We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Negra Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very welcoming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Playa Negra Guesthouse. rooms are simple and clean for a very good price.
Garden is beautiful with a nice pool.
Beds are confortable and it was the only place during our holidays in Costa Rica where we could have a dark room even after sun rise.
It is also right in front of the beach, nearby some restaurants, nevertheless, Cahuita city center is at 20 minutes walking distance (which can be very long under the sun).

Marise did her best to advise us places to go and things to do, and to be frankly honest, she is very right about any positive or negative feedback given.
In fact, we had asked feedback about one of our excursion and she was not convinced at all. Given the good feedback on Trip advisor we decided to do it anyway and we clearly regretted it :-(
Moreover, we have been to do the Bribri tour with Carina that she had advertised and we really enjoyed it.
Last thing, I had asked in advance where I could have a pedicure and she looked for it. At the end there is only one place in Cahuita : they did some really good job for a ridiculous price BUT hygiene was not great and I came back with a fungal inspection of one of my nails... Cahuita is not touristic enough to have a spa... and that is may be what we liked at the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cess_venise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
171
251
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Exceptional staff and a fantastic stay at Playa Negra Guest House! Manager gives super tours of area. Recommend 100% on all aspects. Next time I want to also come back with my family to enjoy Cahuita and the lovely guesthouse. Wildlife, nature and fabulous guesthouse in quiet, fun village!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our family of four stayed at Playa Negra Guesthouse for 5 nights at the beginning of April. The rooms, pool area and gardens are spotless! I highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wishing to stay in the Cahuita area. The national park is within walking distance as well as lots of shops and restaurants (if you can tear yourself away from the pool). Marise was kind enough to knock on our door one evening when they spotted a sloth travelling along the cables outside the hotel, what a sight! A great and relaxing spot to end our trip to Costa Rica. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryHamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a real gem of a guesthouse in Cahuita. Our family of 3 (2 adults + 10 year old) stayed in their Green Cottage for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. It's a great place to decompress and enjoy hearing the sounds of the monkeys, frogs and other wildlife and yet within walking distance to town.

Marise was there during the time that we we there and we missed Pierre as he was back in Canada. Marise is a gracious hostess - making sure we were comfortable and available to answer any questions but was unobtrusive.

Playa Negra Guesthouse has a great arrangement with a private driver, Manuel, who is very professional. He picked us up at 6am from the San Jose airport, stopped so we could have a cup of coffee and breakfast and we also stopped by a local Pali supermarket in Limon to load up with groceries - a great idea if you plan to cook at all in your cottage as the groceries available in Cahuita are adequate, and limited - as well as a pain to lug back from town. We couldn't have been happier with our transportation to Cahuita coming off a long flight as it was nice to relax and Manuel is a very careful driver.

The cottages are incredibly comfortable - offering tons of little nooks for each of us to have some privacy if we want - the outdoor living rooms are secluded and yet open to the outside and sit outside of the cottage so it was a nice combination balcony/living room set up. Pool is nicely set up and ice is available in their little bar area for you to use if you want. Kitchen is well equipped - dishes are matching (not always true of all self catering facilities), silverware is immculate and there are various pots/pans as well as a nice coffeemaker, blender, microwave and other small appliances. Bathroom was immaculate and towels were changed daily with separate towels for the beach/pool from those for use in the bathroom.

We were worried about staying somewhere without an air conditioner - the room does get warm during the day so if you're someone who wants to take a nap in the middle of day indoors, this might not be the most comfortable but at night, the ceiling fan was perfectly adequate.

We would come back to the incredible hospitality offered by Marise, the location as well as the facilities of Playa Negra Guesthouse. I can see how all the reviews are so positive after being able to experience this first hand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spahkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I chose Cahuita because it is a small town and I wanted to really feel like we were in Costa Rica (not at a 5 star resort that could be located anywhere along any beautiful beach). I travelled alone with my two very active boys (ages 8 and 5). Playa Negra Guesthouse was the perfect place to stay for this purpose.
We stayed in the green cottage. It was clean and had a full kitchen. The grounds are fully fenced (very discretely) so my boys could explore without my worrying about them "escaping". They found frogs and lizards everywhere. The pool was also perfect as it had a shallow "sitting area" where my younger son had a ton of room to play. It was located right next door to a wonderful breakfast spot and walking distance to town. We only ate in the room once (leftover night). It is also directly across the street from the beach.
Marise was extremely kind and always available for questions. She was very understanding with my boys and never got annoyed when my younger would ring her doorbell. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone that wants to really have a true Costa Rica experience.

Room Tip: Use the mosquito nets when you sleep as there are critters in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_MP3891DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just returned from 3 lovely days at the Playa Negra Guest House. This was our 3rd stay there and we will keep going back. Why try other places when you have already found the perfect Costa Rica vacation spot? The 2 bedroom cabins are just beautiful and have fully equipped kitchens so you don't have to eat every meal out. There are some great places to eat nearby but we prefer to cook in. Pierre and Marise, the managers, are just fantastic. Pierre took us on a wonderful guided tour of the Cahuita National Park and he can find just about any animal that is there and is a fantastic guide! The pool is beautiful and the entire grounds are perfectly maintained. Just outside the front gate is a beautiful beach and the little village is a short walk away. We love this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanie_burgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed at Playa Negra Guesthouse on our first trip to Costa Rica this past January. We had a wonderful time there. The managers Pierre and Marise were so kind, welcoming and generous to us. Pierre took us on an amazing tour of Cahuita National Park and some other sites (in search of the yellow eyelash viper!) Howler monkeys and iguanas would sometimes hang out near the property in the evening and we enjoyed seeing them from the comforts of deck chairs by the pool.

The property itself was extremely well maintained, the gardens were very beautiful, the bed comfortable, and the room where we stayed was well equipped with coffee maker, kitchen utensils and beach towels. We highly recommend this guesthouse and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessandEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Property: Playa Negra Guesthouse
Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing