We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - felt like we were right in the middle of the rainforest”
Review of La Casa del Mango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Mango
Ranked #12 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We just got back from a stay at Casa del Mango. It is situated off the beaten path, but a short 15 - 20 minute walk from downtown Cahuita. There are a couple restaurants about 5 minutes away. We didn't have a car and didn't really feel one was necessary. Sarah and Nando were great hosts. We enjoyed meeting the whole family including Nando's sister who came down from Limon to cook a fantastic meal for us. We awoke each morning with sounds fom the rainforest such as treefrogs, birds, and howler monkeys. There is a rooftop viewing area that had a wonderful view of the surrounding area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stjohnbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

So glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again; hopefully in early 2014. Thanks, Sara, Nando and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Sherry's cooking was a real treat for us also!
Each morning we awoke to the unique sounds of the rainforest animals.
Nando and his family were friendly and always helpful.
Quite a few good eating spots were in town.
We had a full kitchen to use.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeitnow63025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Your kind wrds are very much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us, Sara, Nando and the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place while hunting for a place to stay in Cahuita as lonely planet had led us astray. It is perfect for a group that knows each other but would be a bit cramped if others were staying there. Staff was excelant, spoke good English and were helpful. Pool was amazing, property was extremely close to Playa Negra (not the cleanest beach I have ever seen). Rooftop balconies were perfect for stargazing, morning yoga, and we were able to spot the Sloth in the giant mango tree. Place was in need of some repairs and not the cleanest, all in all it is the best we found in Cahuita.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garthlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Thanks for your excellent review. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hotel but disappointed to see your comments about cleanliness. We strive to maintain the highest standards and are currently repairing the wooden fence and sun damaged wood upstairs. I hope the next time you visit we will rate 5 out of 5 in all areas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Loved this house. Unique, beautiful, clean, had a great time. The caretakers were friendly and available for anything we needed. The pool was so relaxing! Enjoyed the privacy of the property, and the gorgeous gardens. Honestly, I didn't want to leave.

Just a couple things to keep in mind: You'll need to be able to climb at least one flight of stairs to get to your room. Also, rooms are not soundproof, so be aware that the noises you make can be heard throughout the house. And you'll be woken with the birds at sunrise! But these things did not affect my high opinion of the house. Well worth the stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Thanks so much for your positive comments. We will look into how to sound proof the rooms in some way to prevent disturbance. Hope to see you again next time you're in Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The place is beautiful, clean and highly maintained.
We were alone here and just felt like home to us (certainly a home we would like for ourselves :) )
The kitchen is fully equipped and there are plenty of dinning areas to sit down and enjoy your meal - by the kitchen, by the pool, on the rooftop, in the terrace or the garden.
Also, the pool is great and was hard to get out of! Great place to cool down when it's to hot to do anything.
The manager, who spoke english fluently, was very friendly and happy to answer all our questions and requests.

So far this is the best place we stayed in costa rica, I find it hard to believe this will be topped.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmanmanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thanks for your kind words, Era. We were happy to have you with us. Hope we'll see you back at 'La Casa del Mango' soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: aucune préférence, 4 chambres qui sont toutes très bien, pour les avoir toutes essayées !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabellepanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
142 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mango

Address: Meters West Of the Soccer Field 200, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: £338 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'La Casa de Mango' is constructed of wood, metal and glass which is striking in its award-winning architectural design and provides unique accommodation for the discerning guest. Whether you wish to reserve one of the six airy en-suite rooms or book the entire house for a group of friends or family; you'll have all of 'La Casa de Mango's' facilities open to you.The swimming pool is the perfect place to cool off or top up your tan, on one of the pool side sun loungers. Surrounded by the meticulously maintained tropical garden; the scents and sounds of nature are all around you - smell those ilang ilang blooms! To see the iguanas and sloths that frequently visit the namesake mango tree, head up to the sundeck on the third floor. It is the perfect place to enjoy views of Cahuita's Black Beach, the mist-topped Talamanca Mountains and the green foliage that is abundant in this rain forested part of the country.Sip your morning coffee at one of the stylishly-designed iron wrought tables on the roofed patio or in the garden or in the privacy of your own balcony off your bedroom. The hammocks on the private balconies are a favourite spot for an afternoon siesta!The well-equipped kitchen is ready for the preparation of a quick snack to a dinner party with quality kitchenware and appliances to ensure that your meal preparation is pleasure and not a chore. Relax or catch up on news with cable television and DVD player in the comfortable lounge area.‘La Casa de Mango’s on site manager will ensure that your every need is met, so come and unwind in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing