We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
584
25
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
25
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow cottagethe cottagescosta ricapata negranational parkhowler monkeysguest housegorgeous beachsan josebeach towelspool housewonderful hostspositive reviewspunta uvanice poolwhole weekother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I can't agree with the other reviewers more. Play Negra Guesthouse is fabulous. Greg and Michel are the perfect hosts. Our family of 4 stayed in the blue cabin, and it was awesome. The pool is wonderful. The location is perfect. The grounds are perfectly manicured. Seeing the monkeys in the trees and the hummingbirds in the flowers just added to the delightful setting.

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Cahuita.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kssjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I stayed at Playa Negra with 3 friends (2 rooms) and had an amazing time. Greg was a wonderful host. He has an incredibly laid back style but was always available when we needed him and was full of great recommendations for food and activities around Cahuita. He also helped us arrange a van for transport back to the airport, which was a huge help.

The location is about a 10-15 minute walk from the main center of Cahuita, so it was peaceful enough when we needed to just relax but also not too far from the restaurants & bars in town. The black sand beach is also right outside the front gate, and there's a really chill reggae bar, restaurant and even a great breakfast spot (best banana pancakes ever) just around the corner if you don't feel like making the trek into town.

There's a very nice pool that we made use of a couple of times (though most of the time it was just too tempting to walk across the road to the beach instead). A few times we just floated in the water and watched the howler monkeys leap around the trees. There's a little seating area right by the pool with a wifi access point that a couple of my travel companions made use of.

Perhaps the only downside would be the small ceiling fans in the room. The nights were a bit warm but honestly never uncomfortable and we never had any trouble sleeping. Probably just too spoiled from the AC at home.

So to sum it up: just far enough from town to feel totally secluded but close enough to enjoy everything Cahuita has to offer. And Greg was one of the best hosts we've encountered.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twitchfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Thanks to the owners of this wonderful place, we had a wonderful time to rest, relax and enjoy at your place. This was the best accomodation for us on our 3 weeks Costa Rica trip. As all the other raters say,a garden like paradise, secure and very thoughtful established rooms, perfectly clean. We would come back any time to stay at this place.
when we found this place we alraedy had checked a few other accomodation options that where rediculus expensive and very disappointing, so we where just about to leave Cahuita already, then we found Greg and Michelle´s place and where sad that we only could stay for 2 nights.
Thanks a lot,
Katrin and Toni from Germany

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrinsachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I stayed at the guesthouse for the second time this year. It was all around totally delightful. Wonderful service, beautiful setting, comfortable room, very nice pool and garden, and a gorgeous beach right out the front door. I will return here every chance I can get

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
Thank BoomerTraveler1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Beautiful gardens filled with tropical plants, a great swimming pool, a tastefully decorated room... Playa Negra is without a doubt the best option when staying in Cahuita. The Canadian owners Gregory and Michel are so friendly and welcoming, and make you feel like home right from the start. Apart from the 3 guest rooms, there are also 2 beautifully furnished guest houses. This is just such a beautiful and quiet place. I absolutely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaguate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews