We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens ) Our main goal is to protect and rehabilitate displaced wildlife of the Caribbean region.We offer a safe haven to animals that need refuge because of loss of habitat, accidents, victims of pet trade or hunting.The botanical gardens offer you many different species of palms, heliconias, bromeliads and many others. Tree of Life, Cahuita, Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This place is amazing! The variety of plants and animals is stunning. Clearly these people care a lot about the animals they rescue. There are little write-ups near each animal so the guests can learn a bit about them. The cages are close enough almost to interact with the animals, although I wouldn't suggest it as they are still wild animals. We ended up spending much more time here than we anticipated and loved every bit of it! I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WPLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    55
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
“really worth going there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Tree of Life Rescue Center is a really beutiful place! You can see lots of different kind of animlas, even special ones like a Jaguarundi, and the whole park is full of plants and flowers. the owner is a real nice women, who is able to respond all of your questions concerning the park. And the animals are benefiting of your entrance fee or donation directly. So its realy worth going there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Critters and Fun Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Many different animals and all up close. Recommend morning visit at 9 am, so the animals are up and waiting for food and attention. Most memorable moments are; one of the big birds nicely following us and touching the new baby howler monkey named Maggie. All of the wonderful plants and amazing critters are clearly marked for learning oppertunities. Best butterfuy garden we visited in all of CR (we saw 3). The trails are well kept and easily accessible. There is a lovely rest area in the shad of a magnificent bamboo tree too. Great for everyone!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex/London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant centre and very informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We came here after being dissuaded from going to the Sloth Sanctuary after hearing lots of bad things (do your research first!) and I'm very glad we went. We were shown around by one of the owners on a private tour and she told us so much about the plants and flowers growing, was absolutely fascinating! The facilities and enclosures for the animals are basic but more than adequate. Me and my boyfriend are both zoo keepers so we understand animal welfare and husbandry and it was clear the staff/volunteers are doing a very good job.
Definitely put this on your list to visit (good for a rainy day too) but definitely go with a guided tour, worth the money tenfold and it all goes to a very good cause!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZookeeperAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont,PA,USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is a lovely center, offering an educational and highly visual experience of the local wildlife and plants of all types. I was lucky enough to have a guided tour of the center with the director of the program. Patrice, who is very knowledgeable and cares deeply for the animals in the center.

The work they are doing here to rehabilitate the animals and hopefully release them back into their natural habitat is to be admired and praised. Thank you for all your good work .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank michele21251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing