spot to relax, have fun and explore!
First we want to thank Pierre, our friend for showing us around the park! You have a passion and it shows, how fortunate we were that you love to share that passion. We stayed in a room in the main guesthouse, comfortable bed, very clean and lots of room for 2. We loved the pool and gardens. We walked to town a couple of times and enjoyed the views and wildlife. The reggae bar was one of our favorite places to go, a lot of amenities within a short distance. Marise and Pierre are the perfect hosts, anything we needed or questions we had they were there for us. Thank-you for a truly wonderful time and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnajeanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Beatiful place, frendly staff, quiet, clean, comfortable rooms, perfect jungle like garden full with colorful birds! Very good location! 5 m from the Playa Verde, 50 m from the Yoga center and good restaurants in the vicinity! Thanks for the bottle of New Year Champange!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KataPotoczki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Pierre--Thanks for the highlight of our 10 day trip to Costa Rica. You're an animal (and insect) magnet. Great tour of Cahuita National Park you gave us--thank you so much.

Enjoyed seeing all the monkeys and the vipers. Enjoyed your guesthouse, pool area great for the few rooms you have. We were delighted to spend the couple days at your place. Great food recommendations (breakfast place to the left, seafood/Italian to the right, and Pierre walking us down to Ms. Edith's for some excellent Carribean food).

I highly recommend this guesthouse right across from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criticdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Property: Playa Negra Guesthouse
Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing