We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Pasadena, California
1 review
“excellent experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Playa Negra Guesthouse (Blue cottage) for 5 nights in June 2014. We had an excellent time. The grounds were maculate, the cottage cozy and clean and the managers (Pierre and Marise) were wonderful and made our stay so enjoyable! It was so much more than we expected and we would defiantly go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
177
252
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We came to Playa Negra Guesthouse from a very rustic home in Playa Cocles (in which we very much loved). Checking in to the Playa Negra Guesthouse was the lap of luxury from where we had just come from. It was fresh, very clean and the pool was just what we needed. Marise was very informative and helpful! Our accommodations were great. We rented the Blue Cottage for 5 of us (3 adults, a 7 year old and a 9 month old). Marise delivered a pack n play, an extra cot and an extra fan for us immediately upon request. The daily housekeeping was so very nice! We enjoyed sitting on the patio, loved the gardens and sounds of birds, bugs and howler monkeys. We loved the location in which we were directly across the beach from Playa Negra and a short (hot) walk in to the town of Cahuita and the entrance to Cahuita National Park. Nice touches included fresh flowers on our dining table, honor system drinks at the pool (including beer and wine), book exchange, boogie board to use and secure parking. We have already decided this is the place we will return to the next time we visit the area! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: This is a small and quiet property. We loved the Blue Cottage and also took a sneak peak at the Yel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved our stay here - relaxed and cool pace to life. We spread out across the lovely Yellow cottage loving its veranda. Beach just across the road was all ours and amazing waves and always great to cool down in the lovely pool. Service great and they give you lots of fresh beach/pool towels. I'd recommend Brigitte's just round the corner for breakfast as well - amazing banana pancakes and gallo pinto with the freshest and best avocado I've tasted. Try and catch a movie at the Italian in calhuita too

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I take reviews with a grain of salt but in this case not only were the positive reviews accurate but the visitors pictures as well. Pierre and Marise were great hosts and Pierre's guide through the Cahuita National Park was both informative and fun, not to mention free. The grounds are kept immaculate, the pool sparkling clean and totally up to the standards of our 9 & 6 year old boys. Very, very much enjoyed our 4 nights there. And a little FYI, Bridgette's little breakfast cafe right next door puts out a very tasty, and filling breakfast. Our boys were very fond of her banana pancakes....me too. The walk into Cahuita was very pleasant and you never knew what you may see, from Howler monkeys to sloths grasshoppers the size of a humingbird (again much to the pleasure of our boys). Cahuita was cool in a non-presumptuous way. Two dinners sitting outside at Rocco Rica's were excellent as was lunch at Miss Edith's. I had the jerked beef and it was hot and tasty ! All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Playa Negra and should we have the good fortune to return for a second time to Costa Rica we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rip_City2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughters and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. What a delight to meet Marise and Pierre. They are here to serve their guests 100%! Pierre was our tour guide to the fantastic Bread and Chocolate
Bakery! Great food! We also went to the jaguar rescue. Take your kids as it is a wonderful education. Then onto the beautiful beaches. What a gift to have a local, educational,most important a very kind guide (Pierre.) Thank you Pierre and Marise for all your attention to the details. Your property is amazing. You made the weekend a TREASURE for all of us. I recommend this location highly. Go to chaco out the horseback riding next door...Simply beautiful ride on the beach and in the rain forest. Amazing views and GREAT folks! We will return! Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow cottage...loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolwaldenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a great stay. The property is just beautiful, and Pierre and Marise were fantastic hosts! Pierre is really enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area... if you have the opportunity to talk with him or go on a tour with him, do it! Marise and Pierre were so helpful... without them we would've missed our bus and lost our camera, but they came to our rescue both times! Over all, beautiful hotel, nice pool, and incredible hosts. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lma555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had an excellent and very enjoyable stay. I was here for 5 days, Marise and Pierre were great hosts. I stayed in the green cottage. Very clean and everything one needs including kitchen. The grounds were immaculate. Beach is right across a very small dirt road and the Cahuita Park with more beautiful beaches is a ten minute walk. Very safe also, was never once worried about safety. The people in the small town were very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Property: Playa Negra Guesthouse
Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing