We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This place was absolutely gorgeous. We didn't know what we were getting into when we decided to take our honeymoon in Costa Rica, and especially in a small town like Cahuita, but this place truly is everything that everyone says it is. The hosts were super friendly and always around to answer questions and even help us with our getaways. They helped us book our jungle zip line tour and lined up a taxi for us to go to the local animal rescue center. Town is a short walk away and there are quite a few good restaurants and little grocery stores within a 15 min walk. The beaches are gorgeous and the pool there is a real blessing because the ocean is quite warm. We really loved it hear we always felt safe and welcome, and it is definitely on our list of places to go again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMSU06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

The guesthouse is the best place in Cahuita. We had a reservation but came one day earlier and no vacancy. So we looked at other properties and they do not compare. Everything is the best: the hosts, accomodations, grounds, the pool. KIds loved the dogs, Dolly is esepcially friendly. Greg and Michel attend to every detail. We stayed in a blue cottage, it was a pradaise! Would love to come back. The beach is one minute away and every time you are there you are pretty much alone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amodel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I'm writing this review while i'm sitting now near the swimming pool... I could'nt wait to write a review later, after mine and my husband vacation. We had to write it now.
We are here for our honey moon, traveling in Costa Rica and arrived to Cahuita on august 10th. after searching for a nice place to stay by ourselves (walking on the road) we saw a wild and beautiful enterance with the sign "PLAYA NEGRA". We decided to try and rang the bell...since then we fell in love with the place!
we traveled a lot in the world and if we recommed - it has to be nomber 10!!!
The owners, Mishel & Greg, are so nice and friendly and they built am AMAZING PARADISE!!! Private, clean, wonderfull designed, has more than you need and more than you thaught for your vacation, the whole area is wild and green, swimming pool which we love, WiFi, beautiful cabines (not even room - it's like a small APT which is better!) and 2 most amazing cotages we've ever seen with everything you need in it (big beds, big and comportable kithen), private parking place (if you rented bicycles you can also leave it there), there are 2 friendly German Shepherd Dogs (not for bad people).
We are more than happy to find this guesthouse! we recommend it for people who knows how to enjoy life, respect others and keep other's place clean and well for the next guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORINNERAVIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

very nice, quiet, clean, beautiful place! Greatly located and built with lots of sense for details. You can see and feel that the owners love it just as much as the guests do! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizza_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Playa Negra Guesthouse was the best hotel in Costa Rica. We stayed in the yellow cottage, clean, spacious, everything you need (If it isn't then Greg or Michel will get it for you). Greg and Michel have made a beautiful place. The plantings are gorgeous and so are the accommodations. The pool is great. (has a fridge full of drinks). The place even comes with two beautiful German Shepherds just in case you miss your pets. The beach is right across the street. (We were the only ones there). This was a wonderful place. I highly recommend Playa Negra Guest House!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My 4th stay, the family's 6th stay. THE place to spend a few relaxing days whether you are travelling with or without kids. Probably among top five of all places to stay in Costa Rica. Rent one of the beautiful, spacious houses with full kitchen facilities and save the trips to the overpriced restaurants in town (except reggae-bar of course!), relax in the cosy pool while howler monkeys are howling at you, toucans are flying right over you and squirrels, geckos and lizards are trespassing the grounds. And for you couples with kids who are driving you crazy all day long; there is plenty of room for fun when the kids are sleeping :-)

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank AskeBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I highly recommend staying at Playa Negra Guesthouse while in Cahuita. We stayed in the Yellow Cottage for 4 nights and it was very luxurious and heavenly.

We entered through the gate to find a beautiful secluded garden and smiling faces welcoming us in. My family was led to the yellow cottage while I checked in and spoke with Gregory. My teenage daughter came running down the path with a huge smile on her face and said with excitement "this is the best place we have EVER stayed!"

The cottage is extremely beautiful, comfortable, and private. It was very clean and had everything we would need. The beds were super comfy with awesome super powered ceiling fans. It was better than we could have asked for. I especially loved relaxing on the porch at night and listening to the sounds. It was very quiet for sleeping also.

The grounds are incredible...lots of interesting and beautiful plants. Butterflies and colourful birds fluttering about. Howler monkeys near by howling a few times a day. And then there's the pool! The pool is clean and gorgeous. It was the best thing we could have treated ourselves to for the end of our 2 week long trip. The ocean is awesome and I love swimming at the beach...however there is something to be said about dipping into a freshwater pool that is refreshing during the very hot day and super warm and relaxing at night. Within the grounds we felt very safe and well taken care of.

Extra bonuses....a drink cooler by the pool, a book exchange, great shower, and Jose (employee who does a great job!)

You can walk to everything in Cahuita from here....into the town, to the national park, and outside the gate to the black sand beach. Next door there is a Reggae bar that serves good food and is family friendly. There are other restaurants very close by as well as a small internet place.

Gregory and Michel are lovely hosts and the place is a gem! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cahuita. You won't be disappointed!

Thanks so much!
Jocelyn, Mike, Savannah, & Emma

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
Thank jdz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
194 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
10 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: £52 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing