We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & cheerful ... bit far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We got to Cahuita with huge suitcase after a long & boiling hot drive from Panama, so were weren't pleased to see loads of hotels right in the center of town with lots of availability, and then discovering that our hotel was a 10 minute walk down the road. Oh well, Cahuita is a tiny village so it' doesn't matter that much.

Rooms were cheap and cheerful, clean enough with our own little sitting area outside. The rooms were a bit noisy tho, we could hear everything our neighbors did and said.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi Mikeynl

Thanks for your feedback, it definitely help us improve.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Clean rooms, friendly people. Close to town but far enough away at night things are quiet. Loved the 2 dogs that live there, they were excellent guides and at night, made me feel safe. Such sweeties! The cabins were quaint and cozy, the front porches a great place to sip coffee and relax, and if you needed anything, someone was there to help. Will be back absolutely.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi Rin R.

Thanks for your nice comments, glad to hear that Luna and Negra (our dogs) made you feel safe.

We are happy to know that you will come back.

See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Wonderful location, beautiful grounds and very helpful, friendly owner. We stayed for two weeks and it made our trip. It was inexpensive, close to everything, located close to black beach and a walk through town to white beach and the National Park. The cabinas were well kept, spacious, clean and secluded. You could enjoy your breakfast on the patio and relax in the hammock in the aftenoon after a nice swim in the warm carribean sea. The kitchen is well equipped and cooking meals was no problem. Large full size fridge very adequate for holding a few days of food and drinks. A supermarket is a short walk away in the town and there is a market every Saturday. We had howler monkeys serenade us in the morning and a bat would visit every night as we sat on the patio enjoying our evening. It was quite entertaining. We felt completely at home and very safe. The owner was beyond compare, she was helpful in addressing all our needs from arranging tours to inviting us to a private choir and arts event. She even provided the transportation. We will be back and would recommend it to any one and already have many times to friends and family. Definitely a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aamjiwnaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi aamjiwnaang!

Glad to read that you had a good time in Caribe Luna. Thanks for the nice comments. Hope you come back someday.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This place is a real gem. It's tucked away, but only a 5 to 10 min walk from town.
The one staff member we met was very friendly and helpful. We loved how quiet and tranquil this place was (except when the dogs barked!)
The dogs were gorgeous and so much fun to play with.
Overall, great value for money in a beautiful setting. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Hello we hope you are fine.
Many thanks for your comments on tripadvisor. That nice to know that you liked being in Caribe Luna, we hope you can come on vacation again. Luna and Negra, our dogs, will be very happy to play again with you.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My travel buddy and I agree, Caribe Luna was a highlight of our trip to CR and excellent value for the price. The photos don't really do this place justice, it's much more beautiful in person. The property is a very short walk from the tiny sleepy town of Cahuita, but far enough away that you feel secluded and can relax easily. It is also within walking distance of a black sand beach and the superb Cahuita National Park, which is full of cool animals and lovely beaches. The owner and receptionist were extremely nice and helpful with answering our questions, recommending tours, and making us feel welcome. We found our cabina to be very clean. The patio was even decorated with freshly cut flowers and starfruit. The doors and windows seemed secure and there was no worry of robbery or anything like that. The private kitchen let us save a bit of money by cooking our own breakfast. We stayed in Rosada Pequena (or Option A) and would choose it again. The Rosada cabina is split into two apartments, and we were awoken one morning by the couple next to us arguing very loudly, so beware if that kind of thing bothers you. We didn't mind, it was like telanovela en vivo.
My only complaint is that I found the room descriptions online a bit confusing, I wasn't really sure how many beds we were going to get. But maybe I'm the only one with this problem.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone traveling to Cahuita.

Room Tip: A room with a kitchen is worth the cost to save money on eating out, as the hotel does not provide b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi MeliSand.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your time ini Cahuita. Your comment inspires us to continue and improve.

You are welcome to return, we will be happy to have you again.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This place consisting of a few bungalows is set back some meters from the road along the beach which makes it a quiet and relaxing place. In the morning we woke up by the sound of howler monkeys in the trees above our bungalow. Only a short walk out of town it is still comfortable to walk to restaurants at night, the national park or the bus station. Room was very clean and friendly, helpful owner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ichreisesehrgerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi ichreisesehrgerne!

Nice to know that you had a good time in Cahuita. Thanks for your nice comment.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We didn't expect much of this lodge, bc the rates are not that high. When we entered the lodge we noticed some broken stuff (faucet in bathroom, holes in the curtains). Our place had 1 small bed (too small for 2) and bunk beds. We rather had 1 normal sized bed.
Besides this, we really liked this place. It was nice and colorful, with a private terrace and hammock. The owners had 2 rather big dogs running around the place. They look a little mean, but they just want to play and get your attention. I loved these dogs!
The place is a little hard to find (hidden away).
Something to keep in mind when you book a tour in Cahuita: don't pay (too much) in advance. We've had 2 really really bad tours: the bri bri cacao tour and the fishing with Roberto.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lt_Frank_Drebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi Lt_Frank_Drebin.


Thanks for your feedback, it help us improve.

Glad to read that you enjoyed with Luna and Negra (the dogs).

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
2.8 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Cahuita
Cabinas Cahuita
#14 of 42 in Cahuita
24 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo
0.3 mi away
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Hostel Hakuna Matata
#6 of 42 in Cahuita
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Caribe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Caribe Luna

Address: M. West From Police Station 200, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Caribe Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find us in a quite and relaxing garden, with birds, little frogs and monkeys, 300m from Playa Negra, 300m from Cahuita village and 800m from Cahuita national park. You can choose between different solutions: bedrooms, apartments or suite (the last 2 with kitchen). All of them has private bathroom and terrace with hammock, tv, wifi, daily maid service and mosquito nets. Staff will be ready to help you, booking or giving tour information and giving you advices. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Cabinas Caribe Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing